Humans logo

What Happens When There Is An Announcement That A Leader Is Dead?

How does a President, like President Kennedy, well-loved by the people end up dead?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
What Happens When There Is An Announcement That A Leader Is Dead?
Photo by Library of Congress on Unsplash

I was nine years old when President Kennedy was assassinated. That was awful for all the people in my life. I witnessed many people crying and asking how that could happen.

My dad died in just a couple of months, and I remember my mom saying she was going to be strong, like Jackie Kennedy at my dad's funeral.

As a kid, I remember thinking that I would be strong too. Today, I think it was too soon for both men to die. And why a leader so loved by the people got killed and someone so disliked by his people, like Putin, is still in office and alive?

I have read news stories that say his aids are too afraid to tell him the truth about what is going on in Ukraine. My husband says he has the most bodyguards of anyone in history. I'm not sure where the hubby got that from, but he is always watching the news.

I read the following article concerning the call for Putin to be killed.

Politico Magazine: Such open calls for political murder are rare. The Fox News host Sean Hannity jumped aboard, reasoning that “You cut off the head of the snake and you kill the snake. Right now, the snake is Vladimir Putin.” Others are less explicit about their wishes for Putin’s death or overthrow. When a spokesman for British Prime Minister Boris Johnson was struck by an attack of honesty and admitted that sanctions on Russia are intended “to bring down the Putin regime,” she was quickly corrected. Yet when senators including Graham, Cory Booker, Marco Rubio, and Amy Klobuchar co-sponsor a resolution accusing Russia of “flagrant acts of aggression and other atrocities rising to the level of crimes against humanity and war crimes,” they are clearly putting a target on his chest.

It is possible to hear anything on social media. That doesn't mean it is the truth. I am very concerned about politics in this country. The party line is being followed way more than ever. And our country has a wide split.

I was at a funeral yesterday, and my brother-in-law walked up to me and said, "Notice all the democrats are wearing masks?" He is a minister. I was the only one wearing a mask. Since I had cancer, my immune system is weak. During the pandemic, the recommendation is to be careful in large crowds and an earlier warning was about people singing in church.

Then, my husband said, "I suppose you were looking at the people coughing like Monk (TV sitcom lead)?" Both comments were only a little bit funny as they are both staunch republicans.

They joked about blaming Biden every time they get gas now. I wasn't on my toes enough to ask if they would be thanking him for the next six months, with lower gas prices.

I pointed out to my husband that the last time gas prices were this high in Minnesota was when President Bush was in office. I didn't hear it was his fault during that presidency.

It is a good thing we have enough in common to get us through the politics and at least he believes in getting vaccinated. He has his booster as do I and still, I have to be careful, while he doesn't.

It is hard to understand others' actions and decisions. We do spend a lot of time trying to figure out others' actions.

I was looking at a bell curve on intelligence and found my score on the bottom right. For a minute that explained it! Then I laughed at myself!

I am not advocating Putin's murder or death. I am just looking at how things play out in the world and world politics.

There have been a lot of conspiracy theories that say there is more to the death of President Kennedy. The truth is supposed to come out in 2029.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.