Humans logo

US

RELATIONSHIPS

By Denise DickPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
SOULMATES

US

We have been together forever some would say. Everyone knows us only as a couple we met as high school sweethearts with a history. Very romantic in the beginning of the relationship. We had many talks on the phone when we were just meeting. I remember we had a cord on the phone. We would have to stand right near the phone or get a longer cord so it would reach around the wall for a little privacy.

We had this bird, and my mom would yell “get off the phone” sooner or later that bird was taught all the swear words and even my boyfriend’s name. It was funny growing up with this bird telling you to %@#@ off or people coming over and the bird telling them off.

It is our real first date at 16-17 we just talked on the phone and got to know each other. But the date was set I was excited. I go out and needed to buy a dress I was very young person, but I already had worked two jobs. So, I knew I had to go out and get something, but I must do it alone. So, the day comes I am already getting dress and waited. My parents worked evenings, so they did not even know that I went on this date. Soon though he became part of the family.

A long stretch limousine pulls up and the driver gets out and opens the door and there he was my date all excited. We went to a fancy restaurant. As a farm girl just moving to the big city at 10, I never had been, so I worried about the right forks to eat from and all that. But it was a normal setup fork, knife and spoon. We were only 16-17 so the restaurant served Bright Cellar wine and a bottle of Merlot was sitting on the table but soon and the wine and glasses disappeared, and a coke and sprite were served. We each ate a steak and a baked potato it was so good I have always just had beef off the farm not marinated or aged. He used to go to lots of restaurants with his family, so he knew exactly what to order. I did not have a clue as this was the first time I have ever even been out on a real date.

The dinner was finished, and it was time to leave. The limo driver was so nice he took us for a ride around the city and went to so many different places. We went to places have never seen before. The limo pulls up to my house and I get out it was the best date I have had I will never forget.

So many obstacles throughout our lives but it really is that you believe in each other and be there to support. If you have a great communication that is what matters because you can over come any obstacle that you are faced with if you discuss it.

Relationships are hard work, and it is either you continue to work or give up. One thing jealousy is a hard one. People will doubt you and tell you all sorts of things. But we made a pact at the beginning of the relationship that if either of us feel we will cheat that we would just break up with each other. If you feel you need to cheat and act on it, you will live with that forever. Be honest and up front. But if you realize the relationship is not going to work get out. If they cheat and you find out, then you need to do what you need to do. My pact was and if I found out things would be different. Money is another big one. Just say everyday you do not have any money why worry about it and believe it or not but abundance will come to you in so many ways especially when you least expect it. Do not try changing anyone it is up to you and what you want, no one has control over it. If you believe in them, they will believe in you and that is priceless.

We married 10 years later with two children and years of history. Always remember your first date and take that with you throughout your life and remember you had times that did not matter to anyone but yourselves.

It has been 33 years from that first date we are still together and everyday I go back to that date no matter all the hard times and good times will bring me back to that memory that we will always be the soulmates for each other.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Denise Dick

I'm a newbie to this all just like to read and learning to write!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.