Interview logo

Interview With a Lifetime Star: Mark Gantt

For this interview, I'll be chatting with a man on his way to become a regular face in the Lifetime directing circuit: Mark Gantt!

By Trevor WellsPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
1

Trevor Wells: Thank for this opportunity to speak with you, Mark! So, let's start at the beginning: what drew you to the crazy world of filmmaking? Skimming your IMDB, I see that your history with Lifetime dates back to the 90's.

Mark Gantt: I loved television as a kid. I'd create my own little stories and record them on a cassette player. I've always been fascinated with storytelling and was drawn to the visual arts. I moved down to San Diego when I was 19 and connected with someone who was doing a TV movie down there. I jumped at the chance to intern for the prop department. I found the excitement and controlled chaos of the whole production addicting. Within a month, I had packed up my car and moved to LA to work on films. I've worked in literally every department except the hair and makeup department and learned so much from those experiences. I found myself drawn to both the acting and directing. There was something magical about the way the director would bring a script to life.

Trevor Wells: As someone who always loved writing stories as a kid, I can definitely relate! Which do you like better: working in front of the camera or behind it? I see that you made your ON-camera Lifetime debut in 2017's Escaping Dad.

Mark Gantt: As much as I enjoy acting, it's the writing, directing, and producing that I'm really drawn to. As a recovering control-freak, I find the behind the camera aspect more fulfilling. There's more creative freedom writing and directing and the big-picture part that I love. My experience working below-the-line has given me a unique perspective and advantage collaborating with the different departments. I think it helps that I know what it takes to do their jobs, and we can find creative solutions to maximize the story.

Trevor Wells: Having already spoken with some of your Secret Life co-stars, I can agree you've got a strong grasp on directing. According to IMDB, the first Lifetime movie you directed was 2015's Murder in Mexico: The Bruce Beresford-Redman Story. What was the experience like?

Mark Gantt: It was really a dream project. I'm a huge fan of films based on true stories. The Bruce Beresford-Redman story was such a tricky story to tell on many fronts. For one, even though he was found guilty by the Mexican government and served time in prison there, to this day, he pleads his innocence. We wanted to make sure we honored the loss of his wife and her family and the possibility that he was not responsible for her death. I had one of the most incredible cast and crews. The producers, Nancy Leopardi and Ross Kohn, believed in my vision from the start. I've been fortunate to go on to direct two more features with them, including The Surrogate. That was the original title for the movie [The Secret Life of a Celebrity Surrogate]. Lifetime is always so creative when they acquire a film, to find the most tantalizing title they can. It was a very serendipitous moment when we found out about the new title. My wife, Brianne Davis, who happens to play Ava in the film, and I had just launched our podcast, Secret Life, when we found out. The podcast's title was taken from Brianne's upcoming book, Secret Life of a Hollywood Sex & Love Addict. It was hard to believe that the Universe had orchestrated something so coincidental. I guess it's part of our' brand!'

Trevor Wells: Haha, I can imagine that was quite a surprise! And I'm glad you met a great pair of producers to work alongside. What was it like to go from directing a biopic to trying your hand at making an original Lifetime thriller?

Mark Gantt: I think no matter what I'm making, I'm infusing it with my own personal stories. I want to put as much as my personal experience, my struggles in the project. I like the actors to play these characters for real, regardless if it's a situation that feels a little melodramatic. That's really where the challenge comes as a director. You have a script that a writer/writers have worked on with producers. They've had it vetted with distributors, investors, and buyers. For a film to get distribution, they've got to check off certain boxes. So there are elements of the script that are non-negotiable when it comes to changes or rewrites. Finding the truth in each scene, connecting them, moment to moment, hoping that you've helped to suspend reality and tell a story. That's the magic.

Trevor Wells: It definitely sounds like a fascinating challenge that would be heavenly for someone with a vested interest in storytelling. So of the current three movies you've directed that went on to be Lifetime features, which would be your favorite of the bunch?

