Interview logo

Interview with Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
45
Interview with Dharrsheena Raja Segarran
Photo by Michal Czyz on Unsplash

Today, I'll be interviewing a great writer on Vocal, she’s a poet, and she knows it. She’s a writer of fiction and stories that are great! She’s a writer and that’s a wonderful fate! Let us give a warm welcome and a round of applause to Dharrsheena Raja Segarran! She’s been a big part of the vocal community with not just her great writing but also with her great praise of others. Week after week, she gives the best compliments, it’s time we return the favor to our favorite writer!

A.H.M. How did you get started writing poetry and stories.

D.R.S. I've been writing stories since I was a kid. My teacher would give us a topic and ask us to write a story. I was maybe around 6 or 7 years old when I started writing stories.

As for poetry, I only started writing it after joining Vocal about more than a year ago. Colleen Millsteed was my inspiration. I would be soooo amazed reading her poems and I was motivated to try it.

A.H.M What inspires you to write your poetry and stories

D.R.S. There's no specific answer for this. Suddenly, an idea would pop up in my head and I'll just go with it. Some of my pieces have been inspired by my real-life events, though.

A.H.M. How would you define your writing style? Is there one piece you wrote that you like the best? Why?

D.R.S. Oooo, that's a good question! I always begin and end my stories with a dialogue. I have no idea why I do that. My endings are kinda open ended to a certain extent.

My favourite would have to be Phantasmagoria because I think that's the goriest story I've written. It was me in my element.

A.H.M. What’s been the most challenging thing for you to write and why?

D.R.S. The most challenging was my poem, Rainy Day In The Car. That was for the Get Comfortable Challenge. I decided to step out of my comfort zone (I just realised the irony, lol) and write about love. I was cringing the whole time I was writing it.

A.H.M. What is your most important piece of advice to other writers?

D.R.S. Always be true to yourself. We should not change who we are to fit in. Compared to other genres and communities on Vocal, horror isn't too popular. But that's my niche and that's what I'll write about. We should write for ourselves instead of for others.

A.H.M. What do you want people to learn from your work?

D.R.S. I don't think there's anything to learn from my horror stories. I always make the villain win 🤣 My poems, on the other hand, I always try to include new words. I love learning new words and I always hope others would do too!

A.H.M. Can you tell me what your writing process looks like? Tell me how you get your ideas, when you start writing, what your mood and thought process is, etc.

D.R.S. I usually would have a story idea pop up into my head. Then I'll just let it marinate in my head to figure out my plot and characters. This would take anywhere between a few hours to a few weeks.

Once I have the complete plot, I'll type out the first draft. Then, for the next seven days, I would daily edit that by adding or removing parts of the story and correcting the grammar.

I would start to think of the title and look for the cover pic on the fifth day. Then, on the 7th day, I would publish it.

A.H.M. What’s one thing you love about writing?

D.R.S. I love the fact that I'm able to create something completely from scratch.

A.H.M. What’s something you hate about writing?

D.R.S. At times, I struggle to write what is in my head. Like I can't find suitable words or I can't construct proper sentences to express perfectly what I want to.

A.H.M. How long has writing been a passion of yours?

D.R.S. Ever since I was a kid. Like maybe since I was 6 or 7 years old.

A.H.M. What do you like to do for fun?

D.R.S. Sleeping. I love to sleep. It's like an escape from the real world. So magical.

A.H.M. Is there anything else you think your fans should know about you?

D.R.S. I wasn't always this girl who was consumed by her darkness. I used to be all sunshine and rainbows. But I like who I am now. I wouldn't be able to recognise myself without my darkness.

A.H.M. Thank you for letting me interview you!

D.R.S. Thank you so much for having me! It was an honour to be interviewed by you and I feel so humbled!

CreatorsThought LeadersHeroesAuthors
45

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Tammy Saphire 9 months ago

    Great work! Good questions!

  • Joey Gervais 9 months ago

    Wonderful interview!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Congratulations your interview made it to the Leader Board 💓💕🥰 https://vocal.media/vocal/vocal-bonus-leaderboard-7-19-2023

  • Colleen Millsteed 10 months ago

    You couldn’t have picked a better Vocal writer to interview Alex. Dharrsheena is awesome 😎

  • Mark Hightower10 months ago

    Loved the response to what do you like for fun?: Sleeping. Such a unique and original yet beautiful response. Great interview?

  • JBaz10 months ago

    You couldn’t have picked a better person for your interview, for that I applaud you. Nicely written. Dharrsheena, to me you will ways be sunshine and rainbows. Congratulations

  • Excellent interview and deserved top story

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Gal Mux10 months ago

    Wonderful to read more about Dharrsheena! Thank you for interviewing her on our behalf!

  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    Good interview. Its time Dharrsheena was hightlighed for her talent, and yes she always gives great feedback.

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    Great interview to you both! I love how passionate and sincere Dharrsheena is. 💖

  • Superb

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Congratulations Dharrsheena!!! 🎊❤️❤️🎉🎉🎉

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Dharsheena is a Vocal treasure! Very sweet & real as well as a phenomenal writer! Great interview Alex!!!!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Great interview. It was nice to see Dharrsheena in the spotlight, she's a great writer and a superstar in her own right! Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • sleepy drafts10 months ago

    This was a great interview! I was so excited to read more about Dharrsheena and her work!! Congratulations on Top Story! 💓

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    Congratulations on the top story. Dharrsheena is a Vocal superstar for certain. ❤️

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Awesome interview! Dharrsheena is Princess. On another note, if and when she hosts a Vocal convention we might find ourselves at the center of her next diabolical plot. 🥰🤣

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Great interview Alex! Congrats on Top Story! 🥂 Dharrsheena is one of my favorite people I’ve never met. Her dark humor never fails to amuse me, and she contributes so much to this community with her authenticity. I loved that “Rainy Day In The Car” poem, and I loved that she challenged herself but kept her writer voice too.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous interview!!! Loving it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Sweet🎉😉Congratulations on your Top Story💖🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Such a great interview, Alex! I’m a huge fan of Dharrsheena, even though I’m not a huge fan of horror. She is absolutely the sweetest person and such a treasure of our vocal community! So fun to learn more about her! 💫💞

  • Test10 months ago

    Loved this interview. Dharrsheena is so talented and so supportive of others' writing. Great interview💙Anneliese

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Wonderful interview. Congrats on the TS.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    🏆Alex, congratulations on Top Story! I started cheering as soon as I saw Dharrsheena's name.💜 She is a talented creator and lovely individual. Compliments to both of you! 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.