Humans logo

You Had Me At Merlot

If you never ask you’ll never know

By Stephen Johansson Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
You Had Me At Merlot
Photo by Aleksandr Burzinskij on Unsplash

The coffee cup felt cold in my hand. The residue of powdered chocolate and frothed milk smirked at me.

Yet another no show. Modern dating has become so disposable, so soulless and so unpredictable. I didn’t look at moments like this as being ‘stood up’, more like a brush with ill fate. I glanced at Bonnie’s profile one more time before deleting our only means of communication. A guy can’t even get a gal’s number these days.

My tinge of regret was soon forgotten. It was twelve noon. I surveyed the collaboration of strangers that shared my love for epic views and beautiful surroundings.

The River View cafe was notorious for being a first date venue. The proprietor had even created Date Cake, a soft sponge with two different flavours held together with a thick chocolate buttercream.

Mirror glass views across Lake Voltaire immediately made everything better. The midday sun reflected off it’s surface, providing a welcome layer of peace around my face. I closed my eyes. My head was awash with the rejection and banality of online liaisons.

A light shadow cooled my skin. My eyes opened. The dark silhouette of a woman was etched vividly in front of me.

“Hello, is this chair taken?”

Her willowy arm hovered, floated and pointed with impossible grace to the bench seat in front of me.

“Yes, I mean no, no please, take a seat.”

Hurriedly, I moved the mocking coffee cup and folded my newspaper. Why was I flustered?

Confidently, the woman sat down, talking happily, “it’s like the best seat in the house and well, if you never ask you never know.”

She was in her late 20s. She had long, wavy brown hair. My heart sped up as she talked. What on earth was going on?

She was not alone. Her companion was a sleek black and white dog. I had no idea what breed. The dog obediently settled by her feet. His head half-turned and nuzzled into his front paws to fully appreciate the warmth of the sun.

“You ok with dogs? Benji loves it here too. Will you watch him while I get a coffee?”

I’d still not spoken. My head had caught my heart’s tempo and was racing. She was so beautiful. Finally, I made eye contact. She gazed back and smiled.

“Sure,” I said. It was all I could manage.

Slipping off her light floral jacket she draped it over the empty seat, “can I get you a coffee?”

I felt sick in my throat. What was going on here? I definitely didn’t need anymore caffeine.

“Sure, I’ll have what you’re having,” I replied.

She disappeared into the busy cafe. Her hair bounced slowly against her muscular back. Her light blue jeans and white sneakers oozed everything that I never knew I loved.

A small boat cutting a soft v-shape in the still water passed effortlessly across my view. Opportunist seagulls hovered on the slow breeze following the subtle wake.

Benji was quickly and blissfully asleep. He was now lying on his side half in the shade of the huge cream parasol stretched tight above my head. His long legs were extended straight. He was oblivious to this impromptu coming together that surprisingly meant so much to me.

To my surprise, two glasses of red wine were put down in front of me. My new table buddy held a small black leather purse in her teeth. She dropped it onto the wooden table and held out her hand.

“Hi, I’m Justina, Justina Mason.”

I wiped my moist hand on my t-shirt.

“T.J. T.J. Johansson.”

“Great to meet you T.J. Beautiful day again, it’s like summer has arrived early.”

Justina motioned over her shoulder at the cafe. She told me they’d lost all pressure in the coffee machine and it would be thirty minutes before they could serve another. She recalled working at a coffee shop at college when the same thing had happened. I said nothing. Her words were hypnotic. I tried not to drift too far under her spell.

“So, I figured it’s never too early for a glass of Merlot, right? I mean, you can’t go wrong with a Merlot. It’s called Jetbird, it made me smile.”

We clinked glasses. I knew little about red wine and from memory didn’t enjoy it but the soft taste on my tongue lingered deliciously as it passed my throat.

Justina’s matter of fact manner and her ethereal aura made time stand still and the wine taste amazing. I’d not laughed so much for an age. Jetbird was softening my inhibitions.

My heart silently sped faster as I uttered the words, “Are you single Justina?”

She paused and finished her wine. Her contemplation made me doubt my bravery.

“That depends on if you’re asking me out or not?”

I smiled the biggest smile. My confidence began to flow.

“Then I guess you’re not single anymore. Same again?”

“Sure, that would be nice T.J. See if you can get some water for Benji.”

She reached down and gently rubbed Benji’s neck and stomach. He didn’t move. The coolness of the cafe brought me to my senses. I marvelled at how the universe works and how in one moment, everything can change. If only everything in life could be so simple.

love
Like

About the Creator

Stephen Johansson

Eternal entrepreneur. Positive thinker. Words in Huffington Post | Health and Fitness Travel | Men’s Fitness

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.