Humans logo

Young Rock and Mental Health

How Dwayne Johnsons' Story Effects Mental Health

By Mae McCreeryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
not my image

CAN YOU SMEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLL WHAT THE ROCK IS --- trying to educate the general population about because it is really important?

While the second season is currently being posted on Hulu, they've already removed Season one which is bogus because its a masterpiece.

Dwayne Johnson. The Rock. Here is a man that we all know and most of us love, and personally I would vote for him to be my President.

You know how sometimes you see a celebrity in an interview or a movie and think to yourself "...I bet they're an asshole in real life."? I've never thought that about him.

My family were very big wrestling fans in late nineties, early 2000s. I spent a lot of my younger years watching WrestleMania and WWE and rooting for Roddy Piper or Sting or yes, even Hulk Hogan. I remember hating the Rock as he insulted fans when he joined the Nation of Domination, but at the same time absolutely loving it. I thought he was gorgeous as well. Come on, look at him! He's a good looking man.

All that aside, the show is the story of how he got to where he is in the future, i.e. fake running for President.

I started to watch this show primarily for the nostalgia, watching him wrestle and begin acting and see his family along the way with freaking Rocky Johnson? My dad was such a huge fan of Rocky Johnson and The Iron Sheik.

What I didn't expect on this show was to be punched in the gut with emotions. In a good way. In the second season, he really gives you the Peoples Elbow of mental health.

Dwayne Johnson is arguably one of the most successful people in America, he literally fought his way from only having $7 in his pocket to earning close to a billion dollars in film contribution. He was in a Disney movie, and singing very well. Not everyone can join that club and yes I am talking about Les Mes and Russell Crowe; no I don't think it's a Disney produced or distributed movie but there's a successful actor who can't sing.

You can't be successful without failing first, that's just how it works. And throughout the seasons of Young Rock, Dwayne Johnson does NOT shy away from his failures.

He spent years and his entire college career on Football and, shockingly, it didn't work out. Right before his first Freshman year Football Game, he got injured and had to sit out the whole season. And he does not take it well. As he narrates, he says that now he realizes he had depression, and seeing his character struggle with school and football and with life in general, it really hits home.

He continues to tell stories about how hard it was to work for years and spending your blood, sweat, and tears into something that you would kill to get and still not get it. To work that hard and still not be good enough for it, it takes a toll.

Seriously, which of us can't relate to that?

Life is not just filled with disappointments, it's filled with frustrating circumstances.

Alone, Johnson absolutely dominated the football field, in High School he talks about how literally every college was breaking down his door to get him to join their team. But when he got to College, the team was filled with other players who were even better than him. Other players that went on to win multiple Championships and join the Football Hall of Fame, while he was overlooked over and over again.

I had a similar story, I won multiple awards in writing in High School and was a hotshot in my own way, but when I got to College, everyone else had better awards, better publications. It was a wake up call, and unfortunately, it didn't work out for me.

He openly talks about how it's important to be able to lean on people you trust, to get help when you need it, and sometimes you have to find a new dream for yourself.

I think being able to accept failure is more important now than ever and it's definitely the message the world needs now because a lot of people won't back down from an argument or opportunity until they get an answer they want. Whether it's haggling over a price, or accepting that the woman at the bar does not want to talk to you much less f*ck you. Accepting 'no' and moving on is what a lot of us still need to learn to do with the grace and dignity that Dwayne Johnson exhibits.

social media
1

About the Creator

Mae McCreery

I’m a 29 year old female that is going through a quarter life crisis. When my dream of Journalism was killed, I thought I was over writing forever. Turns out, I still have a lot to say.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.