Interview logo

Interview with HandsomelouiiThePoet, A.K.A. Lonzo Ward

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 6 min read
25
Interview with HandsomelouiiThePoet, A.K.A. Lonzo Ward
Photo by Will Francis on Unsplash

Today, I interview another great writer on Vocal, he’s a poet, and he most definitely knows it. He’s a writer of rhymes, and his poems ring true. Some call him Lou! Let us give a warm welcome to HandsomelouiiThePoet, A.K.A. Lonzo Ward!

He’s been a big part of the vocal community with his great poems!

Alex H. Mittelman: What’s your favorite kind of poetry to write?

HandsomeLouiiThePoet: Free verse poetry is my favorite, because I consider myself to be a free spirit ♥️🦋📝

And sonnets

I love music so much 🎶my poetry is my music…

A.H.M What inspires you to write your poetry?

H.L. Life, and everyday situations inspire me to write poetry, also I am a big art freak, and that's my favorite thing about poetry is the art it creates and the art that is taken away from it…

A.H.M. Are there any famous poets you like to read? Or that you find inspirational? Like Edgar Allen Poe, Oscar Wild or Maya Angelou?

H.L. Edgar Allen Poe was one of the first poets I learned about♥️💯✌️😉I like his work, but I try to focus on myself as a poet because I don't want other people showing up inside my work so I am my favorite poet. I have learned that when people like someone's work they resemble it inside there own work, even if they don't notice- so I stay focused on the poetry of my life and from my perspectives…

A.H.M. Is there anything you like to read on Vocal?

H.L. I like to read about food and animals, and actually, I read a little bit from all of the communities on Vocal. Honestly I can say that I am a fan of all the creators on the platform mostly because I’m just always thinking of a way to support everyone, so sometimes I take a moment out the day just to find creators to show love ❤️

A.H.M. How would you define your writing style? Is there one piece you wrote that you like the best? Why?

H.L. Honestly, in the most humble way, it is hard to pick a favorite… I write so much and my style bends a speck, and I fall in love with the next piece that I write 📝 every time-♥️💯👍

My writing style is Basically Free…

A.H.M. What’s been the most challenging thing for you to write and why?

H.L. The most challenging thing to write about, I would say is myself…

I'm not only a bit shy, but I am very private. Most of my poetry Is stories about other people, and some are stories about me… Some are just for whoever can relate ♥️👍I can tell stories about anything, so I use the sentiments of others…

Okay, the second most challenging thing to write about is the challenges I try to participate in, because I am such a free spirit that it feels like putting myself inside a box 📦 when I have to write for a challenge entry, so it's hard because I never try to make anyone like my stuff, and that's what it feels like whenever I do a challenge piece, so I won't do them often because I like my freedom when it comes to writing 📝 ♥️

A.H.M. What is your most important piece of advice to other writers?

H.L. My advice for other writers would be: Never hold back ⬅️ 📝Write when you're sad, write when you are happy, write when you are scared, write when you feel silly, write when you are nervous, because whatever you write somebody is gonna love it♥️💯✌️and someone may need your message 💬

A.H.M. What do you want people to learn from your work?

H.L. Okay so back to your other question, I noticed that I skipped over one-

I want people to take from my writing 📝 a feeling of bravery-

It takes guts to live in this world and to share intimate pieces of yourself. So when in doubt, just do it anyway…

I learned that writing was therapy through my writing- I noticed how certain things I've written about were actually manifestations and I haven't witnessed those things furthermore, I feel renewed♥️💯😉👌

So if anyone learns something from my writing 📝 I hope that it is freedom that you take with you!

A.H.M. Can you tell me what your writing process looks like? Tell me how you get your ideas, when you start writing, what your mood and thought process is, etc.

