Interview logo

"Life Support" Interview with Author Elouise East

Elouise East talks writing queer romance, tackling difficult themes and giving supporting characters the spotlight!

By Ted RyanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

In honour of "Life Support" being released, it was an absolute pleasure to interview Elouise East about her latest writing project and what inspired her to give Casey and Luke their own book.

What inspired you to write this novel?

It’s a subject that isn’t acknowledged very often in books, I believe, and even less so when it comes to LGBTQ+ genre. I wanted to be able to shine a small spotlight on a subject that can often be happening right before people’s eyes. All it takes is for the right questions to be asked or the right person to be there at the right time.

The characters themselves are part of a bigger series, so they have been in my periphery for many months, making it easier for me to write their particular story.

What is your writing process like?

The characters came first, without a doubt. Casey had been a side character in Deep Down, which is book 4 in the series. Luke has not showed up much, so we get to see a lot more about him here. The more I thought about Casey, the more his story came to me, though it did take me a while to see how he would get through the ordeal. I knew Luke through his brother Trent, whose book is Primary Seduction, book 3, so I knew a little about their family life and how they acted around each other. The story itself was written within a month, the words just flowing out. I did change part of the story after a couple of the beta readers said a couple of sections didn’t work, but those scenes will be used as bonus scenes later. They worked as scenes, just not as part of the main storyline.

How do you approach writing your characters and bringing their relationships to life?

I have to allow the characters to talk to me before I can write them. Many characters are idling in the back of mind for months before I get the chance to write them. When it’s their turn, they are usually already fairly developed. I keep a notebook of the different characters and what their small details are, for example, physical descriptions, dates of birth – yes, every character gets a date of birth regardless of whether it is relevant! I also keep track of familial connections. The other things I try to keep notes about are the little intricacies of their personality. Are they stubborn, quiet, sassy, shy, all those types of things. It helps to know how they are likely to react to different situations and other personality types. And in turn, therefore, how they would react to their relationship within the story. These little details may not even make it into a book, but unless I know the character, how can I be expected to make their journey believable.

What was an early experience where you learned that language had power?

I remember being in primary school and reading Charlotte’s Web. My heart broke, and I cried. I realised that books and other works were there to evoke an emotional response from readers. It’s what started me writing to begin with.

What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Remembering that, although I might like ‘that’ idea or scene, it might not actually fit in with the storyline. I need to remind myself that my reader is a different person to who I am and what I like. Deleting scenes from a manuscript is always difficult for me, but I know it makes the book better. I still don’t like the words being removed though.

What do you hope readers take from this story?

I would like readers to know that love comes from different places and in different ways. Every action is experienced differently by various people, and I like the idea of bringing that to the forefront. I also hope the sexual harassment aspect is considered and that it makes readers think about their friends, family, colleagues, neighbours, etc. Things are not always as they seem.

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Persevere. Have faith in yourself. That is a big thing that I still struggle with now.

What would your advice be to any aspiring writers?

Write every day. Even if it’s just a few words to describe something that was floating around in your head. Even if it’s a description of what is outside the window. Just write. Get into a routine and write every day. It will help take your writing to the next level. My other advice would be to never stop learning. Read craft books, read blog posts, watch videos, watch webinars. Learn everything you can about the author and publishing world. There is never too much information.

What are you writing next?

I am writing a shared world novel and am really excited about it. It’s based in New York City, so it’s a little bit of a learning curve for me, and I’m relying on my American friends to help me out with information I don’t know. I love learning about it though. I visited New York when I was 17, and absolutely loved it.

Secrets give others more power. Now is the time to fight back.

Blurb

What can they do when their safety and self-worth are compromised?

Casey’s usually bubbly, cheeky demeanour is diminished by sexual harassment from a colleague. When Casey becomes scared for his safety, he seeks out a trainer to teach him how to escape. Withholding the secret is stifling, but he sees no other option if he wants to keep his job. Spilling those secrets to an almost stranger changes his life in a way he never thought possible.

Luke spends his time training people in evasive tactics. He loves his job, but feels inferior to his more successful siblings. How can he compete with lawyers, police officers and teachers? When Casey comes to him for training, Luke knows he’s hiding a secret and wants to get to the source. Finally, Casey confides in him, and Luke sets his sights on helping.

Can they win the fight against people who bring them down?

Details:

  • Title: Life Support (Crush #6)
  • Author: Elouise East
  • Publisher: Elouise East
  • Cover Artist: Maria Vickers
  • Release Date: March 11, 2021
  • Genre: Contemporary M/M Romance
  • Tropes: Friends to lovers, Hurt/comfort
  • Themes: Sexual harassment in the workplace
  • Heat Rating: 4 flames
  • Length: 75 000 words
  • It is a standalone story, although characters from other books in the series do appear throughout

About the Author

I am a bestselling author of contemporary MM romance. I write a variety of themes: sweet and fluffy to high angst to taboo, but friendships are integral to each character's experience. I write books that are emotionally realistic, even if liberties are taken with other aspects of my stories.

Reading and writing have always been a part of my life, although my debut book wasn't published until July 2019. My experience has come from reading thousands of books over the years and being a perfectionist when it comes to trying to make things right. I live in the centre of the UK with my two children, who make life worth living, keep me (in)sane and make me laugh every single day.

Author Links

Blog/Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram 

Newsletter Sign-up | Facebook Group

Life Support is OUT NOW in Paperback and E-Book!

Authors
Like

About the Creator

Ted Ryan

When I’m not reviewing or analysing pop culture, I’m writing stories of my own.

Reviewer/Screenwriter socials: Twitter.

Author socials: You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Goodreads as T.J. Ryan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.