Humans logo

Whirlwind

The love in an afterlife

By MaverickPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Our love was a whirlwind. Unexplainable. I don't know how it started, but I love how it went, and I hate how It ended.

The 1st time I saw him, I was too young to notice. I didn't pay attention to his dark hair, his blue eyes, or the broad build of his shoulders. I didn't notice his laugh or the way his smile could change the world's emotion. I was too young, pure, and naive.

The 2nd time I saw him was completely different. I noticed every little thing I had missed the first time. I was older, experienced, completely and utterly in love with him, and I had no idea how to tell him.

The last time I saw him was heartbreaking. I was too weak to have fear myself. I could see him falling apart. I could feel his heartbreak. I watched tears fall down his face as he spoke to the doctor. I thought back to the first time I saw him, and with a smile, I closed my eyes. I never thought I would see him again.

My eyes opened in a familiar space. I was no longer in the hospital bed. I was in my own bed at my own house. I heard the shower turn off in the bathroom. The door opened to reveal him in all his glory. My heart skipped a beat. He walked past me into the closet, the thought of tears in his eyes. He paused at my side of the closet, took a deep breath, and then turned back to his clothes. The tears slid down his face. I tried to call out to him. Tell him I was here, I was alive. He acted like he couldn't hear me. I got up to hold him in my arms, but he walked through me. I looked down. My body had an eerie shimmer. I tried to touch the wall next to me, to touch anything, everything, something. It didn't take me much longer to realize that I was no longer alive. I was a "Ghost".

I continued my attempts to touch anything and everything. After a year, I eventually gave up. I just watched him from afar.

He and I lived like that for exactly 2 years, 6 months, 2 days, and 9 hours like that. In that 10th hour, I watched him get dressed up. He no longer paused at my clothes, he has boxed them up a year ago. He rarely cried anymore. He paused in the hallways where our wedding picture hung. He smiled and touched it slightly. With a quick intake of breath, he took it down and placed it in the drawer of the buffet. He lightly touched the top of the drawer, and then turned and walked out the door. What seemed like an eternity later, he returned. He has a smile on his face, A pep in his step, and a gleam in his eye. For the days following his phone was constantly going off. He was laughing out loud and giggling like a child. He was falling in love again.

I was furious. How could he? We were perfect. The once-in-a-lifetime kind of love. How could he want more than me? It became my prerogative to destroy this love. This "happiness"

My plan worked perfectly until the first time I saw her. He brought her to our home. He hung her coat on our coat rack. He served her dinner on our plates. He did everything for her with our things. I was furious until he reached for a wine class. He never bought more. We had only our ones from our wedding night, custom engraved and tucked high up in the cabinet. He paused. Took a deep breath, wiped a tear from his eye, and reached for a glass on the shelf below, apologizing for a lack of wine glasses. She smiled. In that instant I recognized her. I recognized that she made him happy. She made him smile again. She made him laugh again. She saw all his quirks and all his flaws. She loved him all the same.

3 years passed as I watched their relationship bloom. I watched the engagement. I watched the wedding. They celebrated together. They cried together. I was in love with her as much as I was in love with him. She came home early one day. She was frantic. She decorated the house, signed a card, wrapped a gift. She was running around like crazy. Suddenly, she stopped. I heard the door click and in He walked. Her face lit up. She shoved the gift at him. He smiled and carefully opened it. When he saw what was inside, he yelled with excitement. He picked her up and spun her around. They smiled and laughed. They made phone calls. She was pregnant.

Months passed. She woke up early one morning and they rushed out the door. They returned with a bundle in her arms. His face was full of joy, of happiness. Suddenly, a feeling of peace flooded through me. I felt free. I watched them until the early hours of the morning. Smiling and laughing with them. As the sun crept over the horizon, I closed my eyes. I took a deep breath, and I finally went home. He was happy again, that was all I could ask for.

love
Like

About the Creator

Maverick

Writer. Lover. Dog Mom. Step Mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.