Humans logo

Why I Quit Acting After 'King of Boys' - Reminisce

Reminisce gets honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like

After a stellar performance as Makanaki in the hit Nollywood movie and series, King of Boys, people have been expecting to see Reminisce's return to the big screen. But according to the rapper, those who are waiting for his cinematic return are in for disappointment, as he has no plan to return to acting and is now explaining why during the Zero Conditions Podcast. Here's what Reminisce had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Reminisce during interview

Speaking about his participation in King of Boys, and why he will no longer be acting, Reminisce said:

REMINISCE: I mean, my participation in King of Boys was just me wanting to try new things out, same way I just tried sports out, same way I may just wake up tomorrow and say how far Channels? I want to read news for one month. I'm crazy like that. I just want to see what it's like. I'm crazy like that, I just want to try it. Banky W called me like "oh this babe, Kemi, wants to reach out to you", then Kemi Adetiba calls me and I'm like "Ah, I'm busy, December is out. Let's try January", and then she sent me the script. I didn't read it, I wasn't interested. So Edward was now like "Let's try it now? This babe did Wedding Party, and so it probably would be nice and you've always said you want to try something else so let's try it". So I'm like okay, fine. Then I remember the first day on set was my birthday, and baddo was at Club 57 waiting, and we were filming in Ikoyi, and then I now got to set and I saw Aunty Sola in her full element like shouting. Then whenever she makes mistake, she will talk to herself so I just called Kemi like "ah, I have to go to 57, boys are waiting for me". She said "why?" I said "I can't do this, I'm not built for what I just saw now". She said "No no no, it doesn't matter". So we kept on filming and I think the first full day on set, everybody was now like let's read your side in group read, and that's the day everybody discovered that I've not even opened the script. So I basically ran myself through it, Kemi was really helpful, and I don't think my character was designed to be the main villain in the first one but something just happened and shit popped and I was like this is a win, I'll take it.

Then Reminisce was asked "But people are expecting that after that, you'll want to do more acting" to which he said:

REMINISCE: No please. No, sorry my dear. Sorry my dear, I would have loved to fulfill your wishes, but no. I'm not acting again. I'm not interested anymore. I'm not.

What do you think about Reminisce's decision to stop acting, and what did you think about his role as Makanaki in the King of Boys franchise. Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat!

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.