Interview logo

Interview with Incomplete_Dreams

Getting to know the Wattpad authors

By Chloe GilholyPublished 5 years ago 4 min read

A few weeks ago I interviewed Shalaka Sawant, who was really excited to be a part of the interview project. Thank you so much for your time.

Chloe Gilholy: What made you become a writer?

Shalaka Sawant : I was reading here for almost a year or so when I first started writing. I was reading a lot of werewolf books and, one day, I sat down and wrote a small chapter and decided to publish it. That's how my first book was born.

What brought you to Wattpad?

I have been in love with books for as long as I can remember. I met one of my best friends in college, and she used to read on Wattpad. She got to know about my love for books and recommended Wattpad to me, and now here, I am four or so years later.

What is the latest project you’re working on?

Currently, I am working on another short story. It's based on personal experience, and deals with mental issues and stuff. I posted it on Wattpad, but I took it down and decided to work on it before posting it again. I am also trying to edit my book, Life Into Pages.

Have you ever been published outside of Wattpad?

No. Never, actually. Publishing is my goal, just like any other writer. But, I have only been writing for two or so years, and I am not yet confident enough about my writing to publish it. But, I do want to do that some day.

What’s your greatest achievement as a writer?

Completing Life Into Pages is something I am really proud of. It's a book all about my personal experiences and struggles, and I gave up on it so many times. So, I am happy to finally finish it. Whenever my readers leave comments that say they can relate to my short stories, it always make me feel so accomplished

What are your writing goals?

Writing a proper novel is one. I have only written short stories so far, and not an actual novel. Connecting with my readers and publishing at least one of my books someday is probably the biggest goal I have as a writer. I want to improve myself as much as I can, and create books I will love to read as a reader myself.

What’s your favourite thing about writing for Wattpad?

Definitely the people here. Everyone I have met so far has been so good to me, and I have made many great friends here. I also met my best friend, @Weavers_of_tales, which wouldn't have been possible without Wattpad. Meeting so many people and experienced writers has taught me so many things, and it helped me improve myself as well. My readers are another thing that I love, because their love for my work is what makes me keep going as a writer. I won't be a writer if they didn't read my book, so I am really happy about that.

What are your pet peeves about writing for Wattpad?

Though there are many good people here, as a writer, I do meet people who are extremely rude, and that's something that annoys me. Wattpad is my favourite site so I don't have many complaints, but the ranking system and the constant updates sometimes make me angry.

Aside from Wattpad, are there any other sites you’ve written for?

I have written for Inkitt and StoryMirror, but I am not as active on those sites as I am on Wattpad. Wattpad is my go-to for my books.

Where do you see your writing journey in five years?

Honestly, I am not sure. I hope to keep writing as long as possible. Even though I can't make a career out of it, I do want to publish someday as I said before. Writing makes me happy, so I will keep on writing for sure. I hope to have more reads on my book than I have now, but I do want to get new readers and make my books as flawless as possible.

How would you feel about someone making fanwork based on your stories?

I would be so happy!!! I only have short stories as of now, but it would make me so happy if this ever happened. If someone is making fan art for me, it means they really like my work and are doing it for that love, and that means a lot to me. So, yeah. I will really love if that happens.

Which Wattpad book that you’ve written do you feel best displays your writing talents?

So far, I have only written one book, which is Life Into Pages. Though it's my first book, I think I've improved a lot as a writer in the later part of the stories. The short stories, after first 10 or so, are something I am really proud of. I have edited them to the best of my ability, but made sure they still keep the factor in them that describes me as a writer. I am a fan of emotional stuff, and those stories showcase that. So yeah, Life Into Pages makes me really proud.

The short story that I am currently working on will hopefully turn out as good as my first book. That's all I wish for. :)

Thanks for the interview. I have answered all the questions to the best of my ability. I apologise for any grammar mistakes, and I can't wait to see it when you publish it. Please send me a link when you do, and thanks for doing this. It was so fun. :)

Creators

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chloe GilholyWritten by Chloe Gilholy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.