Humans logo

Valentine’s Day is a scam

Why do you need a date to tell you to be in love

By Jen PhillipsPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
3
Valentine’s Day is a scam
Photo by Tirza van Dijk on Unsplash

Disclaimer* I’m unsure if this is a rant or something cute. But probably going to be somewhere in the middle or maybe I'll just ramble on about a topic I don't even understand.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Valentine’s Day. It’s one of my favourite, cute little days in winter. A whole day to celebrate love. That’s what it’s supposed to be.

Unfortunately, that’s not what happens. Yes, people do celebrate love on this day; what about the other 364ish days of the year? Don’t you show your partner how much you love them every other day of the year? Why are you waiting for Valentine’s Day to show the person you love that you love them?

I love valentines Day because it's the one day a year I don't feel like the clingy girlfriend on the amount of I love you’s and the hugs and kisses to my boyfriend. We may show each other how we love and appreciate each other every day of the year- but it's an extra day to spoil the other with extra cheesy gifts.

Also, the next day has discounted chocolates and candies that are left over from Valentine's Day. Also, an excuse to get my boyfriend to watch all the cheesy romantic movies without complaints.

I'm not really too fond of how the Cute Little Day is a money grab- much like Christmas but that's a whole other rant.- I get it but feel it's a scam of how much companies make on love. The amount of revenue Valentine's Day makes is ridiculous.

The worst is people proposing or even getting married on Valentine's Day- or any Holiday actually. I feel like it ruins it for future dates because if you break up the dates. Who wants to remember Valentine's Day when you got married and then divorced because it didn't work out? Or if they say no to the proposal. Then what?

Why can't we use Valentine's Day as an excuse to just hang out with your partner in your PJs eating pizza and watching a cheesy movie all day? Who needs expensive dates and over-the-top proposals and marriages? Then again who am I to judge others on their special day?

What is the soul purpose of Valentine’s Day? The soul reason it became the day of love? Did we lose the true meaning of the cute little day in February centuries ago? I'm not sure people actually knew why or what Valentine's Day means.

I'm not even sure if I know what the day means but I sure do enjoy it. What I can tell you is that I enjoy the extra attention I receive and the over-the-top thoughtfully picked gift. - but who doesn't enjoy these things? I know the answer to this one- my boyfriend.

While this day is targeted towards men spoiling the shit out of their ladies, we tend to forget about the men. So, seeing my boyfriend's face light up on Valentine's Day because he too was spoiled with candies and a little gift. This is actually better than birthdays and Christmas. Men deserve to be spoiled and loved with extra care as well.

Every person deserves to feel loved. Especially without a catch or a date to tell them they need to say I love you or to show love. Humans just want to be loved. All humans deserve love.

So, why is it so hard for people to give or even receive love? Has it always been like this? Why? I understand people have their traumas and experiences which doesn't really help the situation of how hard it is to give and receive love. Love shouldn't be so hard.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Lol, I just feel Valentine's day is so overrated and unnecessary. We should show love to our partner and appreciate them every day. Also, like you said, the worst is people proposing or getting married on Valentine's day, lol!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.