Humans logo

Why YOU Should Care About What THIS Drag Queen Has to Say.

An Introduction to My Vocal Stories

By Soña RitaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Soña Rita (Drag Queen from Northern Colorado)

Every single Drag Queen has an opinion, and every one of them (probably) believes that you should pay attention to what they have to say. Let's face it, most of them are (likely) right. For a long time, Drag Queens have had political, artistic, and social platforms within the LGBT+ community. As the faces of some of the most significant Queer events worldwide, it is essential for queens, and all drag performers, to use their platforms for good (also known as the Gay Agenda). With that being said, Drag has exploded as an artistic outlet for queer folks around the globe. So, why in the name of all that is good, should you be listening to me, Soña Rita, a drag queen not known for much in the middle of Weld County, Colorado? I honestly have a straightforward answer for you. Still, because I am also (again, probably) the MOST dramatic drag queen to ever walk the hallways of Weld Central High School, I can not in good conscience do that. I have to draw this out. It's what Nathaniel Hawthorne would have wanted.

"First things first, I'm the realest," raps Iggy Azalea on Fancy. This I feel with all of my being. I (usually) do not say something unless I mean it one hundred percent or at a bare minimum sixty-six point six percent. I have learned the hard way that my opinion is worth more said out loud than kept in my head. Being a performer from a very young age has taught me this and many other lessons. For example; do NOT perform with a fever over one-hundred and two degrees Fahrenheit and a golf-ball sized cyst on your lower back. You'll probably have to go to a hospital to get it drained. Unfortunately, this has nothing to do with why you should be caring about anything that I have to say. So why did I say it? I do not know. I am gay. Also, I am not only just gay. I am gay and brown. That kind of has to do with why you should listen to me. As a marginalized person, my voice is continuously squashed by the higher powers that be. It is rare for me to come across a voice in the media that looks, hears, or feels like my own. If we share identities in any way, I hope that I can be that representation for you. I want to write about things as small as my opinions on a new pop album to something as monumental as a supreme court ruling and political movements. Why? Just because. I want to be vocal, and I want to be loud.

So, is what you should take from this that you should listen to me just because I am marginalized? No. You should listen to me because you want to. You should do it because you have nothing better to do. You should do it because you relate to what I am saying. You should do it because I have something to say, and you have something to say, and we should both listen to each other. That is the beauty of humanity. Opinions. So what will I be writing about? A little about everything and sometimes a whole lot of nothing. I want to make this platform my place to come to you all with my opinions, and I want to hear back from you. I want to have a dialogue. I also want to know what you want me to talk about. I want to be open, and I would like that openness reciprocated. If you are interested in coming along on this journey with me and want to read more of my ramblings, keep up with what I post on Vocal, and follow me on my social media, where I will always post my new stories. You can follow me on Twitter and Instagram @MxSonaRita. I want to thank you all in advance because I know that we can build a community of sharing opinions respectfully and listening to each other.

Xoxo

Soña Rita

lgbtq
2

About the Creator

Soña Rita

The Best Drag Thing in Greeley Co. and The Most Mediocre everywhere else!

I have opinions about everything. Let's have a dialogue.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.