Humans logo

We Bleed the Same

Why can't we just listen?

By Missy KishPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Painting at a Museum I visited

Do you know anyone born in a different country? Or has an accent? A different skin color? America is called the "Melting Pot" and it is a beautiful thing; at least it used to be. Our country has turned into a melting pot of beauty into a burned dessert of unwanted chocolate. You know the kind, it smells bad and you dare not dip strawberries in it.

By Kyle Petzer on Unsplash

Now back to the point. My stories and intentions may be a bit different than others, I was born in Hungary and came to America at age 7. Going to school was extremely difficult due to the bullying I had to endure. I was put in a "special" class to learn English which backfired because my best friend was Hispanic. You can imagine my parent's surprise when I can home speaking Spanish! My best friend and I spent a lot of time together and endured a lot together. I would stand up for him and he would for me. Often we were bullied for our broken English and not being able to communicate "properly". We were inseparable at school!

In a matter of 6 months, I learned English and after my first-grade year, I went to a different school. The bullying subsided for the most part and I "thrived" in my new home. Why am I telling this story? Well, there is a large misconception that skin color is what racism is about. My family is comprised of many races and I absolutely adore the different cultures that come together. My brother is from China, I have Hispanic and African American family members. I also still have family in Europe! I have seen many of my family members be bullied due to their heritage and it absolutely breaks my heart. In high school, we had a lot of exchange students who spoke very little English. I remember how rude people would be to them. I would stand up for them and encourage them to continue to practice their English. My friends and I often befriended them and found them to be some of the most misunderstood people. They were often very kind and courteous.

By Randy Tarampi on Unsplash

My dream is to build love and encouragement in the communities that are often put down. I love getting to know people of different cultures and backgrounds. I hope to encourage others to see past the skin color, language barrier, hair color, religion, and even political view. I know, it's shocking, we have to look past our own selves and try to understand someone else. Trust me, it is not always easy, I often struggle with it as well. We often get so stuck on what we believe that we forget that others have different views and backgrounds when it comes to everyday life. Part of loving each other is understanding (to the best of our ability) and respecting the differences. There is beauty in seeing others explain what makes them who they are. Why has that changed? Make a difference! Ask people questions about their heritage and just listen.

Culture is such a beautiful thing! I have a friend who was born in Haiti; she told me all about how the village often helps raise children. To me, that is such a beautiful thing! Some people also don't view it that way. Some may find that they do not have a close relationship with their biological parents. You can learn all these things just by talking to different people! Everyone is beautiful and has an absolutely beautiful story! Take the time to listen and enjoy learning about others!

My sincere apologies if this sounds as if I am preaching. This is something I am every so passionate about! My goal is to find another person to get to know. Meeting people, learning about where they came from and how they view life; will forever be something I aspire to do. It will be difficult at times for sure. I am not always social, I tend to be more of an introvert, but I need to do better. You will be amazed at how intriguing people truly are! I certainly am when I am intentional!

By Alexis Fauvet on Unsplash

Often, I see how people view each other differently. Based on looks, money, and even clothing. It is insane! Did you know that we all bleed the same? I can get a blood transfusion from someone who looks completely different than me! Of course, it has to match my blood type but you get the point. We are all the same on the inside. Maybe before we look at the skin color or background; we should see what makes the person function and what flows through their veins. We all bleed the same. Yet, when it comes to love, we are often different but are capable of showing respect. SO find someone to get to know and truly listen! I will be and have been challenging myself in this way for some time. Continue to grow and encourage others! Especially, those who are looked down upon. You never know who might save you life!

humanity

About the Creator

Missy Kish

Hello everyone!

My name is Missy! I love writing my thoughts (mostly poetry) and supporting other writers!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Missy KishWritten by Missy Kish

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.