Humans logo

Why Many Big Brother Actors Don't Last in Nollywood - Tobi Bakre

Tobi Bakre and Seyi Awolowo talk BBN actors

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Big Brother Naija is one of the biggest platforms any Nigerian can get to showcase themselves and their talent. Because of the opportunity, after leaving the house, a number of people go into different creative sectors. One such avenue that a lot of BBN contestants try to make it in is Nollywood, but just because many of them try doesn't mean that many of them succeed.

During an interview with Nollywire, ex Big Brother housemates Tobi Bakre and Seyi Awolowo who both star in the new action Nollywood movie "Brotherhood" talked about why exactly many BBNaija housemates don't last in Nollywood. Here's exactly what both men said about the issue.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Seyi Awolowo and Tobi Bakre Discuss

During their interview, Tobi and Seyi were asked "Is there any stereotype about BBN housemates you would like to correct?" They responded saying:

Seyi: You see this thing, this question, is technical. Because I used to enjoy my acting before BBN. And if people can notice, I've still not yet - you see Tobi is lead, me I'm the other guy in the film. I'm trying to get to lead, so I believe I'm on a ladder going up to the lead. So now, you see in his own case, he too had to climb a kind of ladder to get to where they say come and play lead. So it's not a matter of you need to come out of the house [and request to play lead]. A lot of people came out of the house and acted films but they're not still acting films right now. But some people came out the house, acted, and are still acting films. So if it fits, it fits, if it doesn't fit, it doesn't fit.

Tobi: When you come out of the house, a lot of opportunities are thrown at you because you have the publicity people need. So for you it's a good time to cash in so they're trying to use you for publicity and for your crowd and for your clout. So that was it for me pretty much in my case. For everything that came, I was looking at what do I enjoy, what do I like? I never actually thought or dreamt about being an actor. All of this just picked up along the line. So I started from hustle and I was enjoying it. First few days, it was very awkward, weird. But then I started enjoying it. Then when I saw it on TV, I was like "ah ah, I didn't think I was doing so good but I'm funny o!". So generally I just fell in love with the whole creative process of filming. How you do your bit, another actor does their own bit. Some scenes you don't even see but when they put it all together, the editing, the scoring, the music, you know all of that - it's actually a beautiful process. I wish they would do a behind the scenes kind of movie of how a movie is made from inception to like the end, so you just see like the 360. It's enjoyable. It's actually wonderful.

Some BBNaija housemates who've gone into acting

What do you think about what Tobi and Seyi said. Who would you say is your favorite BBNaija actor since leaving the house? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.