Humans logo

We Truly Care

Human Kindness

By Corinne Del CidPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
1
We Truly Care
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I love my job because we truly care I mean in the medical field sector of caring for people the whole purpose in the field is to save lives that is gratifying enough but how about going a step further I myself am in admissions I do not exactly engage in the physical hands on part of caring for a patient, in my line of work I am the 1st face the patient sees unless if they are brought in as an emergency where their condition is life threatening.

What do I mean when I say we truly care about patients, if a patient does not have all proper documentation in order to properly register them most places would try to hurry up and push the patient to the side so they can move on to other patients that do have the proper documents. This is not in my opinion how you care for a patient. I first do not try to judge anyone or any of their situations. I am expected to give them as much courtesy and care as human kindness as possible. If they do not have everything I hear them out first of all, when you have worked in the field for as long as I have you get the understanding of there is more than what meets the eye

Maybe they just moved from out of state, they recently lost a loved one, they just turned 18 and they don’t know or they are elderly and they simply just want somebody to talk to whatever the case maybe I myself go above and beyond for them and if I truly cannot help them I move to the last step if I have no other choice and I have exhausted all the tools used to help the patient.

We all have policies and procedures, guidelines we have to abide by. We do not simply turn patients away, we tell them we are more than willing to have them stay and see the doctor but we are unable to provide the service that they are seeking. More times than one we hear too often that patients went somewhere else before us and they did not even have the decency to let the patient know that they do not even take their insurance they find out way after they receive the bill that the facility was not contracted with their insurance, tell me why, I understand they are a private office but at least have the common courtesy to communicate that to the patient.

I not only love my job for performing the best customer service possible to our patients but like I have mentioned before that I consider my team my second family because in personal hard times they have been there for me regardless if I did not want to bring my personal life to work or not but it showed on my face but I couldn't help it, they have helped me so much, honestly without them I don’t know how I would get through it not missing any days of work. I have grown up with them. I started when I was 24 years old and now I am 39 yrs old. That is quite some time just like a family don’t you think?

When the pandemic hit some of us including myself did contract the virus I admit it was not like any other sickness that I have ever had I thankfully did not have to go to the hospital even though it took me down for a week and a half so weak, foggy headed, nauseous and my sense of smell and taste left me. My employer was very considerate providing me with coverage not taking from my sick time or vacation time, I was able to still get my paycheck. This was in the very beginning of the whole virus when everything was still premature. My friends and coworkers would constantly check up on me asking if I needed anything at all that they would drop by my house and leave supplies outside. If that doesn’t tell you how much they care then I don’t know what does.

So in my personal opinion we truly care for human kindness, if anyone is from my area it sounds like someone else's slogan right? But honestly we promote successful medical outcomes for patients and care for them as individuals. This is dedicated to my team. I truly love you all, you know who you are, from my past to future fellow coworkers and those that I have trained to last but not least at all my Boss you truly inspire me to be the very best employee I can be.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Corinne Del Cid

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.