Humans logo

Where did all my money go?

Online shopping, of course!

By MercedesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
Where did all my money go?
Photo by Habib Dadkhah on Unsplash

When I’m scrolling on social media it always seems innocent at first, until in between my friend’s stories is an ad, for something that I really don’t need, but it piques my curiosity anyways, so I follow the link. One thing that I am always looking for, is comfortable clothing and activewear, so if someone is advertising Activewear, I am usually going to check those out. Everyday we’re hit with a ton of different ads and or advertisements, so I won’t talk about them all, but I’ll mention some of the ones that have caught my attention the most.

Athleisure

When it comes to Athleisure, Fabletics is one brand that almost gets me every time. You would think with all the purchases I've made in the past, that I would be doing their affiliate program, making money getting more members, but no, I'm not. I actually think their new membership program is better for getting more for your money, if you use a monthly credit, because while you paid $49, you can get something worth $80. Usually I’ll be able to skip a few months of buying activewear from them, but then some celebrity comes out with a capsule collection and then I’m intrigued. Examples that I’ve purchased include:

o Demi Lovato, who has had two collections, purchased from both.

o Madelaine Petsch, purchased from both collections.

o Liza Koshy, purchased from her first collection.

While some of those collections have had amazing stuff, some of the things I’ve purchased didn’t work out. Which is okay! With the Fabletics Men's Collection lead by Kevin Hart, I've recently purchased new workout gear for my dad, because he doesn't really buy new activewear for himself.

With posts on Fabletics of fun outfits like below, it's hard to stay away:

Linked below is a video Madelaine used for content on her YouTube page to not only advertise her workout routine but, to also show her Fabletics line in action. For each workout move, she changes her outfit. I follow her on social media, since I love her in Riverdale and her other projects, I usually check out the companies she partners with. I find that if I really, really like the person doing the advertisement, I'm more likely to buy:

Side note- The workout looks great, and I plan to incorporate it into my routine. She has a couple more videos featuring her first collection, which sold out quickly.

One athleisure brand that I see people represent or partner with is Stronger, and their leggings just didn’t work for me. I wasn’t a huge fan of the style when it arrived, and they were a return for me, but everyone else seems to love them.

Not every purchase is going to be perfect, I've realized, but sometimes it really is worth taking a shot.

Clothing:

Like Modcloth, I’ve received targeted ads from, and during their holiday sales, I purchased from them to save money. It seems like every week I receive targeted ads from Modcloth, and I've only purchased from them once.

TV Shows: Something that really makes me want to refresh my wardrobe are the actors and actresses on my favorite television shows. Websites like: Worn on Tv and Shop your TV, really make it accessible for viewers to be able to dress similarly to their favorite characters or reality television shows.

Worn on tv

Shop your tv

When I started watching Riverdale , one thing I immediately noticed were the different outfits all the characters were wearing. Cheryl Blossom having mostly Red and black outfits, that I really liked. Veronica had a ton of outfits that I could see myself wearing, some even business casual. The Real Housewives Franchises are also on both websites, and sometimes they wear affordable clothing, depending on your budget. The Bold Type is one of my favorite shows to get inspiration from because the three female main characters have different senses of style, but sometimes the clothes from that show are way out of my budget.

Both websites do a great job at getting outfits on their sites pretty quickly. Example above: Cheryl's dress from Riverdale's Season 5, Episode 8 that aired 3/17

To me that’s a huge influence, that isn’t always direct. Sure some of the outfits might be altered or custom, but both websites are good at showing multiple sources for each item giving you different price options. I only recently discovered Shop Your TV, but it seems to have a lot of the same stuff the Worn on TV covers but some more reality shows.

Most of the things I’m influenced to purchase are from people I follow from the different shows I’ve watched or artists.

From Season 25 of The Bachelor, I thought Serena C had a really great sense of style and there was one episode in particular where I loved these boots she had on. Shop Your TV , had those boots linked on their website, and Serena also gave more details on her Instagram. One of the biggest things to get me hyped up and ready to press confirm purchase, are shoes. Shoes to me are the easiest things to buy, because they normally will workout fit wise, where clothing can be hit or miss.

Those random ads:

Copper Cow Coffee is one brand that I randomly saw as an ad and then it just intrigued on it's simplicity, I was going through a try different coffee phase so I bought some for myself and gifted to a friend. I think they ended up enjoying as did I. We both found the Churro took the longest to brew. One friend I forced to try the Lavender Latte, wasn't a fan but I enjoyed it. Sometimes following the ads are worth it. I'm still buying coffee and tea from them.

Final Thoughts

When it comes to purchases social media, ads, television shows, are all ways to market products. I've had friends post a photo in an outfit that made me think, "Wow, I want that too". Sometimes taking a leap and buying something from an ad can be worth it. Other times, the item might not work out for you, like some of the leggings I've bought didn't work for me. If you're going to follow an ad, for a popular item, be sure to google it, because maybe you might find it for a better price. People are always selling new with tag items online at a discounted price.

---

Thanks for reading! If you liked this post be sure to give it a like.

For more posts check out my blog .

social media
4

About the Creator

Mercedes

Writing has always been something that I enjoy and I hope by joining this community, I can grow some more. I'm currently working on writing my first novel, and trying to do as many creative writing opportunities as I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.