H.L. Sometimes I just write because I am bored… but most of the time I'm inspired by everything, so I consider myself an inspiration whore- when it comes to being inspired, I mean literally I could walk inside a store and see a bag of chips and I'll be like 😍 Im going to write about these chips… lol 😆 When I'm outside it is worst because I could overhear a conversation and get enlightened, sometimes it's hard to finish a movie 🎬 and my friends are like why did you want to watch this? 👀You missed the whole thing- so yeah sometimes being an inspiration whore sucks- because I always have my notepad opened on my phone 📱

A.H.M. What’s one thing you love about writing?

H.L. One thing I love about writing is creativity, I can instantly think of something and write anything about it and that is the magic ✨ of writing 📝

A.H.M. What something you hate about writing?

H.L. One thing I dislike about writing is punctuation marks, I know that you need them but sometimes I'm lost in the writing 📝 and I forget where they should be placed lol 😂but soon I'll have a personal editor.

A.H.M. How long has writing been a passion of yours?

Writing has stood as a passion of mine since the beginning of the century 💯 lol 😆 Actually It started when I was in The 4th grade… I wrote about this in one of my stories for a Vocal Challenge recently…

https://vocal.media/writers/story-time-kv1j20w6i

A.H.M. What do you like to do for fun?

H.L. Writing is one of the things that I consider fun, also dancing and singing really loud to music 🎤 lol 😆 This summer I went to the skating rink, To learn how to skate and it was fun so I am deeming more…

A.H.M. Thank you for letting me interview you!

H.L. Thank you for reaching out and asking for this interview. I'm always nervous, when being interviewed and asked about my work, but hey, I did it anyway, so I am proud of myself for being able to push forward even with fear…

All my life I have dealt with this slightly shy 😊 faze…

I always say to myself “How could you be a writer and shy? lol 😆 but here I am imperfect me📝Writing about everything!

Link to profile: https://vocal.media/authors/handsomelouii-the-poet-lonzo-ward

CelebritiesThought LeadersHeroesCreatorsAuthors
25

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Well done. Interesting and engaging interview. It is great that you and Lonzo are helping one another. Thanks again <3 <3

  • Ibinabo Brown 7 months ago

    What a great interview

  • Kelsey Clarey7 months ago

    Great interview, Alex!

  • Mark Hightower7 months ago

    He sounds like he could get inspired by paint drying - love it

  • Lol, an inspiration whore! But I'm so amazed at how easily Lonzo gets inspired. I'm like the complete opposite! I enjoyed this interview!

  • Mika Oka7 months ago

    Great interview

  • Melissa Ingoldsby7 months ago

    Awesome interview about a very talented writer and friend of mine!

  • Judey Kalchik 7 months ago

    Great dual duo interview

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Great Job Alex!!!!! You got to love HandsomeLouiiThe Poet, such Talent and humor !!!!!!!

  • Catherine Nyomenda7 months ago

    I am inspired. Wow just wow!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Great job guys! 😊👍 I identify with your thoughts Lonzo, on challenges somewhat… I don’t like being put in a mould or having to write to a mould either! 😁 I like that you gain inspiration around you so frequently too!

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Lovely & Inspirational! Great job you two! 😁

  • Celia in Underland7 months ago

    Love this! "inspiration whore-" What an amazing phrase! Great interview with a brilliant wordsmith 🤍

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    🩵🩵

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Love the interview!!! Awesome job and cheers to you both!!!

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    That was a very interesting discussion, Alex! And a big thanks to Lonzo for agreeing to be interviewed! Not every day we have such a handsome guest to read about. It was super interesting to see how Handsomelouii finds his inspiration, so safe to say I really liked this article! One thing I'd like to say, did you know there's a way to inbed links and create hyperlinks? Dana Crandall taught me about them and I've been kind of abusing them ever since

  • I liked this Incredible, Interview, I Felt Chilled and Ready to keep Talking💬 ♥️💯😁🍁Thank You, Alex❗

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    Very revealing and interesting...

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    🥰 love this, you two!

  • AL. K.7 months ago

    Very Good Alex!! 👍🏻

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.