Humans logo

Dating My Best Friend

Friendship to Relationship Story

By Shannon ShererPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 11 min read
Like

Kate Blackwell and me were five years old when we first met each other. We were always together. Also known for making trouble. Always getting into and messing with things we knew we shouldn't be messing with. Not one day did we go with out seeing each other. But now we're adults and i'm starting to see my best friend as something much more. Thing is we've been friends for a very long time and there is a possibility that our friendship might not work out if we start dating and it doesn't work out between us. But i like her way to much to not take a chance and try anyway. So i need to think of a way to ask her out and quick cause she's coming over in two hour.

Two hours later a knock came to my door and i knew it had to be Kate. So i got up to answer it.

"Hello, who Is it?"

"Its Kate, Who else would it be, Santa Clause. Now open the door butt head you know you are never suppose to keep a lady waiting. I know your mother raised you better than that."

" Of course my mom raised me better than that but as soon as you show me a lady i will open that door."

" Mike, open this dame door right now before i kick it down!"

" Fine fine I'm coming. Don't get you underwear all up in a got dame twist."

Just for making her wait she hit me in the back of the head before sitting down on the love seat near the kitchen and than deciding to put her feet up on the table as if she lived here. Well in some way i guess she did. I mean we've been friends since we were little. So i guess what's mines is hers. After thinking about all that to myself i sat down next to her staring like one big idiot.

" Kate, I need to talk to you and I need your help with something I've been having trouble with."

" Of course, you know you can tell and ask me anything. I can't believe you almost forgot that after being friends since we we're five years old. I should be mad at you but i'm gonna go ahead and let it go for know."

"Thank you and no I haven't forgotten that. I would never but there is a childhood friend of mine I've known since we were little that I've developed feelings for over the past two years and I don't know how to approach the whole situation. This girl has been by my side for a long time.Through the good and the bad. She is everything i could possibly want. I can't see myself wanting anyone else besides her. She's such a wonderful person. She's beautiful, kind and a great personality. Will you please help me?"

"Of course I'll help you but first i want to meet this wonderful girl who has you, playboy Mike under such a spell. Because you finally sound like you want to settle down for once. I'm not trying to pick on you or anything but we both know how you are with women. You, Mike, you bed and then leave them. Your a one nightstand kind of person. So I would need to meet this person to make sure all of what your saying is one hundred percent real. That's if she's even real. So can I meet her?"

" Sure you can! Plus you know this girl already and you've already met her. Plenty of time!"

" Really? Well then who is she? What is her name?"

" Her name is Kate Blackwell!"

" Wait, me! Why me? There"s nothing special about me! Why in the world do you want me?"

" I already give you my reasons why!"

" So you really think I'm that special?"

" Yes, I do! I know i have a bad history of being a playboy but not with you. I would never hurt you. I know those words are hard to believe right now. But i promise you, you will believe them soon enough. Just let me take you out and i will show you a good time."

" Yes, you do! Which is why i know i shouldn't trust you and because we've been friends since we were little. And if I decide to go out with you and it doesn't work out how can we go back to being friends again. You know me Mike I've never stayed friends with my ex's. Being friends with someone i dated hurts way to much for me and my rule isn't changing, not even for you. So if i say yes i hope it works out cause i would hate for us deciding to date to ruin our friendship completely, but at the same time we want know till we try."

" So is this you saying yes to going out with me, please?"

" Yes It is!"

" Yes! Thank you, I promise you want regret it!"

" I hope not or I want be talking to you for a very long time!"

" Got it"

" I have to go it's getting late and I have to get home and feed Max and Sadie. Maybe I'll see you tomorrow or at your bull riding contest, ok! Have a good night sleep. Bye

" Bye,drive home safe!"

"I always do!"

"No you don't Kate! I've been in the car with you, your a fucking speed demon."

" Shut up and go to bed already, bye."

And just like that she drove off in her car. I was hoping to see her the next day but no she said I'll see her at my bull riding competition on Friday, which is in two day. So i don't have to wait long. I'll be honest i was a bit disappointed but not that much. She's never let me down. When she's says she'll see me Friday she means it.

Finally it was Friday and i was already at the arena for my bull riding competition. While watching the other riders go on before me, i decided to search for Kate within this large smelly crowd of people and sadly i didn't see her. My mind started to think some of the worst. What if she changed her mind and doesn't want to go out with me anymore? If so, Is our friendship over? Will we even hang out with the same group of people anymore? While I was standing there over thinking everything, i was brought back to reality to finally realize who was tapping me on the shoulder. It was Kate. Arriving late because of traffic. She hugged me and wished me good luck with a lot of love and hope that i'll win. After that, she went to sit in the stadium with the rest of the crowd.

