Interview logo

Leon Stevens, Author, interviews Leon Stevens, Reader

A humorous self interview

By Leon StevensPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Leon Stevens, Author, interviews Leon Stevens, Reader
Photo by Michal Czyz on Unsplash

After several interviews on some websites after the release of my first book, Lines by Leon: Poems, Prose, and Pictures, I decided to work on my comedic writing and explore how an author might interview a reader. Since there were no volunteers—and I just happened to be in the room—the self interview was born!

Today we sit down with Leon Stevens, the reader. We haven’t chatted for a while, how have you been?

I’m doing well, thanks for asking!

Tea?

Oh, yes please.

[clinking of fine china teacups] Say when.

When?

When do you want me to stop pouring.

Can’t you tell when it’s full?

[silence]

Well then, enough of the small talk. Let’s get started, shall we? First question: What was the first book that you remember reading?

Ever?

Yes.

Wow, that’s a great question.

I thought it was.

I guess if I try to remember all the way back, I’d have to say, The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

That’s the one with all the holes in the pages through the apples.

Yup. I think that I got my finger stuck in one of them.

I think we all did.

[laughter]

Any others worth mentioning?

I do recall reading Curious George, Pippi Longstocking, Hardy Boys, and I liked pop-up books. Oh, and the Highlights magazines.

Next Question: What was the first book that fascinated you?

That’s an easy one, A Wrinkle in Time.

Why that one?

My fifth-grade teacher read it to us. I looked forward to that time. He was a great reader, and I was sad when the book ended. It was a kind of a dark adventure for that age group.

Did you like reading?

I didn’t dislike it, but I wasn’t a voracious reader.

Were you encouraged to read?

I think so. My dad would read to me at bedtime. He would make space stories for me. I later found out, when I started reading science fiction on my own, that many of those stories were ones he had read before. I don’t fault him for it. It was funny reading a story and thinking, “Hey, Dad didn’t make that up!”

Do you have a favorite genre, or do you have a variety of interests?

I usually read science fiction, and I prefer the older works over new. I do enjoy historical non-fiction, especially about explorers. I do enjoy some fantasy from time to time, as well as crime dramas.

What book have you re-read the most?

I would have to say, What Klondike by Pierre Burton, followed by Alive by Piers Paul Read, and The Chronicles of Narnia.

Favorite book?

Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut.

Any newer books that I might know that you have enjoyed?

Umm, you know the same books I do.

I suppose that’s true…Well?

Ready Player One and The Martian would be the most recent. But again, you knew that.

Have you ever not finished a book?

Yes.

Care to throw it under the bus?

Nope. Not fair to the authors. Sometimes a book just doesn’t fit with the reader.

I understand. Well then, last question: What will you be reading next?

I’m waiting for you to finish your science fiction book.

It’s getting there, don’t rush me.

I’m just yankin’ your chain, I’ve liked what I have read so far.

Thanks. I appreciate that.

I knew you would.

I knew that you knew that I would.

I’m not playing that game.

[silence]

I guess we are done then. It has been a pleasure interviewing you.

Well, thank you. It was fun! We should do this again.

Agreed!

Listen to the audio on SoundCloud:

Leon Stevens, Author, interviews Leon Stevens, Reader

Leon Stevens is a blogger, composer, artist, and an author of four books (so far): Lines by Leon: Poems, Prose, and Pictures, Journeys: Eight Original Pieces for Classical Guitar , The Knot at the End of the Rope and Other Short Stories, and The View from Here, his first science fiction novella. Visit LinesbyLeon.com



Authors
Like

About the Creator

Leon Stevens

Leon Stevens is a multi-genre author, composer, guitarist, and artist, with a Bachelor of Music and Education. His newest publications are the sci-fi trilogy, The View from Here, and a new collection of poetry titled, A Wonder of Words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.