Humans logo

What the hell was I thinking?

Zoe Manning

By wildchildPublished 3 years ago 30 min read
Like
When a one night stand turns into something much more...

I was sitting there with a half empty drink in my hand not really sure what it was. I was up on the countertop in someone's house I didn’t know because my friend thought it be a good idea to get out. I was left by my own drinking something I didn’t know but I felt fuzzy and good. I could hear the music and it was blaring which was on the verge of giving me a headache. I couldn’t understand why I had to get out more. I don’t usually like people maybe that’s why she made me come out. I was in a slinky purple tank top and some black jean shorts. I took a sip of my drink and it made me even more fuzzy. Then someone walked in I could see their shoes and I knew they were standing right in front of me. But I didn’t even dare look up I didn’t care and I didn’t want to be here. Then there was fingers put under my chin and made me look up. And I saw none other than Seth Green the most popular guy in school. “Yes?” I asked in not such a polite tone. He gave me a weird look then looked at the drink in my hand and looked even more confused. “You’re drinking? The goody two shoes is drinking?” I gave him a weird look then downed it and his mouth was open a bit. I smirked “Yes and you know me Seth?” He smirked a bit “Yeah I do Sophie Edwards.” I was a bit shocked. “You know me how mister popular?” He shrugged “Oh we just used to hang out until High school.” I was surprised that he remembered. I just nodded and reached behind me for another cup and started to drink that one. “Why are you drinking Soph?” I shook my head indicating I didn’t want him to use the nickname.” Oh you don’t like me calling you Soph?” I shrugged “Whatever Sethy.” I took another sip of the drink. “Why are you drinking Soph?” I sighed “Because I can Sethy get over it, I’m not the same girl I was okay?” and with that I jumped down and walked away to where everyone was dancing. I felt someone grab me by my waist and start dancing, I looked back to the person and I had no clue who it was. So I shrugged and started grinding on him from across the thing I saw Lexi my best friend who dragged me here. She waved and did the whole thumbs up thing. I laughed and then I felt the guy behind me leave and I kept dancing and drinking. Then I felt someone else behind me and I just went with it. By this time I was thoroughly drunk off my ass. I turned around and saw the one and only Seth Green I kept dancing. Then there was a slow song, since when was there ever slow songs? but whatever. I went to walk away but he grabbed my hand and pulled me back into him. I think he was semi drunk but not as much as me. I wrapped my arms around his neck and he put his around my waist. I laid my head on his shoulder and yawned he bent down his head and I thought he was gonna say something but he just kissed my neck. To be completely honest I kind of liked it- wait what am I thinking? I pulled back and looked at him and he leaned in and I was stuck. Then his lips were on mine and I kissed back, he slipped his thumbs into my hemline of my shorts. He broke the kiss and he went to my ear. “Do you want to go somewhere else?” I couldn’t speak so I just nodded. He nodded and pulled me up the stairs and to a room which looked very familiar. I looked around in the dim lights and saw a picture. Of a little boy and a little girl playing in some tall grass. I had the same picture I knew that had to be Seth. He came up behind me and started to kiss my neck. I pointed at the picture “That’s us.” he nodded and pulled me over to the bed. He gently pushed me onto the bed and climbed on top. I wrapped my legs around his waist as he put his hands on my hip bones. He leaned down and kissed neck and I moved it to one side for easier access. He found my sweet spot and it caused me to moan. He smiled against my skin and I pushed him off and got on top of him. I straddled him and kissed down his neck and got his sweet spot instantly. He moaned which made me smirk. I started to push his shirt up and he knew what I wanted. He sat up and I helped him take it off then he looked at my tank and messed with the end. I put my arms up and he took it off and threw it on the floor. He picked me up and then pressed me into the bed again but farther up. He played with my pants while kissing me he licked my lip for entrance and I denied just to tease him. He groaned then went down my leg and pinched, which made me gasp, which he took full opportunity to stick his tongue in my mouth. Then I felt my zipper go down and I pulled back a bit, he looked at me “Do you not want to?” I just shrugged because I had no clue. He nodded and kissed down my neck and hit my sweet spot and I moaned. “You sure now?” I nodded my head. He unzipped my pants and pulled them down and threw them with on the floor. He started to do his pants but then I helped then pushed them down. He kicked them off and onto the floor. He pulled up the covers and removed our undergarments “You sure Soph?” I just nodded and then you can guess what happened from there.

