Interview logo

Interview With a Lifetime Star: Michael DeVorzon

In this interview, I have a chat with a recently inducted member of the Lifetime family: Her Deadly Groom's Michael DeVorzon!

By Trevor WellsPublished 4 years ago ā€¢ 4 min read
1

Trevor Wells: Good evening Michael! Thank you again for agreeing to this interview. It's very much appreciated. So, let's start with the basics: what got you into the acting business?

Michael DeVorzon: Growing up watching the old Pink Panther movies starring Peter Sellers made me want to be an actor. I did some plays as a young kid, and then years later, got my first job in Hollywood working in production for the TV show Melrose Place. After a few years in production, I started working in front of the camera.

Trevor Wells: Interesting that you started behind the camera! And according to your IMDB, Melrose Place was also the site of your first on-camera role.

Michael DeVorzon: Indeed!

Trevor Wells: Your IMDB also tells me (unless I'm mistaken) that Her Deadly Groom was your debut Lifetime film. What drew you to the film?

Michael DeVorzon: That's right! I auditioned for the film not knowing at the time it was going to be a Lifetime movie. By the time we started filming, I learned the goal was for it to land there and I thought the script fit the bill. What drew me to the film was the duality of the character. He's a romantic leading man in some scenes, and a devilish psychopath in others. I thought it was a great role, a role where I felt I would have the opportunity to flex some different colors.

Trevor Wells: Cool! And you were right, the movie's plot DEFINITELY fits Lifetime like a glove. I was a bit worried because the plot was so familiar (woman finds out her seemingly perfect romantic partner is actually harboring dark secrets) that it would end up TOO familiar and generic, but those worries were expunged when I watched.

Michael DeVorzon: Glad to hear that! And yes, I thought the movie had some nice twists and turns and unfolded nicely.

Trevor Wells: I agree! And you'll be able to read the rest of my thoughts on Her Deadly Groom once I get my review up. In the meantime, I'm wondering: what was your favorite moment filming the project?

Michael DeVorzon: During filming, there were several scenes that were very memorable, but I think the surprise run in with George (Eric Roberts) was my favorite. There was a lot going on dynamic-wise and some action, too!

Trevor Wells: I can imagine, as I'm a big fan of Eric Roberts myself. Was Vincent Black the first villain you've ever played?

Michael DeVorzon: Not the first, but definitely the most deadly!

Trevor Wells: Excellent! I'm wondering if you'd watched Eric Roberts in the Stalked by My Doctor franchise (another Lifetime property), because your performance reminds me a lot of Roberts' evil Dr. Albert Beck. Namely, all the snarky remarks he makes during his more evil moments.

Michael DeVorzon: I haven't seen it, but I will watch. I think Eric is a very interesting actor to watch. To be compared is an honor! Maybe snarky is a strong suit of mine, haha.

Trevor Wells: Haha, maybe! So outside of Lifetime, what would be your overall favorite experience in your acting career (whether it be on or off camera)?

Michael DeVorzon: Other than this film, the other most memorable experience I've had is the action movie I did with DMX called Fast & Fierce: Death Race. It was a hell of a ride and a fun role to take on! It came out May 19th.

Trevor Wells: Awesome! I was actually going to ask you about that movie, because I also had my eye on it since The Asylum posted the trailer for it. It looks interesting, and after watching Her Deadly Groom, it'll be interesting to see you playing a HEROIC character!

Michael DeVorzon: Yes, it was great to play the HERO!

Trevor Wells: Nice to hear that! I'll be sure to check it out when I can. While I was looking through your IMDB, I also stumbled across an intriguing photo: one of you and a Mr. Sylvester Stallone. As you can imagine, I just HAD to ask what the story behind that is.

Michael DeVorzon: When I was 8 years old, Sylvester Stallone came to my family's house to see my Dad. He walked in the living room and I couldn't believe ROCKY was standing there! He's been a family friend for years and that pic was when we ran into him at an event. We also are both born on the 6th of July!

Trevor Wells: WOW! That is amazing! Think you two will ever be in a movie together?

Michael DeVorzon: Who knows... anything is possible! That would be a dream come true!

Trevor Wells: I'd imagine so. You've already lived what was probably plenty of guys' boyhood dream haha. So one last question: What advice can you give to other pursuing acting or other film work as a career?

Michael DeVorzon: Study the masters, use your instincts, grow as a human being and never give up!

Trevor Wells: Terrific advice, both for a movie career and (as I imagine) any profession. I thank you for your time, Michael, and I look forward to seeing what you do next. Keep up the great work!

Michael DeVorzon: Thanks, Trevor!

Actors
1

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.