Interview logo

My Interview With Melissa Ingoldsby, Vocal FanFiction Creator

Mariann Carroll ‘s Interview vocal Blog

By Mariann CarrollPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
Top Story - April 2023
36
Melissa Ingoldsby , Photo

We have a FanFiction Creator on Vocal, Melissa Ingoldsby. She received 21 Top Stories on Vocal, Wow. She have several published stories on Amazon. What an accomplishment for a mother of two boys.

Melissa Ingoldsby’s published books

Melissa (Missouri): Hey Mariann how’re you? You mentioned you wanted to do an interview. I’m free this week whenever it’s convenient for you.

Mariann (New York) : Hi Melissa, I just got done with writing one interview. I don’t know if you are ready but here are a couple of questions for you. It takes me 5 hours to write after the interview. I want people to enjoy the story about themselves. I really enjoying doing this. Where are you from?

Melissa: Thank you for asking me to do this interview I appreciate it.I was born and raised in STL, Saint Louis Missouri. Misery as some call it. Lol, Misery because of the weather.

Mariann: When did you realized you wanted to write?

Melissa: I started writing stories in elementary school. My parents tell me of the time during a parent conference. A teacher was flabbergasted by a “story” I told her in extreme detail about something that I apparently had done over the weekend with my family. She mentioned it to my mom. She was surprised and told her that never happened. Lol. So, I told stories, I guess at first. She told my parents she was amazed by the level of imagination and detail I had provided her . The story had struck her so vividly she had to relay it to my parents.

I always loved stories and read like a book worm. I would read late on Friday and Saturday nights and sometimes be up all night finishing books.

Mariann : How long does it take you to write a story?

Melissa : Novels take me 1 to 5 years , sometimes longer. Short stories depending on how long I need it be , maybe 3 to 5 days .

Mariann: What’s is your real life schedule and how do you fit your writing in it?

Melissa : I am a stay at home mommy. I have two sons, one is 13, Ismael doing Hebrew school and the other is 6, named Noah . They stays at home with me. Noah has autism, my whole week is dedicated to taking him to his daily therapy appointments: ABA( Applied Behavior Analysis), speech and OT(Occupational therapy ). His doctors all highly recommend this plan for him until his starts school full time. I sit in with his therapy, encourage learn and support my son.

My son Ismael is going to have his bar Mitzvah this year !!

Mariann : Are you Jewish?

Melissa: Yes, I’m Jewish. Jewish on my side, Mexican and Colombian on their dads side. We both decided to raise them Jewish with Christian ideals (confusing but we celebrate Christmas too along with the Jewish holidays).

Mariann: What do you like most about writing?

Melissa: I love drawing up characters the most. It’s my favorite thing to do. Their quirks, their childhood, their relationships, bad habits, the way they speak? All of that is exciting to me.

I love to write because I feel like it’s a part of me, and I enjoy it so much. It gives me strength and helps me carry on with life, even during hard times.

Mariann: What’s your main goal in writing?

Melissa: My main goal is to create stories that help others understand their emotions and traumas, their feelings and thoughts. My main focus in my stories are grief, abandonment, anger and forgiveness. These are what I have struggled with and what I feel is a hard set of feelings to understand.

Mariann: Do you like writing romance story more than cartoon scriptwriting ?

Melissa: I really can’t fight this one, lol. I love cartoons and romance equally.

https://vocal.media/poets/india-which-has-no-capacity-to-dream

https://vocal.media/fiction/the-labyrinth-7v993w0ihe

https://vocal.media/fiction/bexley-s-survival-list-to-the-zombie-apocalypse

Mariann: What’s your favorite stories you wrote on vocal ? Why are they your favorite?

Melissa: I think my favorite is I am Bexley. It started because Vocal emailed me as they were going to launch the new fiction section of their community and needed vocal writers to curate a story for the start up of the community. So I wrote I am Bexley as that curation. After that, I couldn’t stop. It turned into never ending chapters, more characters and a deeper narrative and plot. Now, it’s a full length novel. I recently have had it submitted and accepted by a publisher, The UK distributer Resurgence Novels, as my debut novel publication.

Unfortunately, I had to unpublish I am Bexley from the site(Vocal), because of the contract I have with the publisher but I think I have the prologue on vocal.

Mariann: What are your writing accomplishments that you are most proud of ?

Melissa Ingoldsby ‘s book signing

Melissa: I have two book signings, one at Picassos coffee, that was on April 22nd. It was so fun! I sold a good amount of my books and had family and friends there for support! And my next one is for the Fantasy Shop for Free Comic Day on May 6th in Saint Charles. I’m proud of this as this was for my self published book on Amazon The Half Paper Moon, which is a collection of two stories, Carnivorous and the title aforementioned.

Melissa Ingoldsby, April 2023 book signing event

Melissa Ingoldsby @her book signing 2023

Melissa: I also have my first traditionally published book, I am Bexley for Resurgence Novels. This road to getting published took a long time and with tons and tons of rejections, so I’m very proud of this work and of the way things turned out, considering the last few years of rejection and turmoil.

