Humans logo

Untitled III

A poem

By Lebogang BogatsuPublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like
Source

Then the time came when my laugh was his favorite sound

And no amount of time spent in his arms could ever be enough

Lovers start it together at a, b, c

Time carries us over to x, y, z.

You have journeyed into the depths of my heart, my love

Where my inner being knows no boundaries

You have journeyed into my deep, my love

And now I have no choice but to do it truly-

Love you deeply...

- Lebo Bogatsu

A brief explanation behind Untitled III

This poem is titled ‘Untitled III’ because it is the third of many poems in my collection that I have written on impulse. It is very short, uncomplicated and reader friendly. I still have not figured out the title, so I think I will it keep this way. Perhaps, I am taking a page out Kendrick Lamar’s book. Do you remember the album ‘untitled unmastered’? This poem has not been edited since it was written.

If I remember correctly, it was inspired by a young love I know personally. When two people have only known each other for a short time, but if you were to spend time in their presence, you would be overtaken by how easily they make it look. So easy, if you did not know it, you would think they have been together forever.

What do you call that? That easy, comfortable love between two people and how do you get there? How come other people can have it from the get go and others need a little more time spent together, learning each other’s habits?

Either way, love is love and there are really a few things more attractive about love than seeing a couple that actually likes each other, laughs together like best friends and have fun together. I believe in the intimacy of laughter. That is the reason behind the first line:

“Then the time came when my laugh was his favorite sound...”

Humor and a great personality are big on my list and that is what I gravitate towards. I want someone who can laugh at situations with me because sometimes, that is the only remedy available when life isn’t that great. You need to be able to laugh at yourself. Don’t take yourself too seriously. That is how I keep sane and my friends know it too.

Think about your very close friends, your heart people or the term Meredith and Christina on Grey’s Anatomy blessed the world with- ‘my person’. How elated and lighter your heart feels when you are with them. How excited you get when you have plans to paint the town red with your best friend(s) or stay in playing 30 seconds. The people who make you laugh-cry and tighten your abs. The ones you can laugh with all day. People you know so much, that you can identify their voices on the phone without a caller ID. The ones you want to share most of everything with. The people who have become family.

Fortunately, I have a few of those. Friends who make me wonder “How did I live without this person before I met them?” because I can’t imagine the rest of my life without them. People I have created the best memories with and can’t wait to make more.

This is the meaning behind the lines,

“You have journeyed into the depths of my heart, my love

Where my inner being knows no boundaries...”

I imagine love to be an amplified version of my intimate friendships, or nothing at all. Someone journeying all the way to that place where love is formed in my heart and leaving their print there. If being with someone doesn’t leave me feeling anywhere near that, then there is no point to it at all.

So, how would you like to be loved? Because I believe in loving wholeheartedly, unapologetically and without boundaries. The poem is not about being loved perfectly, but truly and deeply. That is why I end it on that note.

I hope we all find that someday. Kudos to those who have it. Take care of it. Remember, life is too short to drink cheap wine and be loved with a half measure. If we are going to love, let it be beautiful.

humanitylove
Like

About the Creator

Lebogang Bogatsu

Black. Woman. Creative. Writer under Blacklands Publishing Group. I've said enough.

Twitter: @itsmeleebo

Instagram: @daennythequeen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.