Humor logo

Losing It

Just a Hair

By Douglas Taylor Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
1

“Losing It”

Logline: Taylor, a 30 year old alcoholic with severe body dysmorphia and an insanely beautiful head of hair, is recently sober. After a session with his therapist, who his girlfriend forced him to see, he is encouraged to replace his old addiction with a new “healthy” one. Face to face with himself in the mirror, no vices, Taylor decides to start taking every hair loss medication on the market; beginning his new addiction.

_______________________________________________

Scene 1

Taylor’s dog, Winston, is barking at the wall. Taylor and his girlfriend, Sonya, are asleep in bed.

Taylor: Please Winston, please stop barking…

Sonya: Let him outside!

Taylor: It's your turn!!

Sonya: He’s your dog!!!!

Taylor: Supposed to be our dog…

Taylor gets up, attempts to let Winston outside but Winston refuses and continues barking. Taylor heads to the bathroom. Locks the door and begins counting the hair in his brush.

Taylor: 1,2,3,4…

Sonya gets up and knocks on the door.

Sonya: Hey babe, I gotta pee, whatcha doin in there?

Taylor: Gimme a sec, babe, I’m counting my… my… blessings!! I love you! I love our home. I love life! I’m feeling kind of low, just trying to boost myself back up. Positive affirmations!!!

Sonya: Okay, well I love you too but I need to pee. Whatever's going on in there , just remember Saturn moves into Pisces today, everyones going through it right now.

Taylor: Really helpful, thank you. Be out in a minute! 5,6,7…

The scene fades into a flashback to Taylor at 15 years old, coming home from school to find his mother crying.

Young Taylor: Mom, what's wrong? Are you okay?

Taylor’s mom begins stroking his hair.

Mom: It's just so beautiful. So curly and lucious.

Young Taylor: What are you talking about?

Mom: Just so thick and full.

Young Taylor: Mom, bro, what are you going on about?

Mom: It's just, you're gonna be 16 next month and my father, your grandfather, started losing his hair when he was 16. By 21 he was fully bald!!

15 year old Taylor runs to the mirror and looks at his hair.

Taylor : OH MY GOD!

The flash back ends and we resume with 30 year old Taylor counting the hairs in his brush.

Taylor: 22, 23, 24. Oh my god, oh my god. 24 hairs that's not good. It was only 15 yesterday.

Sonya: Yo!! This is getting ridiculous.

Taylor: Can you pee outside babe!?

Sonya: Are you forreal right now?!

Taylor takes a seat on the toilet with his phone and begins looking into hair loss medications. He finds out that the most successful ones require a prescription. But deep into a reddit conversation, Taylor finds a black market website that has it all. Taylor leaves the bathroom with a grin.

Sonya: What? You’re smiling ? You’re really starting to lose it.

Taylor’s smile drops, his hand flies to his hairline.

Taylor: Am I?!

Scene 2

Taylor is late for his serving job and his car won’t start. With no other option he bikes to work. The restaurant is busy, people are hungry, and his manager is useless.

Charlie (restaurant manager): You're late dude. There's a new four top in your section. I already took their drink order.

Taylor: Thanks. Yeah. Sorry, my car.

Charlie: Yeah, I know. Your car. Having a project car as your daily driver is not the best idea. Figure it out. Also, can you brush your hair before you come to work? You look like Howard Stern's homeless brother.

Taylor: Ummm I didn't know Howard Stern had a brother.

Charlie: Just take the new table.

Taylor walks to table 404, and greets 4 older ladies drinking margaritas with lots of jewelry on.

Taylor : Hello ladies. How are we doing today? I see you've already got some drinks, would you like something else to start off with? Chips and salsa? Maybe some guacamole?

Lady 1: Can I speak with your manager please?

Lady 2: Yes, we would like to speak to the manager.

Taylor: Sure. Can I ask what for?

Lady 3: It's these drinks.

Taylor walks back to the bar where Charlie is.

Taylor: Hey Charlie, table 404 is asking for the manager, something about their drinks, I don't know, they look rich.

Charlie: I’m busy, I don't want to fucking deal with that. Just tell them you're the manager or something. Bring them some chips and guac on the house. Figure it out.

Taylor walks back to the table with chips and guacamole mumbling to himself.

Taylor: Figure it out, figure it out. You figure it out...

hello again ladies, so actually…

I am the manager.

Lady 4: Well of course you are! We just wanted to say how much we loved these margaritas, you really do have world famous margaritas. Oh, is that chips and guacamole? You read our minds.

Taylor: Yes it is, I assumed perhaps we had an issue and I thought no apology like free chips and guac. I’m glad you’re enjoying your drinks. I'm gonna run some errands and I'll be back in a minute to take your order.

Taylor doesn't get far before he is stopped by another table.

Random man: Yo dude has anyone ever told you, you look like Howard stern?

Table 404 begins calling Taylor back to their table.

Lady 1: Sir! Sir?

Taylor: Yes ladies?

Lady 4: We really appreciate the guacamole, but we just found a hair in it.

Lady 2: See ?

She pulls the long curly hair from the dish.

Taylor: 25?

ComedyWriting
1

About the Creator

Douglas Taylor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.