Humans logo

What I'm Thankful For

Everything I'm Grateful for

By Raphael FontenellePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
What I'm Thankful For
Photo by Stephen Walker on Unsplash

I’m thankful for the life that I have. It’s not always great. I’ve had great struggles keeping myself calm and collected. But for the most part, I’m doing the best I can. And that’s really all that I can ask of myself. I’m always going to keep trying to be better than I am now. Though my life has love, support, and mostly everything I need.

I’m thankful for the friends that I’ve had and sometimes talk to. Despite not having daily contact I’m grateful for the chances we get to speak. Catching up on stuff we’ve done in a month or week.

I’m thankful for the family that I have. How good it’s been to have their support when I need them. And to be able to help them if they need mine. We may not always get along but I wouldn’t trade them in for the world.

I’m thankful for the job that I have. My co-workers are some of the most fun people that I know. They’ve been like family to me. And I really like seeing the regulars that come in. Some that have cute pets or are just really nice to me. Along with the few inside jokes that we have together. It makes this trying time easier to deal with.

I’m thankful for the fact that I have a place to vent when I need to. Putting my thoughts down in words or drawing how I’m feeling. I’m so thankful for the fact that I can create anything at all. Sure, it’s not everyday. But I’m still glad for the chance to put my ideas out there.

I’m so very thankful for the fact that I’m alive. That I’m doing better than I was five years ago. I’m doing better mentally than I anticipated that I was doing then as well.

It’s been a trying year for everyone. Sometimes people can bring me down and make me wish I could disappear. But I remind myself that I’ve got good friends and family members I can talk to if need be. That their problems aren’t really me and just how much this year has stressed them too. And that I shouldn’t let it get to me. How I should just let it roll off me like water on a duck. Pick my head up and just soldier on through my life.

Sure it can be hard sometimes. Very hard. Almost too hard to handle at times and it scares me. But I’m not going to let 2020, the virus, or any jerkwad with a chip on their shoulder hold me down. I’ll do my best to keep my temper, smile, and move on with everything. All of this stress and fear won’t hold me back from what I got my sights on. Which I’m thankful that I can do.

I’m so thankful for everything and I’ve got high hopes for the future. Something that I didn’t have last year. Or this year for that matter. My expectations were low as my motivation. But not next year. Next year, I’m going to do better. Going to be better than I was this and last year. Be in a better place, keep in contact more with friends, and just try harder. This year has taught me that I shouldn’t just give up hope. That I’m stronger than I had ever pictured that I could ever be.

That I can handle more things and have more of a backbone than I initially realized. Which I’m also thankful for. Thankful to know that I’m made of sterner stuff than I ever knew. A bit wiser too. So much more resourceful as well. I’m just thankful for everything I have and will get. So thank you, 2020. You’ve given me some terrible stuff. But I’ll keep on keeping on and won’t let you keep me down.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.