Next Morning.

I woke up in a daze with a major headache. I looked around and nobody was there. I looked under the covers and I was naked. I groaned and decided to get up and dressed before who ever I slept with came back. I slipped on everything then my shoes. I checked my phone and had a couple missed calls from Lexi. I groaned and listened to the messages and looked around the room. "Where are you Sophie?!" I deleted it and rest were the same and the last one said that she was going home and to call. I saw a picture of me and Seth when we were little. I smiled ay that the realized I must've had sex with some guy in his room. I grabbed a pair of his sunglasses I'd return them to him later. I groaned again before exiting the room and silently going down the stairs. I looked around and saw Seth in the kitchen and decided to get my ass out of there. I ran some way down the street and called Lexi. "Sophie where the fuck are you?" I groaned and sat on the curb. "Can you come pick me up?" I felt like I was gonna cry, I remembered what I was thinking before I fell asleep. "Tell me where the hell you were!" I broke down and started to cry. "Can you just come pick me up Lex? Please?" "Are you crying Soph?" I choked a little, "Yes will you please pick me up?" I could hear her getting her keys "Where are you?" I sniffled a bit "Down the street from the house of the party." I heard her car start up "I'm on my way 5 minutes." I nodded and hung up the phone. I wrapped my arms around my knees and bawled my eyes out. I heard the car but couldn't look up as I heard the car door then Lexi came wrapped her arms around me. "Come on sweetie we'll go and get coffee." I sniffled and nodded and she helped me in the car. We drove in silence then she parked in front of my favorite coffee shop and turned it off and turned to me. "What happened sweetie?" I unbuckled and turned to her and told her everything that I don't remember who it was and that all I know is that we didn't use protection. She nodded "Coffee time now." I nodded and followed her in and kept the shades on. I sat down as she got the coffee then felt a tap on my shoulder. I turned around and saw Seth. "Hey Soph you left early this morning." I nodded. "I am so sorry I didn't really realize it was your room but do you know who I went up there with?" He looked a little pained but then it was gone. "Nope just found you in my bed." I nodded. "Well I'm gonna go I'll talk to you later Soph." I nodded and he gave me a kiss on the cheek and left. I was surprised when he did that. Then Lexi showed up with the coffee "Was that Seth?" I nodded and took a sip of my drink. "So when do you think we should get the test?" I shrugged "This weekend should be good." She nodded "Do you wanna stay over until then?" I nodded. See my dad is really abusive and if I do have a child I don't want him/her killed by him. When we were done we went to my house and his car was gone so that meant he was gone. We ran in and there was a note on my door. 'You're in deep shit when you come home.' I just opened my door and grabbed a couple duffels and put all my clothes in it and picture of me and my mom. Then my camera in it's bag then I decided to take all my pictures with her and I and all of the ones on my walls. I grabbed another duffle and put that stuff in it then grabbed the picture of me and Seth the one he had in his room. I grabbed my duffels and closed my door behind me then I wrote on the note 'I'm not coming home.' then walked down and put my stuff in the back of Lexi's car. I ended up crying half way there then when we got there I was okay. We walked into the house with all of my stuff and dropped it in the spare room that she had. We walked downstairs to her mom, she was the best ever. She had cookies out and walked over and gave me a hug. "Hey sweetie how are you?" I felt tears in my eyes and the they started to stream down my face. She wiped them away and had me sit down as Lexi explained everything and then asking if I could move in. She knew everything about my dad so she agreed quickly. She worked nights so she had to go. Then her older brother Alex came down and sat next to me as I was watching a movie with Lexi and put his arm around me. He always did this if he thought I was upset or just moderately unhappy. I snuggled into his side and he started to draw abstract shaped on my belly. Lexi got up and stretched, "I'm going to bed we have a long day tomorrow." I nodded and tried to hold back the tears as she went up the stairs. "So you excited to see if you're gonna have a baby?" I shook my head and then the tears started to stream down my face. He pulled me onto his lap and rubbed my back. "I don't even know who the dad is Alex." I said between sobs. He kissed my forehead and kept rubbing my back. “Can I tell you something?" I nodded. "I saw who you walked up the stairs and into the bedroom with." I looked up and grabbed his shirt pulling a bit. "Tell me!" He took a deep breath "It was Seth." I was a little taken back but nodded. I whispered "Does he know? Or was he to drunk too?" He sighed. "Yeah he does he was talking to a couple of the guys about it." I nodded and I was so mad that I was shaking and I wanted to punch something. Alex picked me up and brought me to his room and put me in front of his punching wall. It was made up of his and my punches I looked at it then I punched it and it felt really good. Alex walked up behind me and kissed the top of my head since he was a few inches taller then me. "Feel better sweetie?" I nodded and turned around and hugged his waist. "You gonna tell Seth if your gonna have the baby or not?" I sighed. "Yeah since it is his baby." He nodded and picked me up and laid me on the bed then got in next to me then got in next to me. He pulled the covers up and I laid my head on his chest and he started to play with my hair. "Night Soph." I yawned "Night Alex." He kissed my head and we fell asleep.

