Humans logo

Why Must You Stereotype?

Never judge a book by its cover.

By Ur GirlPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cover Created in Canva

Why must you stereotype? Every Afro American isn’t a bad person. Every Hispanic doesn’t carry a knife. Every Asian doesn’t know karate. Every Caucasian isn’t a Karen, and every Latino isn’t an undocumented immigrant. Contrary to your beliefs, we are not all the same. We are individuals and we should be treated as such.

Why can’t we accept people as they are? Look at their character, and their actions, and their behaviors exclusively? You can’t look at a race of people and judge them all by the actions of one. Just because he or she has done this thing doesn't mean that I will do the thing. Get to know me before you judge me.

Have you ever heard the term?” You can’t judge a book by its cover”. That is the honest truth, don’t judge me by what you see someone that looks like me doing. This is the year 2022 and there are still so many prejudice people in this world. But why, why are you that way? Is it what you watched your parents do? Or did you just wake up one day and decide that this is how you would be?

Why do you think you are better than the next person? If you cut your finger is your blood red? When you put on your pants, are you putting them on one leg at a time? Who are you to be so judgmental? There is only one judge, and one creator that can put us in heaven or hell.

You don’t hold all power in your hands, you are not the creator of all things. I hate to break this to you, but you are no better than anyone else. Treat people with the same respect that you wish to be treated with. It’s all about respecting each other’s space and respecting our differences.

Yes, we are all different in some form or fashion. Yes, we do have different beliefs, morals and ethics. But that doesn’t make you better than anyone else and vice versa. You show me respect, I’ll give you the same respect. You treat me with kindness, and I will treat you with kindness.

We should learn to agree to disagree. I don’t think I’m better than anyone. I’m learning to pray for the people that have been rude or ugly to me for no reason. I’m much more than the color of my skin, the texture of my hair or the clothes that I wear.

I’m smarter than you think, I have worked hard to become the person that I am and I'm very proud of who I have become. I’m a mother, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a cousin, a coworker, a friend, a human being and I deserve respect.

Think about it, and the next time you even think about stereotyping someone think again. Would you want someone treating your mother, daughter, son, sister or brother like that? I doubt it.

No, well don’t treat me like that. I have feelings, I get emotional, and upset. I'm nowhere near being perfect and neither are you. Let's just agree to disagree and move on. All of the senseless killings because someone looked at you the wrong way, or they cut you off on the road.

Is your life not worth more than foolishness and disagreements? Do you value your lives? If we do, we sure have strange ways of proving it. We are so much better than that. We should all be leading by example, the way that our children and grandchildren see us behave that's what they will mimic. Let's think about that the next time we call someone out of their name, or we overreact.

Much Love,

Trina

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ur Girl

Online Business Pro and Advisor.

Partner to Boss Influencers the Brand.

Visit the website @ bithetemplateshop.com

Go and get your eBooks, and templates!!

Join Vocal @ https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=trina

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.