Interview logo

Interview With a Lifetime Star: Langi Tuifua

For my first interview of 2021, I'll be talking with a man who made his feature film debut this past December: The Christmas Edition's Langi Tuifua!

By Trevor WellsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Trevor Wells: Thank you for the interview opportunity, Langi! Always nice to talk to a new face on the Lifetime circuit. Let's start with the basics: when and how did you become interested in acting? I was surprised to learn while writing my review of The Christmas Edition that you were previously a footballer.

Langi Tuifua: Back in elementary, I played Watson in a musical about Sherlock Holmes. That was my first experience with acting, but I was never allowed to do anything else with it because I was too focused on playing football and trying to get a college football scholarship. When I played for BYU, we as a team would watch a movie the night before every game, and I would see actors like Jason Momoa and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson acting in the movies, and I would just dream to be in movies like them. After I retired from football due to my neck injury, I decided to switch my major to acting and try to chase those dreams.

Trevor Wells: I was sorry to read about your injury, but I'm glad you already had in mind another dream to chase after. What would you say is your favorite memory from your time on the field?

Langi Tuifua: My favorite memory was in my freshman year when I was able to play against the University of Hawai’i, where I made an open field tackle in front of my entire extended family. Nothing makes me happier than being able to perform in front of the ones that I love.

Trevor Wells: Beautiful memory, for sure. What would you say was the most valuable lesson you learned from your athletic career? Any lessons you might be able to carry with you into acting?

Langi Tuifua: The most valuable lessons that I gained from football are discipline and hard work. Acting is such a similar business where you NEED to respect other people's time and efforts, and I feel that all the times waking up at 5:00 A.M. and/or doing 600 up-downs in the snow were definitely some things that helped me prepare for the mindset of acting.

Trevor Wells: Interesting! Discipline and hard work are definitely skills you could carry into any profession outside of athletics. I see that your first-ever role was in a short film entitled Huff. What led you to the project and how was that first acting experience?

Langi Tuifua: I found a casting call on Facebook for Huff and decided to audition for it. I had already auditioned for 6 or 7 other short films by this time, so being able to get cast in my first short film was such a huge excitement for me. I loved working with every single person on that set. We all just got together, showcased our abilities and made some good art.

Trevor Wells: Glad to hear your first step into the acting world was a pleasant one. But now for the heart of the matter: your first Lifetime movie. What's the story behind you becoming a part of The Christmas Edition and how was your first foray into the world of Lifetime?

Langi Tuifua: One of the casting directors that I knew, Alisa Angsley, recommended me to Jennifer Buster--the casting director for The Christmas Edition, who then got me an audition to be in the film. When I found out I had gotten the part, I was jumping around my room with excitement because my dreams of being an actor were slowly becoming reality. Stepping onto set was an experience that I will never forget. I was so nervous because this was my first time being on a full-length film set, so of course I am going to be nervous, but I was able to get a hold of myself and put on a good show!

Trevor Wells: I can agree that you certainly did! You definitely captured Teddy's wholesome lovability. Speaking of the crew behind The Christmas Edition, Peter Sullivan and company (as my regular readers know) are fairly prolific names in the Lifetime circle. What was it like working under them?

Langi Tuifua: Peter Sullivan and his crew were amazing. I had no experience working with a director of Peter’s caliber before, but he was super caring and understanding of my status. He gave me great direction of what he wanted to see in my scenes and I feel like we all worked well together as a team.

Trevor Wells: Awesome to hear! Having spoken with Peter myself on occasion, I can definitely agree that he's a good one. Now there's one co-star of yours I wanted to ask about specifically: Emily Alabi. It's ironic that your characters are husband and wife, as I found that the two of you have a few things in common. The Christmas Edition was your joint first full-length film/Lifetime movie, and both of you were previously known for something outside of acting: football for you and America's Got Talent for Emily. I was wondering if that was something you noticed too and what it was like working with a co-star with such a similar background?

Langi Tuifua: I loved working with Emily! She was an amazing person and such a talented actress. She and Rick Macy taught me so much on set. I was just so blessed to be in their presence learning from people who have already done so much in the entertainment industry. But I definitely do believe that mine and Emily’s physical backgrounds with dance and football allowed us to have great chemistry on camera.

Trevor Wells: Love to hear that! I really enjoyed both of your performances. So overall, what would you say is your favorite acting moment thus far--from The Christmas Edition or elsewhere?

Langi Tuifua: My favorite acting moment in The Christmas Edition were my scenes with Carly Hughes and Rob Mayes. The scenes I had with them were my biggest scenes, and being able to share the screen with them was a blessing to me.

Trevor Wells: Awesome! I can see why, both Hughes and Mayes gave excellent performances as well. Now I'm curious: looking back at my review of The Christmas Edition, was there anything in there you'd like to comment on?

Langi Tuifua: It was a fun review to read, and I personally think all Lifetime movies should now be scored out of cream puffs just like you scored it ;)

Trevor Wells: Hahaha thank you! That's a little thing I do with my reviews, scoring movies on a 1 to 10 scale of objects seen or mentioned during that specific movie. Given it was a Christmas movie and Teddy was established as a gingerbread fanatic, it only made sense to score The Christmas Edition in one of his culinary creations. So looking forward, what are your plans for 2021? Can me and my readers expect to see you on Lifetime again?

Langi Tuifua: If the producers/directors/casting directors of Lifetime ever want to see their favorite 6’3 Polynesian again, I’m one call away and would love to do another Lifetime movie any day ;)

Trevor Wells: DEFINITELY love hearing that! I can't imagine why you wouldn't be invited back for more Lifetime ventures. To wrap up this interview, what advice do you have for my readers, speaking as either an athlete or a fledgling actor?

Langi Tuifua: Continue to work hard in the things that you aspire to be, and continue to dream big.

Trevor Wells: Awesome advice that I can see has paid off for your journey from athlete to actor! Thank you again, Langi, for taking the time to speak with me and I look forward to seeing what the future holds for you :)

Actors
Like

About the Creator

Trevor Wells

Aspiring writer and film lover: Lifetime, Hallmark, indie, and anything else that strikes my interest. He/him.

Link to Facebook

Twitter: @TrevorWells98

Instagram: @trevorwells_16

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.