Interview logo

An Interview with Hakima TANTRIKA on Medium

She is an influential writer, holistic health educator, and coach specializing in traditional tantra, intimacy, and relationships.

By Dr Mehmet YildizPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Image courtesy of Hakima T A N T R I K A

Dear Reader,

One of my writing goals is to introduce influential writers to my readers by conducting interviews with them. I have interviewed many writers since 2019. Readers might attain insights and inspiration from each interview reflecting these leaders' tacit knowledge and empowering experience.

In this post, I introduce Hakima T A N T R I K A, a holistic health advocate and practitioner touching the body, mind, and spirit in her unique practice. She plays a catalytic role and supports those who desire to transform their health and well-being naturally.

Hakima is at the service of love and human evolution as a tantra teacher, intimacy and relationship coach, writer, and educator.

Living in several countries, Hakima is multilingual. She can fluently speak and write French, English, Japanese, and Spanish. Exposing herself to multiple cultures enriched her knowledge and experience by working as a diplomat, business developer, and investment banker.

For instance, she spent many years in Japan, feeling frustrated and alone. During that time, she had grown disconnected from her emotions and needs.

However, by taking personal responsibility and accountability for her life, she reconnected with her feelings and needs and shredded a lot of emotional layers, which helped her to find her true nature.

For example, from a practical point of view, Hakima removed shame, guilt, and fear, allowing her to reconnect with her body slowly. Her desires extended beyond what she expected, integrating her body, mind, and spirit. It was like a rebirth for her.

Please enjoy this short interview and explore Hakima's exciting journey.

Tell us a bit about your background, Hakima.

Since a very young age, I've always been very sensitive.

I was sensitive to the invisible world but also to the feelings and needs of people around me. I couldn't relate to the material things of this world.

Only two things were making my heart vibrate and expand: acquiring knowledge about human relationships and the spiritual world and traveling.

When I was 26, I left France to travel the world.

What was supposed to be six months spent abroad turned into twelve years of expatriation and travels.

I first worked as a diplomat and then as a business developer and an investment banker. But I couldn't resonate with a world driven by power and money. Every day I felt miserable.

One day, I took Ayahuasca, and I asked the plant medicine for help.

As a result, It took away all my fear of the unknown. I quit my job the next day and decided to follow my calling.

Since 2018, I have chosen to be at the service of love and human evolution as a tantra teacher, an intimacy and relationship coach, and a writer and educator.

Without judgment, I bring awareness to ego-centered behaviors and help men and women have thriving relationships and fulfilling intimacy.

Please introduce us to your practice and services.

At the moment, I'm hosting one-on-one tantra retreats in Mexico and Brazil. These are perfect for people who are busy most of the year but want to combine wellness holidays with healing work.

It's very convenient for executives or couples based in the United States who are only a few hours away and want to work with me in person.

Outside of that, anybody can benefit from my work online as I offer tantra initiations and intimacy & relationship coaching.

Very often, people don't really know what tantra is, and I can pitch you in one sentence:

Tantra is a series of tools, including yoga, meditation, and breathwork, that allow you to bring consciousness to your daily behaviors and heal the pain attached to them.

As for coaching, it has the same goal, but it is mainly focused on verbal exchange. I'm proud to have accumulated several certifications, from the Gottman Institute to the Center for Nonviolent Communication, and practical coaching experience.

My approach is soft but right on point. Thanks to my sensitivity, I know what I'm talking about.

How about your hobbies?

Contemporary dance is my everything!

When I dance, I forget everything. I often include dance movement therapy in my work because the body always knows better.

I also love to read non-fiction books and travel around the world.

What are three books affecting your Life?

The first book that has made a meaningful impact on my life is the Spirits' Book by Allan Kardec. It has shaped my life and understanding of the invisible world and the reasons for our existence.

Then, there is The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale. It invites me to take a leap of faith and dive into the unknown when I first quit the corporate world.

Last but not least, I must admit that I have memorized some chapters of Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hills to manifest my reality.

Very often, I like at the mirror and tell myself and repeat:

"I know that I have the ability to achieve the object of my Definite Purpose in life. Therefore, I demand of myself persistent, continuous action toward its attainment. I here and now promise to render such action."

Why did you join Medium?

I joined Medium when I was still an investment banker. During office hours, when I was bored, I would scroll down the feed.

Then I offered my manager to start a column on Medium about M&A. It was my first experience writing in English, a foreign language to me and publicly. I quite enjoyed the challenge.

It was only during the pandemic in 2020, well after I had quit my corporate job and followed my calling, that I started writing articles on Medium related to my new profession.

Surprisingly, I immediately got recognition, and I grew my readership.

I'm grateful for Medium as it helped me kick off my business as a coach and content writer focused on sexual health and education.

What are your core values as a writer?

They are very clear.

I always ask myself how I can make the world a better place through my writing.

So before I write a story, I always ask myself if it is a story that:

1 - Inspires

2 - Support people feeling less lonely

3 - Gives hope

4 - Educates

5 - Is honest, real, and authentic

6 - Healthy and benevolent

Of course, I've been not careful enough sometimes and too provocative.

But usually, I don't write a story if it doesn't check all the boxes above.

How do you connect with your readers?

I try my best to answer all comments with love and compassion, even the harsh ones! It's because I believe everybody is entitled to their opinion, and I'm appreciative of the time they took to share it with me.

I also engage with my readers through my newsletter, inviting anybody to write back and connect.

This way, I have created meaningful friendships with a couple of people. You can sign up for my newsletter here.

Why did you join ILLUMINATION, and how did you find it so far?

I was looking for a publication that would allow me to be myself and not try to change me.

Some publications have rejected me, advising me to "find my voice first."

But here is the thing: I have many voices such as I have many feelings. My feelings shape my voice, and I'm sure other writers can relate to that.

Illumination offered me the opportunity to share my voices (plural) and accepted me the way I was without feeling that I wasn't enough.

Thank you for reading this interview.

Connections

As a writer, blogger, content developer, and reader, you might join Medium, Vocal Media, NewsBreak, Medium Writing Superstars, Writers League, Writing Paychecks, WordPress, and Thinkers360 with my referral links.

You might join my publications on Medium as a writer by sending a request via this link. 21K+ writers contribute to my publications. You might find more information about ILLLUMINATION Integrated Publications on Medium and my professional background. I host my health and well-being stories on EUPHORIA and share my blogs posts on DigitalMehmet.

You may join Medium with my referral link if you enjoy unlimited reading. I also encourage writers to join Vocal+ to reap benefits.

FilmmakersThought LeadersPodcastPhotographersMusiciansHumanityHeroesDocumentaryCreatorsCelebritiesAuthors

About the Creator

Dr Mehmet Yildiz

I'm a writer and published author with four decades of content development experience in business, technology, leadership, and health. I work as a postdoctoral researcher and consultant. My background is at https://digitalmehmet.com.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dr Mehmet YildizWritten by Dr Mehmet Yildiz

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.