Humans logo

When Tragedy Strikes

Car Crash Takes The Life Of A Childhood Friend

By Shannon ShererPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1

Going out clubbing with the girls again tonight. One of my friends just broke up with her boyfriend and he was caught cheating. So right now she needs a little pick me up. So the girls thought taking her out will make her feel better. Maybe even get a drink or two into her system to loosen her up a bit. Soon enough Ashley,Megan And Sarah will be here soon.

Ashley, Megan. Sarah and me have been friends since Kindergarten. We go nowhere with out the others. We're also each other's wing woman when it come to finding men. We never leave each other alone when going out. Of course for each others own safety. We even went to the same collage. And now we're living in the same condo right on the beach. We have our moments where we fight over stupid things but at the end we know how to end the fighting and laugh about how stupid we we're to be fighting over something so small and not that important.

"Hey, Ashley, Megan and Sarah, are you guys ready to go yet? I'm already dressed"

"Not yet Morgan! I still have to do my hair and makeup and Sarah is just now getting out of the shower, so she's nowhere close to being ready to go yet. But what about Ashley, is she ready to go yet?

"Uh yeah! Ashley's been ready along with me! Both of us are just waiting on you two and it's already 9:00 p.m. We should have been at that club by now dancing, drinking and hitting on guys right now. Hurry up already!"

" Alright alright, we're ready now, lets go! Last person out remember to please turn out the light on your way out.

After Sarah and Megan finally got ready and i mean FINALLY, we were in the car off to club SING. While riding down the road we had Maroon 5's new songs blasting from the speakers.Singing it loud a proud as if we were tone deaf and laughing at each other cause we know we have no talent at all for singing. Period!

When we finally got to the club and walked in, the first thing we saw was green strobe lights all over the place. Just flashing and waving from every place you went. Then we noticed the drink bar and a place to sit in the far corner. We went for our shots first then to sit down it the corner where our seats were.

" Alright ladies were here finally, now it's time for another shot and then some dancing.Plus we are here to cheer up Megan and celebrate Her new life as a single woman. So who's up for another round?"

After speaking everyone screamed with excitement and started chugging down the second round of shots. Afterward everyone went out on the dance floor and started doing their own thing. That's what i call it when our dance styles are different. I saw that Megan and Ashley were grinding all up on the same guy but for me he was not attractive but hey what ever floats their boat. Me and Sarah were dancing with each other and doing the same thing since we couldn't find a guy to dance with of our own. By the time 12:00 midnight rolled around we were all on our fourth round of shots and time for us to go home before we got any more tipsy then we already were.

When we finally made it to the car i said " It's a good thing i can hold my drinks down or none of us would get home." While making the dive home, everyone else had already gone to sleep. So to avoid waking them up i put my earbuds in so i can listen to some music still. Five seconds later the car came to a stop light. When the street light finally turned green, i slowly pulled out to turn left when i saw the head lights of another car heading right for us. Before i could quickly get out of the way we got hit on the left side. Where me and Megan were sitting. Sending the whole car sliding to the right and hitting a building owned by a small business. After hitting the wall i blacked out completely waking up in the hospital with a cast on my leg and neck and then i push the button for the nurse, so i can see how my friends were doing.

"Ding ding"

" Yes, How may i help you?"

" I wanted to know how my friends are doing, If you don't mined?"

" Miss I'm not being rude but it's best if your family tells you how you friends are doing, ok. Speaking of family now that your awake your family is in the waiting room can, is it alright for them to come in now?"

" Yes It Is and thank you!"

" Your welcome and get some rest."

" I will."

When the nurse left the, my parents came running in the room with worry and relief on their face. Both my parents told me that the person who hit us was flat out wasted ant survived and will be charged will drunk driving and murder. When she said murder that when i stopped her from talking .

" Charges on murder? Why Murder? Did he have someone else in his car with him?

Both of my parents look at each other and then looked at me. And then my mom with a sad look on her face started to speak and break the news of two of my friends best.

" Sweetheart the charges of murder are because someone in your car did not survive."

" Wait, what, no, I don't believe you! I want to see my friends. My friends are alive and injured but i know just like me they all lived through that crash! I don't believe you! How dare you tell me something like that when it isn't true!"

My parents started to try to calm me down but not one thing they were saying was working. I wanted to see my friends, right now! When i had finally calm down that's when i knew my parents would never lie to me. And that's when i broke down into tears really hard and asked them which one of my friends is gone now.

" Sweetheart the person who was killed was, Ashley!

" Ashley, Noooo! Ashley can't be gone! All four of us said we would always be together growing up and now one of us is gone! But what about Sarah and Megan? What about them

" Well, Sarah is seriously injured and in a neck brace and i'm sorry to say that Megan is in a coma!"

After being in the hospital for a week and a half Sarah and me were finally able to goo home with our parents but promised to come and visit Megan everyday together till she wakes up and is released. Do to the car crash Sarah and me had to go through therapy to be able to use our legs again after being in a cast for about three to four months. So neither one of us felt like we were going through therapy by alone, we went to our therapy appointments together. After therapy, we stopped by the hospital to see if there was any change To Megan's condition. when we got there, we talked to the nurse and they said " No change" but we were allowed to still visit as long as were quit and don't bother the other patients.

Six more months had gone by and we finally got a call from the hospital that Megan was finally awake. It didn't take no more than ten minutes for Sarah and me to get there. When we arrived we could tell that her family broke the new about Ashley but a big bright smile showed up on her face when she finally saw Sarah and me.

" Hey Megan, How r u?"

" Hey Morgan and Sarah! I'm fine, just in a lot of a pain."

" We're so glad your finally awake we thought we were going to lose you to. Seeing that your awake is a breath of fresh air.

After Megan was in the hospital for about a week more she was finally able to go home. And in two days we'll be putting our dear childhood friend down to rest. We Also did some talking and decided to start a foundation for family and friends who have lost a person dear to their heart do to a careless drunk driver and name the foundation after Ashley.

It's Sunday morning, Ashley's funeral is today. Everyone started to fill up the inside of the church for the funeral. Everyone is to walk up to the casket and get one last look at the deceased before sitting down.

After everyone was seated those who knew the deceased personally, like Sarah, Megan, our families and me got up and spoke kind words and memories of the deceased. when the funeral was over it was time to take Ashley to her burial spot and say our final goodbyes. As they lowered her down slowly people one by one tossed their roses and a hand full of dirt in to the ground to say good bye. Sarah, Megan and me were the last people to go, so we stayed a while longer. For us saying good bye was way to hard for us. So we didn't say it. Instead we said "see you again in heaven when we meet again and we promise you will never be forgotten. We will always love and miss you. Rest In Peace Ashley King!

friendship
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.