Humans logo

Why are Black Men Loving Less?

A race of babies that's hating all the ladies!

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Why are Black Men Loving Less?
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

What kind of men are loving the women of tomorrow. I joke with my nieces a great deal about not being able to date until their mid 30s and with the quality of men coming out, I'm starting to joke less about the subject and want them to focus on themselves first. I have two sons and I ask them about girls in school and I ask my daughter about the boys. Yes, they are fairly young and I even started late due to my shyness. My first girlfriend wasn't until my Sr, Year of high school. Yes I was shy, but I'm concerned of this group of men we have today and the ones that are coming up.

Why is this "bro-code" so important to men these days? I can successfully say that all of the men I consider close friends, put their wives before me and rightfully so! Can we explore the possibility that some of these men have unresolved issues with their mothers? Some cannot resolve those issues unfortunately because their mothers have passed on. This is a very hard subject for men for various reasons. Could it have been that the mother caused some unwanted pain by keeping the father out of his life? Could her toxic behavior such as yelling at him and treating him unfair gave him a false image of women and in return, he grew up hating women.

The presence of a male is very important. I am not talking about an abusive father, but a father-figure. The local pillar in the neighborhood, or the counselor at the local Boys and Girls Club. Young boys need inspiration from another man. I am not saying that women are incapable of taken care of men. I'm saying young boys need to see examples of positive men. Even better if they can witness men giving proper love to a woman is a plus.

My fatherhood-figure use to talk to me about everything, from music, religion and politics. Even how to romance a woman to certain extent. No, he did encourage sex at an young age, but he told me about dating and charming women. Young boys unfortunately don't see examples of this today. It is very difficult for me to display it without possibly falling into a negative vibe of dating multiple women. Since my divorce, I still have not exposed my kids to any potential women. Subconsciously, that could be part of the problem, but yet I choose the lesser of evil by displaying to my kids that its OK to date multiple women.

So we have these young boys growing up with less examples to love and with some wrath from their mothers. This is not an easy fix and the other problem is that seeking mental help could be problematic when the mother is not ready to come to terms with her flaws and a greater sense of men being too macho to seek help in this area.

This is a double-edge blade when it comes to our young men loosing out on proper development. Those teenage years are very important. Yes, mothers, you have to stop seeing your ex in that child and take some accountability and honesty when he ask questions about what really happened to dad and why isn't he around. Lets not talk about the stepfather that tolerates the son because he wants other things from the mother. Lets not even get into that rabbit whole.

I am not looking to punish women or blame them for the product of man we have today. Remember that one of our great social injustice leaders of many days ago said that children learn their first lesson of love from the mother. There is no easy fix to the problem, but like Tupac said, "we have a race of babies, hating all the ladies". Someone has to make a change.

family
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.