Humans logo

Waiting

The quiet and the cacophony.

By TroyPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
1
Waiting
Photo by Fran Jacquier on Unsplash

When I was young, I was afraid.

I was afraid of being anything other than silent. I hid behind my mother’s legs, behind chairs, and under tables. I would make eye contact with someone and quickly turn away to stay hidden. Everyone spoke over me, and I often let them to not draw too much attention to myself.

I was afraid, and it was as simple as that.

Getting older didn’t change that. My voice was required more, but it didn’t change that it was quiet. I stuttered over my words and hid in books and notebooks. I wrote what I wished I could say down and then threw it away with the fear that someone might find it. I compiled moments in my head, little things that I could use to find my power when I wanted to be loud.

And even if I hadn’t wanted to be quiet, I was stopped by people who didn’t think my voice had purpose. Their voices were so loud that they couldn’t imagine needing anything else to fill the space. Or maybe they liked the sounds of their own voices.

So I waited. For a long time, I didn’t know what I was waiting for, but I did it. Absorbed by letters scrawled or typed on pages, I bided my time, quietly watching, observing, listening.

Sometimes, the quiet was nice. I could find peace, rest, and stability. I became familiar with the quiet and greeted it like it was my oldest friend. Other times, the cacophony that met me outside was overwhelming and often left me in tears. The cacophony liked to call me awful names, it liked to taunt me and point out all my flaws.

Other people, even some of my closest friends, thrived in that cacophony. They danced to it as if it was a song and beckoned me to join them. Temporarily, I could. I could dance and enjoy it with them, as long as they let me be loud too.

But I always returned to that quiet. That was my music. I danced fluidly to its soft beat, all alone in the safety of my bedroom where I knew no one could hurt me. Alone in my fortress, I danced and sang and made the most beautiful art because no one else was worthy enough to be in there with me.

For fifteen years, I was alone. I quietly waited, watched, listened, danced, sang, and created alone for fifteen years.

And then I found her.

Five months younger than me, she was even quieter. Her game was just like mine - she was silent in her observation and held information close to her chest until she decided it was a good time to strike. Then, she wasn’t even loud in her striking. No, while everyone grew even louder from her attack, she was still quiet. She was a kindred spirit, and I was glad to have made her my friend.

Together, we sat side by side and grew older, learning from each other and leading our games to intertwine.

It wasn’t until I was seventeen that I realized just how gorgeous my friend was. She was taller than average, but not taller than me. Her shoulders were wide, where her dark hair fell, and her eyes were even darker. She was exactly my type before I realized I even had a type.

After that, we became intertwined just like our games, and I trusted her enough to let her into my fortress. She didn’t comment on how messy or small the fortress was. She just sat on my bed and smiled up at me, as if it was an honor to be allowed in. With every move, she made my heart beat fast, made me want to join the cacophony with praise for her.

Throughout our time together, I was quite often loud for her, whether it be for defense or to gain her recognition, or even just because she made me. The noise we shared was safe, unlike the normal cacophony. I could be myself, and she could be herself. I knew that I wouldn’t be taunted or judged. With her, it was comfort, love, compassion, and wisdom I thought I would never receive. I came to understand that we weren’t just kindred souls, we were twin flames.

The sad thing about having the only quiet space surrounded by an overwhelming dissonance is that it can so quickly be ruined. After only months, we were torn apart by the chaos that others craved and liked to invade every space with. I was forced to wait alone once again, this time watching her from across the room.

Sometimes, I could faintly hear the soft music she brought into my fortress, as if she was playing it at full volume, louder than everyone else’s, just so I could hear it. If I was crying, it put a smile on my face, and if I was smiling, it made me laugh like a maniac. Being without her tore my heart up, but if I knew she would be alright without me, it would all be worth it.

Another year, I waited. I watched everyone else find their peace in the quiet as well, and see that the chaos wasn’t all it was made to seem. I watched people grow and even helped some of them understand that it was okay to do so. Not all of them did it, but it was enough to inspire me to escape.

I was reunited with my gorgeous companion mere days after escaping everyone’s chaos. She had escaped too and waited at the chaos’ border just for me. When we kissed again, everything else faded out, and I felt like I could breathe after eighteen years of holding it in. There was no more being afraid, no more letting people talk over me, no more biding my time on my own. She was right there and took my hand with no hesitation. She loved me so fully, and I loved her right back.

I waited for her for nineteen years, and then I made her mine.

love
1

About the Creator

Troy

a compassionate writer devoted to their wife

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.