Humans logo

What is it Like To Be You

Interview #1

By Jess BrooksPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
What is it Like To Be You
Photo by Sleep Music on Unsplash

After letting him know my plan, I was able to sit with a co- worker and record our conversation about what it's like to be him, specifically, him being a white man. “ It’s not hard,” said Zach. “ Well, it’s definitely not as hard as others. I don’t have to be scared about being pulled over or anything.”

“What do you mean?” I asked.

“There is a set of fears and inequality that comes with being [POC] that I won’t have to deal with,” he said. “ I’m not saying we don’t have our own set of issues because we do. It’s just not those.”

So, I asked him, “Is there any disadvantages to being white.” At first, there was a quick “no” to the answer but, then as we kept talking, he went to point out that there is one. “ Being lumped in as a whole with the others who make us look bad.” I can’t blame him. That’s a disadvantage to every label put on someone. It doesn’t matter how hard we try to become better than the negative stereotypes. There is always someone who will judge based on it and who will look at us as that because it’s easier to accept all are the same than understand that everyone is different. Another disadvantage that was brought up, not so much for being white but, for being of the working class. “ Looked upon as white trash, or the working class. If I get any discrimination, it’s really from upper class white people.” So, I ask, “ Your saying, it’s a social discrimination within your own race.” He responds with, “exactly.” Once again, sadly, it’s something we all face within our own label.

Then, I asked, “ What are some of the advantages?” While there weren't many listed off the back, lack of fear for being targeted was a main advantage. “ Again, I’m not worried about being targeted for who I am. I’ve gotten away with things, I know would’ve not happened if you were put in the same situation.” Later, he said, “ If it came down to it, I know someone who is white would be chosen over someone of color, even if the someone of color was qualified or if they did choose them, it would be a huge pay decrease to pocket more money. It’s bs.”

When the opposed question was asked, “ Do you think it would be fair to have a white college fund since there is a black college fund?”, I asked, “Do you think scholarships would start being fair if it wasn’t there?” Both of our answers were “no”. I think it says a lot when it comes down to how alike our minds of the system works.

Moving to family, especially since he is raising mixed children, I asked, “Do you ever worry about what they will go through?” He responds with, “ Yes, I do. I worry all the time when I know my wife and kids are going out. About if they are going to be safe, is someone going to mess with them. I worry about them more than I worry about myself.”

As our interview was coming to a close, I realized not only how different our perspective of life is but, how similar it is as well. We often point the finger at others who fall into a category not realizing they aren’t the same. Everyone is different but, in order to understand that, we must be willing to listen and change our perspective accordingly. Stay tuned for next week’s interview.

interview

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jess BrooksWritten by Jess Brooks

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.