Humor logo

Out of the Mouths of Babes

Artwork by Granddaughters Brooklyn & Madi

By Gigi GibsonPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
4
Sculpting artwork by Brooklyn, at 6 years-old

May 2, 2008

Brooklyn wanted to play a game of Cranium with me. She especially enjoyed the sculpting part of the game, so sometimes we just did the sculpting only. She picked a card and began making the item described on it. It was my job to guess what the item was based on her sculpture. When she was finished, she asked me what I thought it was. I just looked at it in disbelief and said, "I have no idea what that is."

Brooklyn said, "It's crutches."

I asked, "Crutches?"

"Yeah, you know those things that go under your arms when you break your leg?" she said, as she stood them up.

I said, "Oh... so THAT'S what it is!"

***

Wed. Aug. 18, 2010

Last week Brooklyn went on a vacation up north with Nanny and Grandad. She lost her goggles for swimming and bought some new ones while she was away. When she got home, she put them on to show her mom and sister. Neither of them thought the goggles looked nice, but weren't saying so. When Brooklyn asked what they thought of them, Madi said, "No offense, but you look like a truck ran over your face."

Brooklyn said, "Too late -- offense already taken."

***

Fri. Dec. 3, 2010

Harry went with Meme and Ang to Ottawa today to get Meme's flight coupons cashed in for the trip she'll be taking next month. After school, Brooklyn and Madi came over to visit. Brooklyn asked Harry, "Why did you go to Ottawa with Mommy and Meme?"

Harry asked, "Why not?"

Brooklyn repeated, "Why did you go to Ottawa with Mommy and Meme?"

Harry asked, "Why not? Why couldn't I go?"

Brooklyn asked a third time, then Madi chimed in, "Why did you WANT to go with two women?"

Harry said, "That's a good point."

Then Madi added, "One bossy, and one old."

***

Brooklyn and Madi's urgent plea

Dec. 15, 2010

Remarkably, even though Brooklyn and Madi's pleas were heartfelt and persuasive, Papa was able to resist their manipulative attempts, and they, unfortunately, did not win this one.

***

Madi's Bath Creation 2012

Apr. 22, 2012

Madi had a bath at my house last night and I hadn't checked the tub afterward. This morning I got in the shower and reached for my shampoo and noticed that all the tub toys on the rack had their bums facing outwards. It made me laugh, and I later asked Madi why she had lined them up like that.

She said, "I was laying in the tub and their eyes were all looking at me, and it creeped me, out so I turned them all around backwards!"

***

Sunday, April 1, 2012

Madi stayed overnight tonight. She took a bath and afterward, when I brushed my teeth I put olive oil on my face.

Madi said, "Oh, can I have some of that?"

I said, "Sure."

Madi put some on her hands and rubbed it on her face and hands and said, "I LOVE your spaghetti. It's the best!" (I always put olive oil on my cooked pasta).

When she got into the tub, she wanted to use my bath brush. I told her that I had a new one just for her. It was one Meme bought and didn't like because it was too soft. Madi was so excited to have it. She put the soap on it and lathered it and said, "This is so nice... just right to get into all your nooks and crannies... only I don't have too many crannies. You don't get crannies until you're a Granny!"

***

For those of you who wished that you had written down those stories when your kids were young... it's not too late if you have grandchildren, or family and friends with kids. I made my granddaughters each a book with their stories and photos in them, and gave it to them on their wedding days. I still laugh and cry when I open their books today. You can't turn back the hands of time, but you can start out new and cherish every day.

Family
4

About the Creator

Gigi Gibson

Gigi Gibson is a writer and poet. She loves little rescue dogs, interior decorating, and chocolate. “To evoke an emotional response in my readers… that would be the most satisfying thing that I could accomplish with my writing.”

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This is such a great idea and I'm going to do it as well! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Gammy-Gigi ~ Write "For The Kids Someday" ~ Now that Brooklyn is climbing out of her Teens - These 'Schticks' may have a different meaning - just saying - - Miss You - Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.