Journal logo

What Now?

How I'm preparing for life after College

By Monee MyersPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
What Now?
Photo by Pang Yuhao on Unsplash

It is officially here! Graduating from college is an exhilarating, bittersweet, and nerve-wracking experience. Since starting my senior semester in August of 2020, I had this happy and sad feeling in the pit of my stomach. It felt like a significant part of my life was coming to an end. This feeling was also accompanied by the pressure of getting my life in order after graduating with my bachelor's degree in writing studies. I studied writing for the last 5 years in college, and now comes the time to see if my hard work has paid off.

This month of December, I have concluded pursuing a career in freelance writing after college. I could have decided to pursue a career in plenty of writing jobs, like working for a magazine, newspaper, publishing company, and more. However, I choose freelance writing because of the following reasons:

Creative Freedom!

As a writer, I love different styles and genres of writing, poetry, articles, and short stories. Doing freelance writing will give me the creative freedom to explore the different genres of writing I love. I have the chance to explore and play around in each genre to build a more significant writing portfolio.

Working for myself!

Since landing my first part-time job as a sales associate right out of high school, I knew working for myself was something I wanted to do. I want to have the creative freedom to write, but I also wish to make my own hours. I believe freelance writing will allow me to be on my own and doing what I love on my own time.

Location, Location, Location!

If you were to ask anyone who knew me where I would live if I could, some would say New York, or others will say Philadelphia. They are both right! I want to move to a big, busy city to pursue a career in freelance writing. I know people who do freelancing work from home regardless of the state. I feel like freelance writing in a big city like New York, or Philadelphia will give me more opportunities. Networking is vital in this field and significant in a city with millions of companies, and people will boost a faster audience, besides having a social media audience and building on that.

Time to work on personal writing!

My dream job is to be a poetry and children's book author, creating unforgettable stories for the youth to spark the love for reading as it did for me. I want to write poetry for all and write poetry to help bring light to any dark situation. I want my writing to mean something to others, and freelance writing will give me the time to write my books. While in between freelance writing jobs, I could use my other time writing poetry and children's books I wanted to bring to life for the longest. Even though I self-published two poetry books on Amazon, I want to spend more time on the third and be more real and vulnerable with my poetry.

So, with my big dreams in mind and an optimistic outlook, what is the exact move after college? What will be the first step to achieving my goals? For starters, I plan on pursuing a freelance writing career in my hometown of Lancaster, PA. I consider Lancaster a small to average size town. I can start off building my portfolio and writing at home, getting used to the career, and settling in. I have to admit, change scares me and up and moving to a big city right after college will not work for me. I have to give myself time to prepare and start out small. Regardless of whether I start in a small town or big city, I'm proud to be taking the first steps to pursue my love for writing.

In the last 5 years, the college has taught me that there is no time like the present to chase your dreams. College has prepared me in many ways for this critical time, from bettering my writing, finding myself in the process, and being bold for my dreams. I'm still in shock that December 11th, 2020, is officially the end of my college career. To all the outstanding professors, to the all-nighters cranking out assignments, and to the family and friends who continued to push me through it all, thank you!

career
Like

About the Creator

Monee Myers

27

B.A. in Writing Studies, minor journalism

Writing is something I loved since I was in the 8th grade. I love to express myself in my writing.

I enjoy writing, and I hope you will find enjoyment in my writing as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.