Humans logo

Love Happens

Sudden fate

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

I drove my jeep slowly over the gravel road up a slight incline with bright oranges and ruddy red autumn trees. The cabin could be seen in the distance nested among lovely yellow and rust foliage. I could see the welcoming sight of the green rocking chairs on the porch

Ah! I gasped ,

My time - my time to relax and recharge. I had a couple of days to indulge in me before the family got here for Thanksgiving .

I went inside and started a fire in the fireplace , made myself a cup of tea grabbed a blanket and cuddled

on the sofa.

The next day I rode down to the only grocery store I the small hillside town.

Standing in line I saw the cashier who was extremely good-looking.

When he was ringing up my items he asked was I new in town. I told him just visiting staying.

He flashed a bright smile and my heart skipped a few beats.

Later that afternoon a knock came at the door it was the cashier I had left one of the bags in the shopping cart.

He brought the bag inside and I offered him some of my pumpkin pie.

He said he enjoyed helping his uncle who owned the store and decided to move from the city for the quiet life.

We just naturally enjoyed talking to each other.

I told him I was a writer and had a few books published

.Before we knew it , it was dark so I asked him to stay over for dinner.

I made lasagna garlic bread and salad. I lit a orange scented candle and we ate and had an wonderful time talking about how we grew up.

My cell phone ring and it was my dad.

I told him about my company and found out that he was a good friend of his dad and was glad he didn’t have to worry about me being alone .

When I told him he remembered my dad from when he was growing up.

Then suddenly we heard the wind howling as it went around the corners of the cabin.

Gee. I said it is really getting windy outside.

I could see though the window by the light from the lamp pole outside the leaves flying and the trees bending.from the strong gale force winds.

Then the rain started and it could be heard on the roof . At first it was just patter then became harder and the sound tripled.

You can’t go out in that weather I suggested

Stay over -you can sleep on the sofa.

After all I thought my dad has sort of given him the ok!

With cups of hot chocolate Tom and I talked into the wee hours of-the morning then I found myself dozing off as he talked and he put his arms around me and let me lay my head on his shoulder.

It was so peaceful and for Some reason I felt safe and secure with him.

I woke up finding him cooking breakfast and served me coffee and pan cakes with butter snd maple syrup.

He asked me if I would like to go boating with him snd I said I would love to go. He politely thanked me for the enjoyable time snd left.

It was late afternoon when we left the dock it was a small motor boat with a small cabinet where he had snacks and wine waiting for me. Tom stopped the

boat when we got far enough out to sea. Then we watched the golden sun sink into orange clouds and disappearing beneath the lakes horizon.

He casually put his arms around me as we stood silently together watching the colorful clouds lingering until the dark night fell. I turn to say something to him and saw a different look in his eyes and then he kissed me softly and gently. I felt this overwhelming affection for him and welcomed his lips on mine.

When he walked me to my door, I invited him to our family Thanksgiving dinner and he kissed me again snd said he would be delighted to come.

Laying in bed that night I thought about how it felt like I had know him all my life. It has been over two years since my divorce and until now had no interested in dating but this feeling for him had awake. Something inside of me felt different and natural.

My empty spiritual hole had been filled and it felt good.

He came over for Thanks giving

dinner with my brother his wife two kids and my dad and mom. My dad was pleased to see him and they talked about his father and how Tom’s dad and him had met. It turned out they met in the Army and have became life long buddies

Tom fit right in and the kids loved him. They played baseball with him in the back yard before dinner.

My sister in law gave me thumps up pointing to him as he played with them,

When I was saying good night to him on the porch the full moon casting the only light he took me in his arms and this time passionately.

I want you to know that - just spending time with you had made me so happy.

I believe I’m falling in love with you or it may sound strange since we have barely met - I know-I love you.

I knew in my heart I was in love with him also and I kissed him. Then he put his arms round me and we kissed for a very long time .

I stayed on at the cabin and in the spring on a daffodil covered hill we exchanged marriage vows surrounded by our loving families.

I thought to myself as we danced on the patio of the cabin at the reception how

Sometimes out of nowhere - love just happens.

dating
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.