Interview logo

Interview With a Lifetime Star: Kate Watson

For this latest interview, I'll be talking to another Her Deadly Groom star and a budding Lifetime regular: Kate Watson!

By Trevor WellsPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Trevor Wells: Thank you for taking the time to speak with me, Kate! So starting from the beginning, what first got you interested in acting?

Kate Watson: Since I was young, I've been fascinated with storytelling and performing. I grew up seriously studying ballet. The stage became my sanctuary. Eventually, an interest in film was an extension of books and the stage.

Trevor Wells: Very interesting! I can definitely relate to being interested in storytelling. What first gravitated you to the realm of Lifetime?

Kate Watson: I actually can't say I gravitated towards the realm of Lifetime, as I'm not always sure where each film will eventually be seen. However, the Thriller/Drama genre has always been something I've been drawn to. I love a story that truly engages you and keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Trevor Wells: I can relate, Thriller/Drama is my genre preference too. So the first Lifetime movie I saw you in was last year's Psycho BFF. How was your first taste of the Lifetime scene?

Kate Watson: I really enjoyed that script. At its core, the story addresses the challenge a young person faces when adapting to change, disappointment, and life with a single parent. From a technical perspective, that shoot was a real undertaking, with limited time. It was all mostly shot in one shot. Meaning, it was meant to look like a continuous take. The camera was constantly moving, with some takes being several minutes long. As a result, it allows for one or two actual takes of the scene, and you may not get to always see a reaction on my face, although it does lend an exertive pulling force throughout the film.

Trevor Wells: I could see that in places, and I enjoyed the script as well for all that it brought to the table. Along with Lifetime, it would also seem you've become something of a regular for films produced by The Asylum (in addition to Psycho BFF, there's Tomb Invader, The Doctor Will Kill You, and Collision Earth). What brought you there?

Kate Watson: Relationships with filmmakers. When you have a respect for the filmmaker, no matter the outcome of the film, the reward is simply the process of creating something together.

Trevor Wells: Excellent attitude! Speaking of Collision Earth, I found that it and your most recent Lifetime movie Her Deadly Groom had you co-starring with someone many Lifetime fans know well: Eric Roberts. What's it been like working with such an established actor?

Kate Watson: It's always a pleasure to work with an actor that has an acute awareness of this craft, and doesn't shy away from unpredictable moments.

Trevor Wells: I can definitely see that; I've been a fan of his for a while now! Throughout your time as an actor, what would be your most memorable moments? Most memorable co-stars?

Kate Watson: I had a chance to actually prepare for a film last fall, where I physically and mentally trained for six weeks in order to play an Army Sergeant. It was an enormous amount of work, but the challenge was immensely rewarding. I've been honored to work with some wonderful co-stars, but a finale scene I did with Robert Lasardo is definitely a favorite.

Trevor Wells: Sounds like exciting work! Might have to check that movie out sometime. Speaking of, I see that among the movies you have in the works, one of them is MarVista Entertainment's Top of the Class. Am I correct in assuming that's another upcoming Lifetime feature, and if so, what can you tell me about it? (Barring spoilers, of course)

Kate Watson: It is. I'm sure I can't say too much, but it's got a lot of heart and some hair-raising thrills!

Trevor Wells: Understood, and can't wait to see it! So, to wrap up this interview, what advice do you have for any aspiring actors who might be reading?

Kate Watson: Firstly, don't chase fame or success--chase growth. What can you do to grow, as a person and as a performer? If you continue to grow, so will your career. You'll never stop.

Secondly, learn this medium. Don't just study acting, study cinema. Know what lens does what, study the technical information around cameras and lighting, learn what it takes to produce and direct, and what makes a screenplay great. A painter can't paint well unless they know the difference between oils and acrylic paint, canvas types, and color theory. Learn about film, then worry about acting. Acting well on camera is far more technical than it looks.

Lastly, this business, like others, can be heartbreaking. Being disappointed by a film you poured your heart into can be heartbreaking. Know who you are acting FOR. Don't worry about who's been before you or beside you. Work harder than you ever have, in relation to yourself. You will be let down by your expectations of others, but strive to uphold your expectations of yourself. That is all you can control. Then let go, and enjoy it!

Trevor Wells: VERY valuable advice, Kate! Thanks again for taking the time to speak with me, and I look forward to seeing what you have in store in future projects.

Actors
1

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.