Humans logo

What I Later Found Out About 47 Yr Old Man Who Liked Me at 24 - Nigerian Lady's Eye-Opening Story

A story we can all learn from

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
Like

A young Nigerian woman's story is making the rounds right now as it's highlighting signs one must look out for, especially when dating older people when young. In Ife's story, she chronicles the story of a 47 year old man who was interested in her at 24, how their relationship ended, and the revelation she discovered of who he really was after. Here's the full story for your reading pleasure. Enjoy.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Ife's Story:

When I was 24 years old, I worked at a "forex trading" company as customer care rep. I lived in Maryland and the office was at Anthony Village, this meant I could take walks to a certain point and then board a bike at an affordable rate to my destination.

One day, as I walked to work and not far from home, a sleek BMW pulled up beside me. The older man driving asked where I was going, upon learning I was headed to Anthony Village, he generously offered to drop me off. I accepted.

In the car, we exchanged introductions; his name was Ken.

We had small talk until I got to my destination. I was pleasantly surprised when he promised to send his driver to pick me up and drop me off at home at 5 pm.

I received a call some minutes before 5 PM, it was Ken's driver calling to inform me that he had arrived. I dragged my colleague, Titi along. We stepped outside only to be greeted by a magnificent Range Rover.

The driver, courteous and professional, opened the door for us. It was a surreal moment.

The routine continued – Ken picking me up for work, and his driver ensuring I safely returned home. Discovering Ken's age, 47, and single, coupled with the reassurance from my brother-in-law who knew him, instilled a sense of comfort. Ken claimed to appreciate my maturity and decency, despite my age and even promising to change my life by taking me abroad.

At that age, I never agreed to date anyone so quickly, so I told Ken, I would 'think about it.' Nonetheless, I enjoyed the free car rides and the nice dates. Plus a successful man was asking poor me out, what a privilege!

This idyllic life began to crumble when Ken started dictating my wardrobe choices. He would ask me to wear short skirts and gaping tops whenever I was stopping by at his office. I did as I was told. When he saw me, he told me he wanted me to dress my age, the tops were not showing enough cleavage and the skirts were not short enough.

Ah! I thought this bros said he liked that I was decent? I told myself we were not dating and he couldn't tell me what to do, still, I went to the market and bought some short skirts and v-neck tops/blouses.

I soon found myself uncomfortable with the revealing attire so I stopped wearing them. Ken was not happy. As Ken's impatience grew with me, so did his temper during phone calls, where he berated me for not accepting his proposal promptly. He would shout at me on the phone, tell me how he wanted me to get out of poverty and make me a United States citizen but I was not obedient and I was wasting time like a child.

I told some of my friends about his behaviour and temper and they thought it was a big opportunity I didn't want to miss out on. They asked me to 'manage' him. It just didn't feel right. His tone was too condescending and it felt like I was already indebted to him for taking me to work and picking me up. So, I stopped picking his calls and that was the end of that.

Recently, I learned that Ken had been in prison in America for eight years. He was convicted of marital rape and endangering his children during a domestic violence situation.

It turned out, the vicim was a young lady he met in Nigeria and flew abroad for a better life.

This story was written and told by Ife (@diaryofa9jagirl). What do you think of this story? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.