It’s so hard. It is not easy but if you keep trying you will do it!!

Mariann: What does your writing space look like?

Melissa : I write best at the stove. When I’m in between burning the rice for dinner, feeding my son, and trying to drink my old coffee,lol.

I truly don’t have a writing space.

Mariann: What’s your favorite Facebook Vocal group?

Melissa: All of the Vocal groups make me feel comfortable and happy. I love sharing with other writers and the community of artists and their passions. Writers sharing community, Great Incantations, vocal media hub and Vocal media support.

Mariann: Who are your favorite Vocal Creators?

Melissa : I love Em Starr(her very moody and excellent toned, gripping fiction), Dharrsheena(her deeply human horror writing), and Oneg For their amazing ability to weave together a beautiful and haunting tale.

Mariann: I will end this interview with Melissa favorite Motto and one of her stories.

Melissa: Hakuna matata

There you have it, A busy mother of two boys and still have time to accomplish her writing dream .

Authors
36

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Great interview, Mariann. It's so nice to get to know more about the lovely Melissa—such an asset to the Vocal community! Congrats on signing your first publishing contract, Melissa, and thank you so much for the shout-out! x

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I've always loved your writing, Melissa! You think outside the box and constantly surprise me with what you come up with. Lovely to know you a bit better, and congratulations on your publishing success!! Congrats on the Top Story to both of you.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Awesome! Melissa- it was so much fun getting to know you better!!! Love hearing about your family! I also have two boys- makes for a wild life, and always drinking old coffee:) Excited to check out more of your work! Congrats on your publishing accomplishment! That’s a huge deal!! Mariann, I absolutely love these interviews! It’s so fun to get a better understanding of the people behind the work! Great job on this and Congrats in Top Story!!! 💫

  • Congratulations on your Top Story ❤️😉💯

  • JBazabout a year ago

    You picked a wonderful and talented person, so good to see the back story to Melissa. Her character building is one of the best. Great job and congratulations.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Fabulous. Really enjoying reading about all the creators that form part of this wonderful little community of ours. Great job Mariann and congratulations on the books Melissa what an awesome achievement! ❤

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Really love these interviews that you've been doing Mariann! I remember Vocal was doing this up until about a year or so ago, and I missed not getting to read more about creators. Thanks for sharing!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Already loved this one! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Melissa has a heart of gold and can write her behind off. It was wonderful getting to know more about her! You have another wonderful interview under your belt Mariann! Congrats on your TOP STORY!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Melissa is so talented and accomplished as a writer. It was great getting the inside scoop on her talents. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your new book deal Melissa and thank you Mariann for the really great interview that lets us know more about Melissa!!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Congratulations Mariann and Melissa on this Top Story!

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Knocking them out the park

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on the top story!!!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story 👍

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Wonderful interview and wow! Melissa is so accomplished. As someone who knows she wants children but also loves writing, this is inspiring! Well done!

  • Melissa is my first friend in the Vocal groups. She read my story and shared hers with me. I was still new in the groups and was figuring out how they worked. She was just so friendly! I'm a hugeeeeeee fan of I Am Bexley. I read the entire series. It had 46 parts if I'm not mistaken. It was just so amazing! As for her fanfiction, I love Feeling Human, which is a fanfiction of Futurama. I've read all 14 parts! I've also read her novel The Half Paper Moon. Gosh it was just so phenomenal! My favourite character is Barbara because she resonated so much with me. There is also another story that will be close to my heart. Chameleon. I love the characters Junichuri and Akiho so much! Apart from her stories, Melissa writes such deep and profound poems about a wide range of topics. It's like you can give her a topic and she would vomit a poem about it. That was an ode to her poem, Vomit. It was amazing! Just recently I got to know that Noah is autistic because of the poem you wrote, sorry I can't recall the title. But I didn't know you bring him to therapy daily. You have so much on your plate. I just don't know how you keep your head above water. I would have drowned 😅 Also, thank you so much for the shoutout! It was a pleasant surprise to see my name there! I address Melissa as Merly. It's a combination of Melissa, Mermaid and Girly! Thank you so much Mariann for interviewing my first friend in Vocal!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Magnificent!!! Congratulations Mariann & Melissa, love it!!!💖💕

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Well done again Mariann ♥️ Congratulations Melissa on your novel. That is awesome. Great job!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nice to get to know a little about Melissa. Well done.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    How are you pumping out these interviews Mariann! Hahah. Very informative and Melissa writing at the stove made me laugh! 😉😊

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I love reading about creators! good job Melissa and Mariann! Great motto, Melissa :)

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    So much fun and so interesting to hear about all the people you have interviewed. 😊💕

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Loved this one 😁 - HUGE congrats on your novel! That’s amazing! 👏👏👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.