Next day.

I was sitting in the bathroom on the floor between Alex’s legs as he was drawing things on my belly. Lexi was on the counter with the timer and I had the test in my hand. I started to swat at his hands “Alex you are not helping whatsoever!” He nodded and smiled “I know but I don’t care.” I shrugged and let him do it because it was kind of soothing. “Time!” Lexi shouted I covered my ears “Lexi! Do not scream that damn loud you will give her a heart attack.” She nodded and I took a breath as Alex turned my hand around to see the test. I closed my eyes not wanting to see what it said. I heard the door open and then close so I knew Lexi was gone because Alex was behind me. His hand stopped moving and he laid it flat on my belly. “Open your eyes baby girl.” I opened them and I looked at the test. ‘Positive’ I nodded and then smiled I placed my hand over Alex’s hand. “You gonna be okay Soph?” I looked up at him so he could see I was smiling. “Now you have to tell Seth.” The smile on my face fell and I nodded because I knew I had to. “You can come back in Lexi!” Alex yelled a bit I gave him a confused expression, ”She doesn’t like it when you cry so since I was here she didn’t want to see you cry.” I nodded and put the smile back on my face. I knew I was young but I knew I was gonna take such good care of the baby. She peeked in and saw me smiling and smiled back. “So you gonna be okay with this baby Soph?” I nodded and was helped up by them. I hugged her and she hugged back then I turned around and Alex hugged me. I turned around and looked at Lexi as I felt Alex’s arms go around my waist. “Can your mom make an appointment for me to the doctor?” She nodded and walked away I turned around and looked up at Alex. “I have to go talk to Seth I’ll be back later okay?” He sighed but nodded and kissed my forehead. “Fine but call if you need me.” I nodded and kissed his cheek and left and waved to Lexi while she was on the phone. I went down the street to his house and knocked on the door. Seth answered and he had a smile on his face. But then faded when he saw my arms that were crossed and the frown on my face even though I wanted to smile. “We need to talk.”

Chapter 4

Seth’s POV

I was on my bed and thinking like I’ve been doing for quite a while now. I kept thinking back to when I saw Soph. I couldn’t believe that she didn’t remember and I can’t believe that I forgot protection. She could be pregnant and I wouldn’t even know. I kept inwardly beating myself up and then I heard a knock and of course nobody was home so I had to get it. I walked down and opened the door and smiled when I saw it was Soph. But my smile fell when I saw her with her arms crossed and a frown. “We need to talk.” My eyes grew wide I didn’t know what to do so I nodded and let her in. “We can go in the living room or my bedroom.” She thought about it for a minute “Living room is fine.” I nodded and went to the living room she stood so I stood in front of her. “What’s wrong Soph?” I put my hands on her shoulders and she looked down and mumbled something. ”What?” “YOU KNEW!” I flinched back but kept my hands on her shoulders. “Knew what Soph?” she had tears in her eyes and I think I knew what she had meant. “It was you who I had sex with.” yeah I knew what she was talking about. She looked down “I thought we were friends Seth why didn’t you tell me?” I had no clue so I wrapped her up in a hug. “I don’t know I just didn’t you asked and I was flustered.” She nodded “There’s something else too Seth.” I nodded and kept her in the hug. “What is it Soph?” I was smiling when she used my nickname “I’m pregnant.” and that is when it dropped I took a step back. “I knew this would happen. Damn it!” She took a step back. I looked back at her and she look like she was gonna cry. I walked to her but she took another step away from me. “I’m not gonna hit you Soph I told you I’d never lay a hand on you.” She nodded but stayed where she was. I opened up my arms and she went right into them. “Do you want the baby Seth?” I shook my head. “No, I’m too young Soph.” She yanked out of my arms with her face red and I knew that was the wrong thing to say. “I am to Seth! This is yours too!” and with that she ran from the house. I sank down and pulled on my hair.