Mark Gantt: Ha! That's like asking a parent which is their favorite child. They all represent different things for me. Murder In Mexico was important to me because I realized that I was supposed to direct for a living. Everything just came easy for me. Now, it wasn't easy, but the creativity was easy, the collaborations were easy. I was also able to cast dozens of my friends and former classmates I knew would bring their A-game. Model Citizen [A Deadly Price for her Pretty Face] was unique as it was the first time shooting a film in Albuquerque, New Mexico. I was away from my family, working with the crew I'd never worked with before, and actors I'd only met briefly. It was a beautiful experience as well. The cast and crew stepped up, believed in my vision and really did a fantastic job. The Surrogate was different, not because the script isn't the traditional Lifetime script. The set-up is different and has more humor. The producers really wanted it to have a polished feel to it. Where Model Citizen was based on films like No Country For Old Men and Hell or High Water. We were going for Bombshell or a more slick network TV show on The Surrogate. I was working with Brianne again, in a much larger part, with my mom babysitting our toddler … in New Mexico. They all three were so rewarding.

Trevor Wells: I can definitely see why! Speaking of Brianne, what has it been like working with her over the years?

Mark Gantt: Much like any relationship, it is rooted in communication. We've learned to communicate differently when we work together. Brianne has a strong point of view and a vision for whatever she tackles. We both have strengths and weaknesses and we've been able to find this really nice balance of give and take, the name of our production company. As we've begun writing and developing together, those skills have only been amplified, and we are genuinely collaborating on a higher level because of it. We're very fortunate.

Trevor Wells: You definitely are. You make an amazing team! Having watched Secret Life of a Celebrity Surrogate, I can say it has much of what made A Deadly Price For her Pretty Face great--barring a recurring hiccup that I'll mention in a moment. How would you describe the experience compared to the first original Lifetime thriller you directed?

Mark Gantt: I think just because they're all thrillers, it's easy to assume that I'd approach each the same. But as I mentioned before, I'm always trying to make them as personal as possible. I want to infuse it with as much truth as possible. Brianne and I know several people who have struggled to get pregnant over the years. We also know a few Hollywood couples that are more than a little different behind closed doors. It's the challenge of any story, finding the truth, connecting it to the story's overall arc, and helping the actors tap into that within themselves.

Trevor Wells: I could definitely see that truth infusion coming through. So, that hiccup I mentioned earlier comes in the form of Olivia's decision-making over the course of the movie. It just felt like there were too many red flags that she ignored, and the fact that nothing comes of her visit to the police station only made matters worse. Even taking into account her situation going into her meeting with the Von Richters, it was too much to forgive under suspension of disbelief. I'm wondering if you have a response to that?

Mark Gantt: I think it's unfair to believe that there aren't people out there like Olivia. I know so many people who never had parental support and always looking to others to be those parents. Hollywood is such a mystery. I'm sure there's someone out there like Olivia, that if they were offered $100k to carry a baby for any of the Kardashians, they'd say yes. Even with the chaos that it would involve. So I think it's believable that a vulnerable, naive young woman who's got nowhere else to go is a little forgiving of the crazy high jinks that happen. Thinking that maybe this is just the way Hollywood types really are behind closed doors. At least, that's what I was going for! LOL

Trevor Wells: Taking Olivia's situation and demeanor into account definitely helped make her behavior believable, even if some actions still didn't rub the right way. Carrie Wampler's performance certainly helped out as well! Looking towards the future, any upcoming plans for the remainder of this crazy year? Anything you can tell me about future movie making plans?

Mark Gantt: I'm currently writing my second feature for The Cartel, a production company producing Lifetime and Hallmark movies. I'm tapped to direct them as well. I'm also writing and producing two true-crime Audible Original projects with XG Productions. I'm currently developing two projects with Brianne and producing our podcast, Secret Life. I'm really proud of the show. You can find it on Apple Podcasts or wherever you listen to podcasts. I think it's something than many people can connect with.

Trevor Wells: It all sounds very intriguing, and I'll have to remember give Secret Life a listen sometime! And lastly, what advice do you have for aspiring filmmakers?

Mark Gantt: Don't worry about doing it perfectly. You'll never be able to do it correctly. Don't wait for the perfect situation, until the script is right, until you have the right camera, the cast, etc. Just go shoot. Learn from your mistakes, take risks, and ask others who've already done it to mentor you. You don't know what you don't know. You can only learn so much from books and school. Get out there, tell your story. The world probably needs your voice right about now!

Trevor Wells: Excellent advice, Mark! Thank you again for taking the time to talk with me and I look forward to seeing what you have cooking for your next release!

Actors
1

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.