Humans logo

What My Mother-In-Law Insisted I Do On My New Album - Simi

Simi talks To Be Honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian singer Simi earlier this year released her latest studio album, To Be Honest (TBH). The album contains features from artistes including Adekunle Gold, Fave, and her own daughter Deja. During an Instagram Live, Simi opened up about the features on the album, and also talked about what her mother-in-law insisted must be on the album. Here's what Simi had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about working with her husband Adekunle Gold and singer Fave, Simi said:

I love working with my husband because - [laughs] I said my husband [laughs] - but I love working with AG (saying AG makes me feel somehow) but I love working with AG because his pen game is one of the best in the game right now, period. And he's just so supportive of my career. And you know, a few weeks before the album came out, I really was stressed out because there were things happening that I did not envisage. But I mean, I'm a - I don't want to say too much, but like he really came through for me. And it's just so amazing to have someone in your corner that is as amazing as Adekunle Gold. So I just want to say thank you. I don't even know if I talked about how it was working with Fave. Fave came through for me. She's a sister. I love her because she not only came through for me last minute, she came through correct. And I'm just so thankful for the opportunity to work with her. It was also like I said very last minute and I'm just happy that it came together. Because I don't like to do things that don't feel right. So if it didn't feel right, I wouldn't have forced it. But like it just felt like that's exactly how it should have been. I am so glad that I have the opportunity to be presenting Simi featuring Fave.

Speaking about what her mother-in-law insisted had to be on the album and the song she put there to ensure that happened, Simi said:

"Love For Me" is produced by Blaze Beats. This song is dedicated to Nigerians. This is the kind of thing you people like to hear from me, that you're sure. And let me tell you something. I don't know if my husband knows this but this song is here because of your mummy. I mean, I already wrote the song but it could have easily left the album. But my mother-in-law told me "My daughter, you have to do a song talking about how grateful you are to God" and then I decided for sure that this song was going to be on the album because my mother-in-law said we're going to put it on this album.

What do you think about what Simi said? About the "Love For Me" song if you've heard it, and about the album overall? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.