Sophie’s POV.

“Do you want the baby Seth?” I felt his head move but I didn’t know what. “No I’m too young Soph.” and that is where I lost it I yanked out of his arms and I could feel my face getting red with anger. “I am to Seth! This is yours too!.” and with that I ran out and ran to Lexi’s house. I opened the door and couldn’t hear Lexi but heard Alex shuffling around. I ran up and into Alex’s bedroom and saw him giving me a weird look. I walked over to our punching wall and started going at it with my fist. “Sophie stop! That’s enough!” I just kept punching then I felt arms go around my waist and pull me away and put me on the bed. I got up and tried to go back to the wall and Alex pinned me on to the bed. “Sophie the stress of that is not okay for the baby!” I could feel the blood dripping down my knuckles and my heart start to slow down. I nodded and took a couple of deep breathes and closed my eyes. “I’m gonna get blood on your sheets if you don’t let me back up.” He let out a sigh but didn’t move. “I don’t give a flying fuck if you get blood on the damn sheets.” I nodded but kept my eyes closed, tears threatening to come up and spill over. He sat up and moved off of me and pulled me into his lap. “I’m gonna guess that things didn’t go well?” I nodded and buried my face into his chest as he wrapped his arms around me and rubbed my back a bit. "It'll be okay Soph you have me and Lexi, you'll be okay." I nodded and suppressed the need to cry my eyes out. He laid me down on the bed and went into his bathroom and got a first aid kit. He cleaned up my fist and threw away the garbage and wrapped it in gauze. he went into the spare room which is mine for now anyway. He came back with some shorts and a purple sweatshirt and a tank top. "Here so your all comfy." I nodded and laughed a bit and he walked out to give me some privacy. I took off my other clothes and put the comfy ones on. "ALEX I'M DONE!" He came in and laughed. "Don't yell you’ll stress the baby." I laughed and he came over to me and picked me up and put me on the bed and popped a movie in his T.V. He came back and sat back next to me and opened up his arms. I crawled into the side of him and he wrapped his arms around me and we watched Juno. He tightened his grip on me and as I watched the movie I thought about it like what Juno did. But I don't want to give my baby up I don't think I could. After the movie Alex looked down at me "You're not gonna give up you baby are you?" He looked a little scared of what I might say. I shook my head "I don't think I could." He nodded "Good because I want to see this little bundle of joy." he cooed and laid me back and kissed my non existent bump. I laughed and he came up face to face with me. "What about Seth?" I shrugged "What about him? He doesn't want to be a dad so he won't be." Alex nodded "So this is okay?" He leaned down and kissed me on the lips sweet and short and got up to see my reaction. I nodded "Yeah that's okay." He nodded and gave me another peck and got up and popped in another movie. We cuddled again and kissed here and there. Alex would be such a better dad the Seth maybe Alex could be a father for the baby. And with that I fell asleep.

Chapter 6

Alex's POV

Sophie's breathing started to even out after a little while. I smiled down at her sleeping face she looked so peaceful. Like nothing ever happened, I've liked her for years now. We first met when Lexi brought her home, she was pretty banged up by her dad. Every since then I've kind of had a thing for her. When I saw Seth bring her up to his room I knew what was going to happen. But it wasn't my place to stop her. But now that I know she has feelings or some what feelings for me. I know Seth doesn't want to be a dad and I know that she doesn't want him as a dad. But maybe me and her can have a relationship if she wants. She stirred a bit and moved around. I put my arm around and soon fell asleep along with her.

