Humans logo

Words that oughta be capitalized...

Almost always.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
1
P/C: WOKANDAPIX, of USA; vía Pixabay. Show Love; please & thanks.

3MAY2023; 1152, WED– Maryland, USA

Peace, blessings, and Love; to my readers, supporters, as well as The Big Bossman Above. I'm not saying that all my posts from now will likely start out with some sort of praise to The Creator of the universe and all therein; but...

Seriously tho, I'm grateful for the breath in my lungs; in addition to The One who put it there. That actually factually and truly duly seems like a decent segue into the first item on my list:

1.) God, The Father.

I know that it's preferable/advised to not be *VOCAL* bout religion. Conversely, I almost passed in my sleep less than a month ago; and I know Who breathed life into me instead.

So, yeah. I don't care whether you refer to him as Adonai; Allah; or Jehovah. Just be sure to "put some respect on [His] name".

Same goes for His pronouns and such. Simple as that.

2.) Freedom; Liberty; and Independence.

Since we started off with "light" subject matter, I figured why not stay in the neighborhood of that ballpark; amirite? Keeping it a stack tho, Memorial Day and Independence Day are right around the corner.

Considering that fact, on top of the outright odious RESTRICT Act looming over our heads and all; why not completely skip over the apps and drinks? Everyone talks about how much they Support the Troops, and Love their Freedoms; whole time tho...

We still have geniuses out here saying, "Happy Memorial Day"; every year! "How, Sway?!"

I legit had a college classmate admit that he didn't know what Memorial Day was for; in front of the rest of the class! Granted, he was a young cat; after a long day; and during an exercise by the prof, demonstrating the ability of time constraints/stress to produce wrong answers.

The circumstances just stated tho, are, at least to me, "Ultimately of little practical significance." That's just what it is.

I don't care how little time, how much stressed, or how long your day was. We wouldn't have the relative Liberties/Freedoms/Independence we have if it wasn't for The Fallen.

Granted, "Some [peeps] are more [Free] than others." Regardless far too much has been sacrificed to not be at least somewhat mindful.

3.) U.S. Military Members.

Speaking of those that made The Ultimate Sacrifice, why not pay respect to those who are/were/will always be ready to venture into the fray? I'm a "little" bit biased; tho, if ya volunteer and/or get "voluntold" into The Service: Much respect due to you.

There's far too many of us that were on the verge of joining the Warriors in Valhalla even; and yet, we oft let civvies, who've never sworn The Oath, talk to us any old kinda way. Be polite and respectful; tho, don't let any/everything fly.

If it's gonna be in black and white, make sure it's not a blight. For example: I was a Soldier; a Grunt; and an Infantryman in the U.S. Army.

I used to take even more pride in being a Sheepdog of a Joe. That is, a Servicemen's Serviceman.

Sue me, I'm rooting for all the honorable Vets/Veterans. FYI: That's a play on an expression by the local living legend, Wale; which he borrowed from another example of Black excellence, Issa Rae.

4.) Famo/Love.

Last but certainly not least! Couldn't use that featured image and not include this one.

At any rate, the English language does a huge disservice to us on this one; based on my understanding. A lot of other languages have several different words for the term.

Understandably so; given that there's platonic, Familial, and romantic Love in the world around us. We're not even going to get into being Loving versus being in Love.

Whether we're talking about an Auntie, Unc, or even Cuzzos: Show respect if they ever showed Love. That's especially if they're your favs.

Mos def remember to pay respect to Pops, Grams, and Mom Dukes. Mother's Day is in bout a week and a half; so this seems like a decent point to mention what I believe to be the most thankless, needed, and commendable title anyone could ever earn: Moms; Momma; Ma.

Don't debate me on this one. Just please don't.

And with that, I'm Nefarious Darrius, aka Darrius Unity; thank you for coming to my TedTalk. Peace be with you; blessings upon blessings; and one Love.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

advicelisthumanity
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey12 months ago

    Being near death adds a real appreciation of life, and those you love

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.