Humans logo

Why I'm scared of getting married, actress Genevieve Nnaji reveals

The Nollywood legend comes clean

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago ā€¢ 5 min read
Like

The Nollywood legend comes clean.

Okay, so I was perusing the internet as I normally do and I came across this story titled, 'Why I'm scared of getting married, Actress Genevieve Nnaji reveals'.

Now, as a Genevieve fan, I was very curious about this and wanted to know what about marriage was so scary to the Nigerian actress. This curiosity and the need to know led me into two things: 1.) A realization that Nigerian journalism is absolute GARBAGE, and 2.) A curiosity about what Genevieve has actually said about marriage and her single life.

I know if you're anything like me, you too are curious to know about both of these so without further ado, let's jump in!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

So, first things first, let me straight up tell you what the article "Why Iā€™m scared of getting married, Actress Genevieve Nnaji reveals" says.

It says:

Genevieve Nnaji revealed in a recent interview:

If I get married, I really want to stay married, and staying married is not an easy thing. It means you are completely in tune with your partner. It means you have found your soul mate and will have to be able to stand a lot of disappointments that would definitely come but then again you have to learn how to forgive.

Now, while this is a satisfying answer to some, to me, it is a short answer and very out of context. So, I was interested in reading the full article or seeing the full interview. This is when I quickly realized that Nigerian journalism is TRASH!

Why do I say this? Because the article above says a "recent interview" but doesn't say with who or what publication the interview happened.

Worse? When I went and searched the internet for key terms and keywords about the interview, all the stories that I found said the same thing or similar things.

Here are some excerpts from a few different publications I saw:

PM News:

Naija News:

GH Gossip:

Which Interview?

And these are just three of the MANY blog sites that posted this story. All of them say "in a recent interview" and then do NOT link to the interview or even verify that it is a real interview she actually did.

Now, do you want to know the WORST part of it?

My research, because I REALLY wanted to find out the true authentic story for myself and you guys, showed me that the story about this supposed "recent interview" actually started making its rounds all the way back in 2014. SIX YEARS AGO! That's the "recent interview"??

And do you want to know what is even worse? You see how all three of these say, "in an interview with Vanguard", well I clicked on the BellaNaija article, clicked on the Vanguard link in hopes that this would be in fact THE interview, but then guess what? Even the Vanguard said:

WHICH INTERVIEW? Interview with who??

That is where I gave up! And if you have read this far, then I sure just like me, you too are beginning to see how HORRIBLE our news and journalism is in this Nigeria.

Well, fear not! I, Jide Okonjo, promise to always verify and check any news story that I bring to you before I post it. And if a story I publish is from a blog or something I wasn't really able to corroborate or verify, then best believe I will ALWAYS let you know. You can rest assured of that.

So, like my page šŸ˜‚ so you can always get AUTHENTIC news stories and fun posts at least from ONE person you can TRUST:

Now, back to Genevieve!

So, as you can imagine, because I didn't get the answers and couldn't verify all this, I went and dug for myself what Genevieve herself has said about her single status. What I found is the best, most complete answer that she has given on the topic.

In an interview called "The Truth about Genevieve | THE TRUTH Episode 7" with Olisa which I will link below (so scroll down a little), Genevieve revealed probably the most she has about her dating life and what she wants from a relationship or a man. A little excerpt from the interview reads:

Olisa: Are you currently dating? Are you thinking of settling down at some point?"

Genevieve: I am, I think everybody is prioritizing and so am I. I mean really, it's not like I don't want to settle down or anything but I don't want to settle DOWN, that's not it. I want somebody and until I find that person there's no thought of me settling down.

Olisa: But why is it so hard? Is it that you're looking for --

Genevieve: I'm not looking. I'm a woman, we're not allowed to look. Are we supposed to look?

Olisa: Okay you're ideal guy, what are you looking for in a guy?

Genevieve: Okay, I'm not gonna BS right. I'm not that person who eats with her eyes. Like I need to be attracted to you, definitely. BUT at the end of the day, it's your mind that I'm going to fall in love with so there's something that draws me to you and something that keeps me. So I think I'm probably looking for a friend, for somebody who shares a like-mind, and somebody who is confident. That's really it.

For more of the interview, watch below. I've set it so it start at the exact moment things get interesting, so you're welcome!

So there we have it. I like her saying "I want to settle down, not settle DOWN" (which in case you didn't catch means she does not want to settle DOWN, that is below her standards). At least she knows what she wants and she's waiting until she finds it.

We can all get behind that.

I hope you've enjoyed this article. I actually had fun writing it and if you want to, the interview is actually really good so you can watch it and enjoy.

Until next time, have a fantastic rest of your day!

That's All.

Don't forget to like my page:

I'm sure you've loved reading this piece. To make sure you keep having fun and don't miss out on any fun in the future, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page above. It's a really fun page and you're really going to love it. So what's stopping you? Like it!

To catch up other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

šŸ‡³šŸ‡¬ Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

šŸŽ„ Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

šŸ“€ Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.