Humans logo

True Friends

Relationships Red Flags

By Kaylon ForsythPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
Always be yourself

The truth about the world in which we live these day, is that unfortunately it is not only full of fear, but people are losing hope in the concept of commitment. We live in a time where there is so much going on at once, that people generally don't know how to live a fully integrative, and healthy lifestyle.

I recently had an experience with a friend that has been consistently in my life for 2 years, and nothing has ever happened between us of an intimate nature. This friend just informed me, that her and I will no longer be able to spend any time hanging out, unless her boyfriend is present, which in my mind was a little insulting. I am a man of integrity, and ethical nature, so when I was told this, it made me feel as though I am not trusted by her, and that in essence, the friendship may very well not survive, if I have to get authorization from her boyfriend, to even hang out with her.

When people choose to allow someone that is coming into their lives, to take something else from their lives which is actually good for them, it is a recipe for disaster. Friendships should not suffer because of a relationship, and if open communication and boundaries are set accordingly, they don't have to suffer. It's very sad, that when people hit a point of desperation in their loneliness, that they make decisions that they would not otherwise make, and in the process, they end up emotionally hurting the people who tend to care about them the most.

Men who do not allow their spouses to have male friends, are insecure for one reason or another, or perhaps, they are trying to remove potential obstacles to being able to emotionally manipulate the woman which they are with. If you are entering into a relationship, set clear boundaries, and don't allow your prospective spouse, to delegate who you are able to be around, they will almost always implement further forms of control in the future, and this to me speaks volumes, in terms of potential narcissistic personality traits.

I choose to always be open and honest, and to live as my most authentic self, not allowing the whims of others to determine the choices which I will make. I am a free thinker, and act of my own accord, in accordance with divine law, both morally and ethically. There are too many people who allow others to make their decisions for them, and when this happens, it takes the power away from the person who should be making the decision for themselves. Negative traits can be worked out, and can become strengths, but that is only if the person who holds such traits, is aware of them, and is actually wanting to work in the direction of becoming a more self actualized version of themselves, which many may not be ready for such a journey.

Life is made much to complicated by so many unnecessary things, that people become confused, in regards to simply living their own lives, let alone living a life, with another. If you have yet to find who you are, at your core, I suggest looking within, and doing some shadow work, so you can overcome those parts of yourself, which may be toxic, by analyzing your own psyche, and not allowing the decision of others to place such forms of control over your actions, your choices, or your life.

Act in a way that incorporates your best interest at all times, talk and walk with integrity, and don't be a puppet at the end of someone elses strings, for in so doing, you will lose not just your free will, you will lose a great deal of what makes you you.

Brightest Blessings.

advice
2

About the Creator

Kaylon Forsyth

I lost my wife back in 2019 and I started this as an outlet for my emotional expression in regards to the pain from the loss, it has helped me substantially since that time, and I have put great effort into all of my efforts since then.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Wow! I can't believe she would sacrifice a perfectly good relationship to please another. Who would want a chaperone around when it will just change the dynamic of the whole situation. What you two talked about when you're together will not be the same as what you three would talk about or do. Not sure what I would do.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.