Humans logo

Why I Have Problem With Comedians Turning Comedy Shows into Begging Ground - I Go Save

I Go Save speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian comedian I Go Save is one comedian that has been around for many years in the Nigerian comedy space. He also acts and currently stars in the Africa Magic hit show, My Flatmates. Because of his talent and how long he's been in the industry, I Go Save is an interesting person to hear from as pertains what he thinks about the comedy industry, and so during a new interview with Telegraph Nigeria, I Go Save opened up about the genesis of his comedy career, his fashion style, what he thinks about comedy shows being turned into begging grounds and more. Here is what I Go Save said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

I Go Save

Speaking about when he decided to become a comedian, I Go Save said:

I actually thought I was going to become a professional footballer while growing up. I was so dedicated to football that I had my own football team called Bull Warriors. We were so in the game that we had men and women on our street supporting us financially and more.

I didn’t realize what football fan base was then but those men and women were our fans. There were times I ran very funny football commentaries during our games which entertained onlookers and cracked their ribs. I guess at that time, being a comedian was just at the background.

When asked about his fashion and what he likes wearing, I Go Save said:

I wear all kinds of clothes, be it casual or corporate. But what determines what I wear is where I am wearing it to and for what occasion. It’s just like wearing a very thick fur to stay under the sun. Only God can save you. You will need factory fitted air conditioning under your armpit to survive the heat.

The only clothes I will not be caught wearing will be a lady’s dress or a fairly used condom.

Finally speaking about the comedy industry's need for structure and his hatred for people turning comedy shows into begging grounds, I Go Save said:

Yes, we have a lot to do. I feel the comedy industry is kind of stagnant compared to other industries. The Wizkid, Burna Boy, Tiwa Savage and many others, have taken the music industry to a higher level from where some of the founders left it but comedy industry isn’t where it is supposed to be. Some new comedians have even reduced this noble career to a stage money begging career, where they harass comedy lovers, who have bought tickets to be entertained.

The truth is even I have noticed this. A lot of comedy shows these days, the comedians are pestering the people who paid for table in front for money and it truly can be very uncomfortable at times. However, this has been happening for a long time now. I don't know if it's just the new comedians that are doing it because I can almost swear that even before, older comedians used to do the same thing. Am I wrong? Am I not remembering correctly?

What do you think about the whole comedians begging for money on stage thing? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.