Humans logo

Why I Dumped My Toxic Bestfriend After She Tried to Steal My Boyfriend

Cut Out Toxic People In Your Life

By Kace RogersPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
Why I Dumped My Toxic Bestfriend After She Tried to Steal My Boyfriend
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

It was one of the toughest decisions I ever had to make, but I eventually realized that I had to let go of my toxic friend after she made the awful decision to try to steal my boyfriend. It was a heartbreaking moment, but it was necessary for me to move on with my life. In this blog post, I'll be sharing my story and explaining why I chose to end the friendship with my toxic friend.

The friendship was one-sided

My so-called "best friend" has never seemed to care about hanging out with me. It was like she was only in it for what she could get out of it. I felt like she was always looking for ways to take advantage of me or manipulate the situation for her own benefit. It started to become clear that this friendship wasn't as genuine as I thought it was. She was never there when I needed her, and she would rarely even return my calls or messages. She wasn't the friend I thought I had, and I began to realize that the only reason she kept me around was because of what I could do for her.

She was always jealous of me

I have always known my toxic best friend was jealous of me, but it wasn't until recently that I realized just how deep her jealousy ran. She would often make comments about my successes and achievements, often trying to diminish them in some way. No matter how hard I tried to reassure her that there was enough success and happiness to go around, she always seemed to feel threatened by anything I accomplished.

She was always putting me down: My toxic best friend was constantly putting me down in subtle ways. From comments about my appearance to snide remarks about my job or relationships, nothing seemed to be off-limits for her. Even though I tried to brush it off and not let her get to me, it still hurt to be constantly belittled and made to feel inferior. It seemed as if no matter what I did, she had something negative to say about it.

I caught her trying to steal my boyfriend.

When I started dating someone, instead of being supportive as a good friend should have been, she took it as an opportunity to insult him. She once realized that we were seeing each other. She managed to try and worm her way into his life anyway. She started actively trying to sabotage our relationship! First, it was trying to hang out with us as a group - but she would always be trying to monopolize his attention by turning our conversations into topics about him. Soon enough though, she started sending him direct messages on social media, inviting him to hang out one on one without me. I confronted her and told her that it was inappropriate, and she initially denied everything. Then she tried making me look bad in front of him. She brought up things from the past that weren't true and accused me of things I hadn't done.

She became increasingly possessive, going so far as to ask him out on dates directly while simultaneously telling me that I wasn't good enough for him. Needless to say, this behavior crossed the line and caused a huge rift between us.

At first, I tried talking to her about it, but she wouldn't take any responsibility for her actions. But then I had to cut her out of my life so I could be happy.

I'm better off without her

It's hard to admit, but it's true: I'm much better off without my toxic bestfriend in my life. After she tried to go after my boyfriend, I realized that this friendship had been one-sided for far too long. She was jealous of me, putting me down whenever she got the chance and attempting to steal my boyfriend showed me that she didn't care about our friendship at all.

Having her out of my life has been such a relief; I don't have to worry about being put down or betrayed anymore. It's been freeing to finally be able to focus on what truly matters in my life and to make decisions that are based on what's best for me. It's made me realize how strong I can be and how much better off I am without her influence.

Being free from the toxicity of our relationship has been empowering. Now, I'm able to focus on building positive relationships and friendships with people who will respect me and treat me right. It's been an incredibly rewarding journey that has taught me so much about myself and how important it is to prioritize my own mental health. Taking steps away from unhealthy relationships has brought more joy into my life than ever before.

By learning to recognize when a relationship isn't healthy, I'm now more equipped to build strong connections with people who have my best interest at heart. This has been especially helpful in romantic relationships, where I'm now more careful and aware of potential red flags before entering into anything serious.

I've also been able to give advice to friends going through similar situations by sharing my story and warning signs that something might not be right. Ultimately, breaking up with my toxic friend was the best thing I ever did because it allowed me to appreciate healthier bonds with those around me. So, if you have someone who acts just like this, just cut them off. It's better safe than sorry.

friendshipadvice
1

About the Creator

Kace Rogers

Hi, I write just about anything. I am currently working on my novel project, so stay in tuned to support me!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.