Finally the announcers said i was up next. So i went and find the gate with the bull waiting for me. I climbed on and tried to situate my self on his back. After I did they told me that the bulls name was Rocky. He weighted 2,200. He was white with big brown spots. He seem like he was quit relaxed but who knows he could be just as nervous as me but while looking down at the bull the bell sounded and the gate to the pin opened. That's when the bull ran out to the middle of the arena and started to run, jumped,and kick. Which happens to be his way of trying to buck me off but i stayed mounted to him for a solid eight seconds and ended up winning. When it was over Kate came and hugged me saying congrats on your big win and said see you later tonight and headed homed to get ready and so did I.

After getting ready i started driving down the road towards Kate's home to pick her up but not before picking up her favorite flower from the flower shop near her home. After paying for them i was back in my car back on the road and soon enough driving up to Kate's front door. I got out and went to knock and see if she was ready to go.

" Knock Knock!"

"Whose there?"

" It's me, Mike!"

" Come in!"

After she gave me permission to enter, that's when i show how beautiful she looked. She was running all over the place but still. She wore a black dress that fit to every curve of her body. Red lipstick, a pair of silver small hoop earrings and six inch heels and a small shoulder bag.

" Hold on one minute, I'll be ready to go after i feed Max and Sadie."

"Take your time. No need to rush. I'll just sit here on the love seat and wait."

After she was done feeding the dogs we were finally in the car driving down the road to the restaurant i picked for us. I remembered that she has always loved Italian food. So i took her to Olive Garden. She was so surprised and happy cause she has never been and always wanted to go. When we got in we were shown to our table and our order was taken. She got the chicken and shrimp carbonara and i got the shrimp alfredo. While sitting and enjoying dinner we talked about how our day went and how the people in our family were doing. So far the date was going well. After dinner we took off to the movies to watch Jungle Cruise. When the movie was over we went back to her place and hung out for a while. Even played with the dogs till they fell asleep. When 12:00 midnight rolled around it was time for me to go but not before i got a goodnight kiss. She walked me to the door gave me what i was hoping for without me having to ask or beg for it. She kissed me and then thanked me for a wonderful night out before shutting her door and heading off to bed and me driving back home with the biggest smile on my face. I said to myself "I'm going to make sure this relationship with us works out."

It's been six months and things with Kate are stills going strong. Which means, yes, sorry ladies playboy Mike is off the market for good. I don't mean to break any hearts but the woman i'm with makes me the happiest man in the world. Who knew my best friend would be the one to tie me down completely and have me loving it and not once regretting it.

For the past year and a half Kate and me spent time traveling the U.S. and enjoying life together. Also a couple of months ago we also got news that were having a baby and i couldn't be more thrilled. Yes it is sudden but i wouldn't want this life with anyone else but Kate. But to complete the whole picture i need to get her the most important gift she's ever going to get in her whole entire life and i will give it to her at the beach when we go with the family tomorrow.

Today was the day of the family picnic at the beach and time for my big surprise for Kate. I told the family I'll wait till night time to give it to her because my surprise involves fireworks. As the day went on and the family was having a great time. I noticed the sun had left the sky already and it was time for my big surprise for my pregnant girlfriend.

I had the whole family bring her down to the beach for the surprise fireworks while the family stood behind with their cellphones out and ready to take photos and record the whole thing. When she got to me she had the most beautiful smile on her face wondering what was going on.

"Mike what's going on? Why are we down here by the water?"

"I have a surprise for you! The last time i checked you loved surprises."

"Yes I do. So what is this surprise?"

" I'm not going to tell you. It would ruin the surprise. Now when i give you this lighter i want you to light these fire crackers, ok!

" Ok!"

When i gave her the lighter she lit the fire crackers one by one. And one by one they went flying up toward the sky exploding and showing many different colors and then spelling out the words "Will You Marry Me?."When she realized what was happening she turned and looked at me with tears of happiness in her eyes. While watching her i slowly got down on one knee and asked her verbally

" Kate Blackwell, Will You Marry Me? Will you spend the rest of your life growing old with me?"

She held out her left hand and with tears of happiness in her eyes she said yes!

"YES! There's no one else on the face of this earth i would rather be with then you!"

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.