Lexi's POV

I can't believe my best friend could be really pregnant. It just doesn't seem like her but things happen and she'll be fine. I walked in from taking my walk and heard a movie going. I walked up to Alex's room and they were all snuggled with each other. I smiled I always wanted them to get together. I walked out and shut the door quietly. I still remember the day I found Sophie, it was permanently imprinted in my brain.

~Flashback~

I was walking down the street trying to get home quickly. Then I heard soft crying, I pulled my jacket closer to me. I looked into the park I was passing, and saw someone hunched over on the swing set. I walked over and saw it was a girl with ripped jeans and a loose shirt. There was something red on it as well. I gently tapped her shoulder. She sniffled and looked up. Her face was covered in blood and bruises. I took in the rest of her. She looked bloody and probably bruised more. She started to cry harder and looked away. I crouched in front of her, she was in a couple of my classes not to much. "My name is Lexi, I want to take you home okay?" She looked at me so fast with wide eyes and shook her head. "No, no, no I don't want to go home please don't make me go home." She started to cry half way threw her talking. I shook my head. "No I meant to my home to get you cleaned up okay? You don't need to go home if you don't want to." She hiccupped and nodded her head. I helped her up and threw her arm around my shoulder, and walked her home. I walked in and mom came out to greet me. "Hey Lex I was ju- who's this? Ohmygoodness bring her to the table." I brought her over and sat her in a chair while mom got the cleaning supplies She held her hands in her lap in a tight grip. Mom sat the cleaning stuff on the table and started to clean her face up. She just sat there with her eyes closed tight. "So what's your name sweetheart?" mom asked while she took the antiseptic to the cuts on her lip. She looked at mom with a surprised expression "It's um Sophie." she said in a quiet voice. Mom nodded "Okay you wanna tell me what happened here?" She shook her head. Mom sighed and nodded. "Well there seems to be cuts on other parts of your body. Lexi is going to take you to her room to clean them up okay?" She nodded, I took her up stairs and into my room and dropped my bag and took my coat off. She just stood there looking at the ground. I set up the antiseptic and rags. "I'm sorry I um really don't want to be an um bother." I looked at her like she was crazy, because she was acting like it. "No way you are so not a bother anyway you can stay the night and borrow some clothes in the morning, no way you are leaving." She looked so shocked, but nodded anyway. "Okay now um yeah clothes." She looked down and nodded and took her shirt off. There was huge bruises I shook my head and got light headed. "Lexi are you okay?" I shook my head "I'm sorry I'm not good with stuff like this." She nodded "Uh mom I kind of need you!" I yelled but that is not who walked into the door. "Lex quit your yelling what the he- who's this?" Sophie's eyes grew huge and grabbed her shirt. I sighed "I can't help her it's the blood you know so if you could get mom and go." He kept his eyes focused on Sophie. "She um left for work Lex, I could um help." I looked at Sophie and she was looking down. She looked at me and shrugged. "Alright, I need some air though, I'll be right back Sophie." She looked at me with wide eyes and nodded.

Alex's POV (Flash back continued)

I was in my room while my sister was doing knows what. Then I heard "Uh mom I kind of need you!" I rolled my eyes our mom already left. I got up and walked to her room. "Lex quit your yelling what the he- who's this?" there was some girl no shirt and looked like she got the crap beaten out of her. This is probably why Lex yelled. She's not good with blood. She grabbed her shirt in attempt to cover herself. "I can't help her it's the blood you know so if you could get mom and go." I kept my eyes on the girl. "She um left for work Lex, I could um help." The girl was looking down and her black hair covered her face. She looked up at Lex and shrugged. "Alright, I need some air though, I'll be right back Sophie." Her eyes got wide but she nodded then Lex left. I stood there for a moment before grabbing Lex's chair and pulling it over. "You can sit so I can help." She looked down and sat on the chair. I put some of the peroxide on a rag and knelt in front of her. "I need you to move your shirt um I didn't catch your name." She didn't look at me but she did move her shirt. I sighed and started to wipe the blood off. She winced and I let up on how hard I was doing it. "My n-name is Sophie." I looked up at her and she was watching me. "Well my name is Alex." She nods and looks back down. I got all of the blood off. "Okay I'm gonna have you stand up so I can get something on that okay?" She nodded and stood up. I grabbed the gauze and some anti-bacterial cream. I put it where there was an open cut. "Okay keep your arms up so I can wrap this." She nodded and put her hands on her head. I wrapped the gauze around her torso. "So you wanna tell me who did this?" She looked up at me wide eyed. "It um was my um dad." She said in a quiet voice. I looked at her. She then went on telling me what had happened and what had been happening. Then I heard a gasp behind us. It was Lex. She looked like she was appalled.

