Humans logo

Was Mother Teresa Toxic?

Nobel Peace Phony

By Michael MartinekPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

If I put on a blue collared shirt with a badge on my chest and pistol on my waist, does that make me a cop? If I put on a Latrell Sprewell jersey and dribble a basketball, does that make me an NBA player? No, it makes me someone who likes to play dress-up. Does Mother Teresa putting on a white robe and a baggy hood make her a saint? Let's find out.

Having to even type out the words "Cancel Culture" gives me agita. (I had to look up how to spell that word and it occurred to me that it's slang from Italian families. For those uninformed, agita is the feeling in your stomach you have right after you get done eating a bowl of spicy spaghetti and your girlfriend asks you why you aren't living together even though it's been eight years). Honestly, what good comes from exposing someones social media activity from twelve years ago? *Deletes all tweets*

In fact, if you haven't gone back through your Facebook and Twitter profiles and deleted your old posts before your new employer sees them, I just don't trust you as a person. We all have skeletons; we all have dirt. And we all loveeee to point our unexposed fingers at the newest victim of this canceling phenomenon. Is Cancel Culture a good thing? Well, if I answer that question with a "yes" then that means that I love bringing hard working people down and take pride in destroying lives. If I respond with "no" then I definitely have something to hide and I'm part of the problem. Exhausting. But because this isn't Twitter and quite frankly I don't care, the cancelling of otherwise fantastic people needs to stop. Let them live their lives. I mean come on 2014 was a lifetime ago; if a person said something derogatory or demeaning we should just give them a pass automatically and move on. And if you think you're so holy that you want to cancel a person whose been dead for decades, evaluate yourself.

Mother Teresa is toxic and needs to be cancelled.

Every time I see a famous person trending on Twitter I like to play a little game called: Cancelled or Dead. It's a challenging game but do you know who I wouldn't have a problem with deciding: Anjezë Gonxhe Bojaxhiu. Maybe you know her by her stage name Mother Teresa so let's start there.

She gave herself the name! I don't know about you, but I have never met anyone worth knowing that gave themselves their own nickname. "Hi, my name is Rob, my friends call me Third Leg Roberto." Relax there Rob and relax Teresa. You don't get to just name yourself because you want to appeal to larger a audience (I'm looking at you Jamie Foxx, or should I say Eric Marlon Bishop).

In 1950 Teresa received Vatican permission for the diocesan congregation, which would become the Missionaries of Charity. In her words, it would care for "the hungry, the naked, the homeless, the crippled, the blind, the lepers, all those people who feel unwanted, unloved, uncared for throughout society, people that have become a burden to the society and are shunned by everyone". That's a little presumptuous Mother. I mean, who is she to say that these people need help? She may have thought she had experience from the two years she spent in Kolkata prior to 1950 tending to the sick and poor, but ask any HR rep in America today asking for experience - you need at least five years in a field for an entry level, out-of-college position. Did she ever think that people like to pick themselves up by their own boot straps and succeed on their own? It sounds like she prayed on the weak and took pity on them. Not very holy.

Shortly after that she opened a hospice for people with leprosy. Personally, I've never even seen a single person with that disease. Talk about not knowing your audience. She continued her tyranny in 1955 by opening the Children's Home of the Immaculate Heart - a haven for orphans and homeless youth. What about all of the families trying to conceive children the Christian way (drunken hookups)? This is the continued pattern of oppressive behavior and dictatorship by a woman who didn't even have children. How would she know what's best for kids without homes?

All the while, she battled totally warranted criticism coming from the fact that her Missionary of Charity was run by nuns with little to no medical experience. And it wasn't because these were volunteers doing it out of the goodness of their hearts, or because they lacked the funds to hire doctors and were just doing their best with what they had, it was because she didn't care. She wanted to make a name for herself and get the escalator ride up to Heaven instead of taking the stairs like the rest of us. She even went as far as baptizing terminally ill patients so they could face their god with a clean soul. Uh, Mother..if I'm dying I don't want my head dunked in water like I'm bobbing for apples.

If there's one thing I hate in this world it's hypocrites. As I write this I struggle to think of a single thing I have said or written that would classify me as such. Unfortunately, we cannot say the same for Mother Teresa. She believed in suffering and going through what Christ did. If that was the case then why after suffering a broken collarbone, malaria, and heart disease did she opt to receive the highest of medical care? Practice what you preach Mother. It's acts like this that make me question my existence as human. If I had spent my entire life aiding the sick and poor, the least I would do in my own dying days is live like they did.

It's important that we have these facts. The last thing we would want is to systematically tarnish a person's reputation and livelihood off of hearsay and overblown speculation. Luckily, this is an open and shut case. Easier than the Central Park Five, Adnan Syed, Steven Avery. I'm glad I could shed a light on someone who received such unwarranted praise for so many years.

Happy canceling!

https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/peace/1979/teresa/biographical/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mother_Teresa#Declining_health_and_death

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Criticism_of_Mother_Teresa

satire
1

About the Creator

Michael Martinek

I like finance and making fun of the world around me.

@michaelmartinek on Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.