Humans logo

Words

Loaded Words

By sydney .Published 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

"I love you."

"Don't be afraid."

"I am never leaving you."

"You are the only one for me."

"You are the love of my life."

"I will never hurt you."

You have done more than hurt her, you have broken her.

You have broken her to the point where she does not believe that this is real.

She can not accept the reality that all your sweet words meant nothing.

She has been working towards your future together for the past two years. You let her do this. You let her have false hope when you knew your own intentions.

You may not have had these intentions the entire time but towards the closing of your relationship you had to have known that you were not in it for the long run.

There is no possible way that you could not have known this. You do not simply wake up one morning or night and decide you are going to quit on the progress you have built for the past two years.

You may say this is the case but the human soul does not inflict itself to that. The soul does not merge itself with another and then decide they do not wish this anymore in a matter of minutes.

Courage.

It takes courage to say you no longer want someone's love. Although you have done this, you do not deserve this courage because you did not do this to her humanly.

Instead, you messaged her and told her.

Why?

Are you hiding from your emotions? Are you hiding from the pain you know you are enduring?

It took an act of courage from her to go forward to your location and confront you. She did not do this in a violent matter—no but instead she did it through pain. She acted out of hurt because this is what you have inflicted on her.

She will endure this. She will live through this. But with no help from you because you have caused her this heartfelt.

Support. Her support system is stronger than your hateful actions and words. We will be her shield from everything that you inflict, we will rebuild her walls and keep her stable. She will thrive, knowing she has lived through you.

Yes you have impacted her and given her memories she can never forget. Yes many of those were once full of joy but now there is this black curtain hung over all of them because she knows she does not have you anymore.

You were a stepping stone. You were a bittersweet step in her life that was needed. Although you have broken her in more ways than one, you have also made her stronger.

She may not be stronger at the moment but with time she will be.

You have helped her to see what she does not deserve, how she does not deserve to be treated.

Although I have a raging hatred towards you, I am more disappointed.

Disappointed because I knew you.

I knew you from her stories.

I knew you from the way her eyes lit up every time your name fell from her lips.

I knew you from our interactions with one another.

I knew you from the person you acted as online.

I never would not have thought that this person that I knew would have the ability to cause so much pain.

My direct human impulse is to be furious and want to cause you harm but I will not act on this impulse. I will not because that starts a vicious cycle that can be never ending.

By doing so I would only be cycling that pain you have inflicted on her, onto you. Although a part of me says you deserve that for what you have done to her, I cannot and will not in good conscience do this.

Instead, I will rebuild the person you have broken. I will put her pieces back together, one by one.

I will do this because I love her. I do not love her like you claim to have—no, I truly love her.

How do I know that I truly love her?

I know this because I understand love for what it really is and not for the glorified version of it.

Some may say that I only love her because we are related by blood but this is not true because over the past 16 years I have come to admire the person she is. I have come to ride alongside her in this roller coaster we call life, I have come to see all her flaws and accept them. I have come to and will continue to do all the things that you will never have the honor to endure with her because you have chosen to cut your ride short with her.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

sydney .

i write when i feel so strongly about something that this becomes my only outlet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.