Lex's POV

I heard the whole conversation I couldn't believe it.

~flashback over~

I have been with her ever since. And now she is here safe and sound. With my brother but I've always really wanted them together.

Sophie's POV

“So my mom made the doctors appointment, but Alex is going to have to take you.” I nodded laying down on Lexi’s bed so me and her could hang out. We were Mario Karts and she was kicking my butt. “Alright, I don’t think he would have a problem with it.” She giggled, and I looked over at her. “What?” She shook her head, so I paused the game. “What aren’t you telling me Lex.” She turned to me. “I know you like him, and don’t look at me like that you know it’s true. And I know he absolutely loves you.” I just stared at her, because I didn’t know what to say. Do I love Alex? Well of course I do, he’s always been there for me. I sighed and got up and stretched some, “I have no idea, can we talk about this later?” She nodded and Alex came running down the stairs. “Lets go.” I gave Lex a hug goodbye and got into Alex’s car. I started bobbing my leg and looked out the window while we were driving. “What’s wrong baby girl?” I shook my head and then my phone went off. I looked at it and it was Seth,

~We need to talk about what we’re going to do about that...thing…

I looked at my phone appalled, and tears started to form in my eyes. What was he thinking? That I would just get rid of the baby? “Sophie?” I shook my head, “He wants me to get rid of it.” I looked at Alex, and he pulled over and put the car in park. “What?” I started to text Seth back

~ What the hell? I have a doctors appt. You don’t need to worry about a thing, You’re not going to be a part of the babies life.

I hit send and turned to Alex who looked like he wanted to kill Seth. I kissed his cheek, “Let’s go see the baby.” He smiled and nodded and went back on our way to the doctors office.

Doctors office.

I was sitting there bobbing my legs because I was so nervous to see what was going to happen. The doctor came in and started listing off questions, like what I’ve been eating and stuff. He then asked me to take another test so he can confirm the pregnancy. I nodded and went into the bathroom and peed in the tiniest cup known to man. I left it in there and went back to the room where I stated bobbing my leg again. I looked around while I waited for the doctor. I had Alex stay out in the waiting room, I was trying not to think about Alex or the baby or Seth and just how I felt about it. It seemed like hours went by, when there was finally a knock on the door. The doctor walked in and looked neutral, how come it's so easy for doctors to look like that I swear. "Well miss Sophie it turns out that you had a false positive on the test you took at home." I looked at him like he was crazy, "Wait so let me get this straight, I'm not pregnant?" He nodded and smiled softly, " Yes your are indeed not pregnant." I started laughing and the doctor looked so confused, "I'm sorry this is just fantastic news I'm just really happy." He smiled again and nodded then told me I was okay to leave. I walked out and saw Alex and I was a little worried that maybe he would treat me differently? "So how's the little bean?" I took a deep breath " Well turns out I'm not pregnant." Alex looked so confused, "But the test I saw it?" I nodded, "It was a false positive I'm so sorry you had to bring me here for literally nothing." He shook his head "Stop don't feel that way how do you feel about this though?" I shrugged as we started walking to the car, "I guess fine I don't have to go through pregnancy and now I won't have to deal with Seth. " Alex started laughing and so did I.

Back at Alex's house I walked in to see Lexi a mess, walking around frantically. When she saw me she ran to me, "SO how did it go?" I smiled, "Well I am not pregnant like we thought." Lex made a pouty face and I rolled my eyes, "Well I mean that's good, but to be honest I am a little bummed." I laughed hard, "Well now I can finish out highschool and not worry about having to take care of an infant."

friendship
Like

About the Creator

wildchild

Free loving and have a wide range of topics I enjoy writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.