Interview logo

Blitz Interview

Not My Shoes

By Colt HendersonPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
4

Being hired as a war correspondent I assumed I would be on, or at least close, to the front lines. Instead, I have been shipped to Britain to interview a writer. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love Kyra Chambers' writing, but I hoped to be with the soldiers. I would have been if I didn't have epilepsy. So, I turned to journalism.

My first day here I was welcomed by an air assault. Germans are relentless. I was rushed to a bomb shelter immediately after landing at Croydon, in Surrey, England. The bombing continued into the early hours of the morning, but even after it ended the military waited until daybreak to let us out. After we were released, I walked further south to Cornwall. The lack of sleep was starting to creep up on me.

The walk passed by beautiful scenery that was mixed with the horrific signs of the war. Buildings laid in rubble and trees were splintered. I made a note to return once the war was over. I arrived in the town of Roche a little past noon and started looking for the address I had for Kyra. When I found the house, it looked like it had imploded. I worried my first interview had ended before I even got to town.

An elderly woman pointed me to the cafe that Kyra was at, enjoying a cup of coffee. When I walked in the pleasant piano music paused, the room looked at me and then everything went back to normal. From the dark corner came a whistle and a flip of a wrist. Assuming this was Kyra, I had never seen her before, so I walked to the table.

"I take it you are the reporter from the states?" She asked, with a slight accent, as I stood there.

"What makes you think that?" I replied.

"Well, first of all, I usually see Americans wearing ball caps. Second, you have a camera hanging from your neck. And third, you have a notebook and pencil dangling from your bag," The perceptive woman listed, "And lastly, your bag has the American flag on it. So, a reporter from the states."

"Right." I nervously agreed as I rubbed the back of my neck.

"Sit and have a cup, on me." The polite woman said with a hand gesture for me to sit down.

"This is my first interview, so why don't we start with some easy questions," I declared as I grabbed my pencil and notebook, "Where are you originally from?"

"Well, I grew up in Taunton, in Somerset. It is about 120 miles from here." She said as she poured me a cup.

"I saw the address you gave the paper." I stated. "Were you in it, and what are you going to do for shelter?"

"No, I wasn't inside. I, like everyone else around here, was in the air raid shelter down the street." Kyra replied in her pleasant tone, "And I am staying with family. Right now, I am only concerned for my children."

"Do you care to elaborate on that?" I asked while jotting down what she said.

"Well, both of my children are what is called neurodivergent. These constant bombings are really stressful for them. Thankfully, we got them in a new kind club, a pony club," Kyra said, "It is a club for special educational needs and disability or SEND for short."

"Well, I hope that works out for your children." I exclaimed, "Do you like living here? When there are no bombs being dropped on you!"

"The weather is a bit bleak. It usually rains, but we do get some rays of sun," Kyra started, "If we get snow, we celebrate."

We sat in silence as I caught up with writing down what she said. Kyra stirred her new cup of coffee and stared at me. After the few minutes it took to jot down my notes I, too, stirred my coffee. Then we began again.

"How about we get the fluff out of the way? Then we can get to your writing." I asked as I went to the page in my notebook that had my questions for her.

"That is fine."

"Do you have a favorite holiday?" I asked.

"That is easy." Kyra began, "Any holiday I got to spend with my family, in Cornwall. It was a simpler time."

"That's nice," I replied, "What about book? Do you have a favorite book, or author?"

"Oh, that is a hard one," Kyra said before taking a drink from her cup, "I would have to say … if I have to choose one, it would probably be Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey. I felt a kinship with Lessa and always longed for the bond described between rider and dragon."

"I have not heard of that," I said as I scribbled the name of the book on a separate page, "I will have to look into it. Now, do you have a food that you could eat for the rest of your life?"

"That is a new one," Kyra laughed in her soft voice, "I would have to say cinnamon buns. They are delicious."

"I agree!"

"They have great ones here. Let me order a few," She smiled as she waved to the waitress.

"That isn't necessary. After some of the things I saw during my walk here I might never eat again." I explained as she waved the waitress off. "What about your biggest dream? Do you want to go to space? Own a business?"

"I find it hard to picture the future," She began, "I guess my biggest dream would be advocating for autistic people. Since both of my children are neurodivergent, I want to make this world a better place for them. I genuinely want to help people."

"That is a noble goal," I responded, "Is that something you are also passionate about?"

"Is this a separate question?"

"Yes, it is." I answered.

"Well then, I would have to say yes," Kyra replied, "Supporting autistic people so they can live genuine lives, supporting neurodivergent children in schools that need help, instead of trying to change their behavior is a passion of mine. I want to share the autistic experience in order to help folks relate more to autistic and neurodivergent people."

"That is a great thing to be passionate about," I said, even though I wasn't sure of what she was saying, "My next question is the first one actually about writing. And it is an easy one. Handwritten or a typewriter?"

"My computer for the vast majority of things. However, being ADHD, I have loads of randomly scribbled notes on envelopes," Kyra described her process, which I didn't fully understand, "I have to put them into order, every now and then. I don't like using my phone that much, but if I have to, I will."

"Um … you … never mind," I decided against asking what she meant, but thought 'writers' to myself, "Now, why don't we go to clichés and genres. Do you have a favorite?"

"The worst cliché, in my opinion, would be the 'damsel in distress'. My favourite cliché is when a person finds their inner power despite adversity. It makes for a good, and usually, heartwarming story," She explained without hesitation, "As for genres, I love Sci Fi and Fantasy, and I dislike Westerns."

"Sci Fi?" I asked, getting confused with what must be writer terminology.

"Oh, it just means science fiction."

"That makes sense," I said as I finished writing what she said down, "When and why did you start writing?"

"I only, really, started writing again a year ago. An experience made me emotional, to the extent I wrote about it. It was about how I felt about how autism is currently portrayed. I also wrote how I felt things needed to change," She replied, using more writer terms. "I sent it off to a small magazine, on a whim, and it's surprising success led me to start writing again."

"That is amazing. I bet that boosted your confidence!" I said, still scribbling her answers down, "What kind of struggles do you have in writing?"

"I find it hard to write consistently. I am PDA," She stated and then elaborated when she saw my confusion, "It is a subtype of the autism spectrum disorder. And because of this I struggle to write on a schedule. I need to feel it to write it. And finding time is hard, too. I look after my family, so any writing is usually done around 2 am when I can't sleep."

"That must be hard. Plus, you now have to deal with the air raids," I commented, "Well, that is all of the questions I have for you. Is there anything you would like me to include?

"I would like you to mention my social media. It has been a blessing. I have many online friends," It seemed like she was just making stuff up at this point, I thought, "And I participate, and help run, many Facebook support groups on autism and PDA. I've met some of my best friends online, and even more through vocal groups, even though I am pretty new. And can you add pictures? If so, I would like to include the cats that own me; Nazgul, River Tam, Loki and Mist. Plus, wild hedgehogs that help protect my garden. I named one Barry.

"Facebook?" I asked.

"Oh, right. My Facebook name is Kyra Chambers, obviously," She said with a laugh, "And if you could say something about my writing, I would appreciate that."

"Right, I am sorry. I completely forgot to ask about your stories and poems." I said, embarrassed, "I promise I have read your work. I liked 'Hush Now', 'An Ode to Seaglass' and my favorite is 'Stolen Moments'!

Naz is the oldest and used to be semi feral. But we rescued him as a kitten.

River is from a barn cat litter.

Loki was a rescue and loves Christmas Trees.

And Mist is our latest addition, she's about 5 months old and driving me up the wall.

Authors
4

About the Creator

Colt Henderson

I usually write horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.