Humans logo

Why I Relocated to US and Have No Plan of Coming Back - Helen Paul

Helen Paul gets candid

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Nigerian comedian and actress Helen Paul rose to fame here in Nigeria as one of the most popular female comedians and a talented voice actress and all-around creative. But now, Helen Paul worries about the future of stand-up comedy in Nigeria, and has also relocated out of Nigeria with no plans currently of relocating back.

During a new interview with Punch Newspaper, Helen talks about her decision to relocate and her fear for the future of standup comedy. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

"Being a comedian, what is your take on the Nigeria comedy industry?"

There are different sides to the comedy industry. For example, there is stand-up comedy, sitcoms, and the now popular type of comedy in the form of skits. While there are some challenges common to all of these types and mediums of comedy, each is also bedeviled by its own unique challenges. The world has evolved a lot in recent times, sometime ago, you were not considered as having had a real cinematic experience without having visited a theater to watch actors performing live on a stage, then came the big screen and home entertainment where you either watch studio-produced movies either in a cinema or on your home entertainment system via movie streaming services like Netflix, Prime Video and so on. If you were used to going to the theaters in those days, you would conclude that the new culture of watching predominantly studio-produced movies is killing the skills you acquire from stage performances. With studio productions, all your flaws are edited and covered up. You have a tendency to be somewhat lazy in memorizing and delivering your lines. When you apply this to comedy, you will realize that the culture of standup comedy is dying.

"Why do you think the culture of standup comedy is dying?"

Nowadays, people rely more on filters and editing measures to create content. While there are advantages to those stunts and effects, the effect is that the content makers don’t master the craft of stage performances. It is a different ball game entirely. With this might come a risk of comedy fans losing interest in and developing lethargy for standup comedy. The thrill of purchasing tickets and driving all the way to a standup comedy event might be lost. Why would anyone want to lose sleep over a standup comedy show when he or she could just watch it in the comfort of his or her home on a mammoth sized curved TV with surround stereo speakers?

"What spurred you to move to the US and how have you been keeping your comedy career alive?"

My move to the US was divinely orchestrated. This is because I was recommended as being eligible for a category of professionals with special abilities in a chosen field. I also had ideas about replicating my work with an academy I established in Nigeria for young and aspiring entertainers. I have a dream to tell the story of Africans and African Americans through the lens. I want to take our form of entertainment, particularly black-oriented entertainment, to the ends of the world. And yes, I am keeping my comedy alive. I have been performing in some concerts and comedy shows in some parts of the US. And when I am opportune, I still anchor shows and perform at events in Nigeria. I’m still connected to my roots.

"Do you see yourself returning home one day to use your acquired knowledge to improve the lives of Nigerians who were instrumental towards your growth process before you relocated?"

Like I said earlier, I remain connected to my roots. I am still contributing and will continue to contribute to the development of Nigeria, being the place where I broke out as an entertainer. Whether I intend to return is not a subject I have not considered. I am at home in the US also. I will continue to contribute to the growth and development of any home that God has provided to me. That is a God-given assignment.

Yet another celebrity who has japa-ed. Nawa!

What do you think of what Helen Paul said and this situation of everybody, especially the Nigerian celebrities, relocating to different parts of the world. Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.