Humans logo

Woven love

Pattern of happiness

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

The majestic White house belonging to my grand parents loomed in the back ground as I took a morning walk around their ranch in Kentucky.

They had invited me to come for Thanksgiving giving so I eagerly took the first train I could get to spend precious time with them.

Grandmother had a quilting retreat to go to and she wanted me to go with her. Quilting was a big thing in Kentucky. It was the family connection between the past and present generation struggles and their accomplishments.

When my grand mother and I drove up to the hotel there was another car arrived the same time.

I couldn’t help but notice the good looking man who got out of the other car and patiently helped out an elderly lady.

My grandmother waved at her and told me the elderly lady was Sally Winford and declared the man helping her must be her grandson who just got stationed on the army base close by.

We walked over to them and my grandmother introduced me to Sally in return gladly presenting her grandson Jim to us.

He smiled politely at me with his bewitching hazel eyes and brown hair.

Please to meet you, I replied with a smile.

The pleasure is all mine, he declared.

I walked with the ladies to the entrance of the hotel and I looked back and saw him lean against his car watching us and even though hr had his sun shades on I could feel his intense glare.

It was just before dinner that his grandmother looked in her purse to discover she had left her medicine at home. So she called ber grand son to bring it to her and when he came she asked me to go get it from him

Maybe it was the way I felt when his hand accidently touched mine as he gave me her medicine or was it the way he looked at me but from that moment on I knew we were going to be together.

It was 12 or more of us working individually until last in the evening laughing talking and having sn enjoyable time where I over heard his grand mother mentioning that he was looking for a real nice girl to settle down and have a family. I saw my grand mother look at me to see if I had heard her. I looked away and got acted as though I didn’t hear anything.

To my surprise on Thanksgiving Jim and his grandmother came for dinner. I had helped her cook the the traditional dinner of turkey with all the side dishes and by the way everyone was eating we had done a good job.

Then I looked out the window and saw the rain pouring down and even splashing against the windows. Somehow it made the atmosphere even more comfortable.

Grand dad put more wood on the fire in the stone fireplace and went in the library with his brandy snd coffee.

Jim and I sat by the fireplace on the sofa. The dim lighting from the lamps with the occasional flare up of the fire from the wind coming down the chimney and the sound of the rain on the roof and with the laughter of our grand mother coming from the kitchen made it natural when his hand covered mine.

A magical incredible feeling come over me and when I looked into his piercing eyes I knew he felt it also.

- [ ]

- [ ] I decided to stay longer when we went to the quilting museum thanks go my grandmother’s connection I as offered a job there which I accepted.

- [ ] I was falling for Jim and I didn’t want to ever be without him in my life.

- [ ] When he was off duty we would go out or most of the time we would just stay home at my grad mother’s enjoying each other.

It was not until the Army’s Christmas Ball with me dressed in a gorgeous red gown and Jim in his army uniform did I realized how deeply in love I was with him and when he got down on his knees in front of everyone and asked me to marry him, my heart overflowed with tremendous joy as I confirmed my yes with a long passionate kiss.

The wedding was held in the quilting museum with the reception in the back court yard. There were quilts covering the dinning tables and we even had a guilted wedding cake! On our table was the wedding patterned one that both out grandmothers had work together on to give to us for a wedding present

We drove away in a Chevrolet classic of 1955 decked out with flowers and the sign Just married on the back to our home on the army base.

Holding hands while waving to our many néw friends leaving the reception I felt somehow the pattern of my life was complete just like the lovely quilts hanging on the barn as we drove by.

dating
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.