Humans logo

Why You Should Not Become Popular O! - 9ice Explains

9ice talks popularity, money

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

Nigerian musician 9ice is one artiste who has been popular for many many years now. 9ice blew up most especially with his hit song Gongo Aso and a host of other hit singles including Street Credibility, Kinda Life, Respect is Reciprocal, and more. Today, 9ice has become an established name and brand.

Recently, 9ice sat down to do a podcast called Spill With Sims, and during the show, she asked 9ice to give advice to young artistes who may be trying to break into the business or become famous. Well, even though 9ice himself is famous, he had some choice words to say about fame, and explained why people shouldn't aim to be famous. Here is what 9ice had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

9ice during interview

During the interview with 9ice, he was asked: "If I want to become an artiste, how do I go about it? How do I do these things, and how do I become popular?" 9ice responded saying:

9ice: I will take from what you said: popular. Don’t become popular o, make money. When I started, I was popular but I didn’t have money. Then, I would be on a bike and people would be hailing you "9ice! 9ice!". The money didn’t just come in. I had to do the right thing for the money to come in. Because as at then we were doing music and we were depending so much on Alaba International Market. I think what we had back then was Myspace, but it wasn't as important as Facebook. Then we didn’t have Facebook, Instagram and the rest. If you want your song to be popular in Kaduna, you have to go to Kaduna to do a radio interview. You have to be there for people to see you. So, when the money started coming was when we put in the hustle and we marketed the brand by doing print interviews like all these newspapers, all these magazines; putting your face out there. I mean, there are sometimes people have a good song and they [the listeners] don’t even know what you look like, how do you want to make money? So won't they pay me your money? Let's say I'm Simi and you're the one proclaiming yourself as Simi, they will give you the money na because they don't know my face.

So I think it is not just about getting popular. But putting your brand out there. Market it, promote it. Let your face be known and the money aspect will come later. Do what is unique. Do what is quality.

It is so interesting how much things have changed between 9ice's time and now. To think it was Myspace, not even Facebook that was popping at that time is so interesting. Wow, what a different time. What do you think about what 9ice said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Queen of Forgiveness™about a year ago

    I agree with 9ice. Don't be popular. Be a money-making brand. Going viral and monetizing are different things, not even on the same coin. Ase, Jide.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.