Humans logo

Up on the Rooftop

Short story

By Monee MyersPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Up on the Rooftop
Photo by garrett parker on Unsplash

The city of New York, the place to make your dreams come true. This place brings me joy and keeps a smile on my face.

As I looked out into the distance of the city of Manhattan, I started to feel anxious, scared, and excited for my very first date in a long time.

That's right, I, Shaelynn am waiting for my date to arrive for dinner. I couldn’t believe I finally got asked out, well technically this is a blind date. Let me start from the beginning.

Friday night after a long day of work and riding the subway. I arrived at my apartment in the East Village to see my best friends Dave and Carla on my couch. This reminds me I might need to take my spare keys back.

“Uh hello to you two, what a beautiful surprise to see you guys on my couch, eating my food,” I said sarcastically taking my shoes off at the entryway.

My apartment was a one-bedroom, one bathroom, average size New York apartment. The building was built in the 1980s, but before I moved in, the building underwent massive renovations and was looking like a new chic modern apartment complex.

“Hey Shae Shae, how was work? Oh I got your mail, by the way, it’s on the kitchen counter” Carla said not taking her eyes off the tv screen. I removed my jacket and sat my work bag and purse down by the door and made my way to the kitchen.

“Work was good, tiring but great, what have you guys been up to? “ I noticed they were watching The Golden Girls, which is our favorite show to watch together.

I sat the mail down, left out the kitchen, and went to sit on the couch between Dave and Carla.

“Lynn baby, glad you can join us” Dave stated as he gave me that boyish grin of his and wiggled his eyebrows.

Lynn baby was the nickname Dave gave me after two weeks of hanging together. He is the cousin of Carla’s girlfriend and my other best friend. We all became close really fast. Carla and Josie have been dating since high school and even with their ups and downs, their love is inspirational.

All three of us moved here together a few years ago after college. Dave was already living in NYC and showed us around our first month here.

Carla, Josie, and I got an apartment together, but two years ago I moved into my spot to be closer to my job. I’m the head writer and editor for a local magazine called City Love. It’s a magazine dedicated to the most popular fashion, food, events, and more located in NYC.

“I had a lunch date earlier,” Dave said looking a bit disappointed.

“By the look on your face, I’m guessing it didn’t go well?” I asked laying my head back on the couch looking at him.

“Ya know it’s getting old going on all these dates with girls that look good but lack personality,” he said shaking his head.

“Welcome to today’s world, where looks are more important than personality,” Carla mentioned.

“ The worst part is, she didn’t even bother asking me about me” I wanted to make a statement but decided to hold off.

“Dude you know what your problem is right?” Carla asked with a smirk on her face.

“Let me guess, I’m too hot to handle,” he said wiggling his eyebrows again.

“Eww no,” I started hitting him with the pillow on my lap. “You go after the wrong girls” I finally made my statement I wanted to mention earlier.

“ I do not!” He exclaimed

“Yes, the hell you do!” I and Carla shouted back.

“Try meeting someone in a different atmosphere, then at happy hour on weekdays at the bar” Carla suggested.

“ like where? The library?” Dave asked mockingly.

Dave is a player, since knowing him for a few years now, I have never once seen him in a committed relationship no longer than 6 months max. However, in the last year, he barely goes on dates and he either spends his time with me, Carla, and Josie. Or his roommate and college buddy Issac.

I never told anyone but last year, during Josie and Carla’s Friendsgiving, Dave and I shared a kiss outside on the stoop of Josie and Carlas' apartment.

We never mentioned it again, except for the day after it happened. We both blamed it on being drunk, but in reality, we both were sober enough to know it wasn’t the alcohol.

“That doesn’t sound like a bad idea, try the library, or coffee shop, or even a museum. Just stay away from the bar dude” Carla started getting up from her seat, heading to the kitchen.

“ That all sounds boring, if I wanted boring I would ask Shaelynn out. No offense lynn baby” said Dave.

Ouch, I won’t lie and said that didn't hurt but hey I can’t help what I like. Maybe it bothered me because I kinda have feelings for Dave since the kiss, but I know he does not feel the same.

“Ahh it’s cool, I think I’m pretty awesome” I mentioned mostly to myself. I’m 5 foot 5, with kinky coily hair, beautiful melanin skin, and an average body type. I would consider myself to be interesting. Even if I haven’t been on a date since my junior year of college.

I honestly haven’t been putting myself out there. My job keeps me busy and I enjoy being single. However it does become lonely and I crave the company of a man, but I have yet to find someone worthy of my time.

“Besides, Lynn baby when are you going to go on a date? All I see you do is work and hang with us. Do you have a life or do anything fun?” Dave questioned me.

“Listen here Dave baby,” I said mocking him. “When I find someone worthy of my time and love, I will go on a date, wouldn’t want to end up with a player like you” I smiled and got off the couch heading to the bathroom.

“DAMN! She told you” I heard Carla said while pointing and laughing at Dave.

“ For the record, I’m not a player, I just like to keep my options open,” he said.

I made my way into the bathroom for a hot shower.

The next day I woke up early around 8 am to use the yoga studio in my building.

Today I wanted to enjoy my Saturday in the city. I decided last night after Dave and Carla left, I would go shopping in Time Square, have lunch somewhere new, and do some personal writing on my book.

I did my morning hygiene routine, threw on leggings and a matching sports bra, and headed to the studio.

Tying my shoe I heard my phone buzzing in the kitchen. I left the couch and went to answer.

“Hello,” I said grabbing water from the fridge.

“Tonight you have a date! I'm heading to your place now. I know you're going to do yoga meet you there in 5” I stared at the phone in shock. Josie hung up before I could even say anything else.

As stated on the phone, Josie arrived 5 minutes later, with her workout outfit on and her blonde hair in a ponytail.

“ Hi babes, ready for yoga,” she asked sweetly and innocently.

“ Nah don't give me that innocent sweet smile, explain yourself,” I said walking into the studio.

“ Listen, I was at a photo shoot yesterday. I was shooting a fashion campaign. Anyway, I noticed one of the models, a real handsome guy, reminds me of Rome Flynn. Anyway, he was reading your magazine. I asked him how would he like to meet the head writer of the magazine. He got excited and said yes, I'm setting up a beautiful dinner on the rooftop of your building. Beautiful scenery, great food, and a glass of your fave, Jetbird Merlot of course. So what do you say!” she exclaimed.

Here I am, a few hours later, killer dress and heels with a glass of Jetbird merlot, my favorite wine from Bright Cellars that Josie will be supplying me anytime I ask since she sprung this date on me last minute.

As I looked out into the distance of Manhattan, I started to feel anxious, scared, and excited for my very first date in a long time.

Josie did an amazing job with the dinner set up, it's breathtaking .

I kept my gaze on Manhattan as I said a little prayer, hoping this wouldn't be a waste of time. I saw photos of Geno, my blind date for tonight. He was very handsome and reminded me too of Rome Flynn.

I heard the door to the rooftop open. Before I turned around I did a little fix of my makeup and one last check in my compact mirror. I put my stuff away in my purse, ready to come face to face with Geno when I heard the voice of someone I was not expecting.

“ Hey lynn baby” I know my eyes were playing tricks on because that was not Geno, it was

“Dave...”

dating
Like

About the Creator

Monee Myers

27

B.A. in Writing Studies, minor journalism

Writing is something I loved since I was in the 8th grade. I love to express myself in my writing.

I enjoy writing, and I hope you will find enjoyment in my writing as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.